We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Central Nanaimo Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Dorchester Hotel
Ranked #6 of 18 Hotels in Nanaimo
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed August 6, 2007

My partner and I stayed here last minute overnight on our way to Tofino and were pleasantly surprised. We booked through Priceline and paid $92 as opposed the $135 rate we were quoted directly through the hotel. It's in very quaint central Nanaimo in the 'downtown' area where you feel like you're walking through some historic scene. It's literally steps to several restaurants, shops and to the Marina which is quite lovely. Our room seemed to have been recently upgraded and we were impressed for a Best Western. The rooms are a little tight, seems the scale of furniture was too large for the rooms, although we got through it alright. The service was good and the rooms were clean and equipped with everything you could expect. We would definitely book the BW Dorchester again if in Nanaimo.

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank vanessa83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (584)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

553 - 559 of 584 reviews

Reviewed July 19, 2007

The Dorchester is a sound hotel. It is clean and roomy with all you would expect. The location is good in that it is yards from the harbour and the marina and dead handy for getting the ferry link over to Horse Shoe bay. Nanaimo itself is fairly quiet, there was a sprinkling of bars and restaurants and the "odd" club, and when I say "odd" I mean ODD! Some major development seems to be taking place in the town front this may or may not help the place as some of the buildings are out of place to the feel of the town, such as the 60 floor sky scraper plonked down at the harbour ? bizzaar! Anyway, getting back to the hotel, its fine, stff helpful and let us store our bags while we mooched around the half empty streets waiting for the ferry. Oh by the way the Nanaimo bar is great and a must with a coffee! Thats about it really, in summary good hotel in a convenient handily placed two bit town with some charm. Oh and the shopping centre is a throw back to the 70's but better than nothing! Good luck!

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank pompeypaulo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2007

Stayed here several days while attending a conference. Room was fine, staff very friendly & helpful.

  • Stayed: May 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank DEAToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2007

Had a great experience. Friendly helpful staff and a great dining room with seafood specialty. Also had some shops such as a hair salon and oxygen spa on site. I read some of the reviews in past and was pleasantly surprised, apparently the building has new ownership and management. Great Job on the renovations that were just completed. I was told they spent $1 million on upgrades. They also have bicycles available free of charge for exploring the harbour paths. Wow, what a great feature, we enjoyed the bike ride and returned exhausted to have a drink in the nice lobby lounge. Very pleased with our stay.

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank chimo5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2007

We have been stay here once in 2005, we like this one mostly the view and convenience. The stuff was friendly at time and room was quite. So this time when we came back from Tofino we headed nowhere to this hotel, and guess what? The front desk stuff was rude, and he never smalls to no one. Finally we got the room 206 but it actually the 106 since the hotel were on renovation and the room number has been rearranged, but you know what? NO ONE told us as at check-in. And we were told the room has the 'ocean view' at check-in, but when we get into the room we realize that you can only see the ocean by put your head out the window. Plus, the complimentary WIFI was deadly SLOW, I can hardly get the full web page loaded before I get the timeout from the browser.
If you don't have anywhere to stay, pick this hotal, otherwise, avoid it.

  • Stayed: April 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank Cipherworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2006

yes, the view on the harbour is excellent BUT you can get the same view from at least another major hotel in the same area of the city and without the inconveniences of this very small and badly serviced hotel.
forget the parking, it is a nightmare. From the parking, the access to the hotel lobby is another problem. You have to go around the block with your heavy luggages. Hopefully, it would not be by a rainy day.
Inside, it looks like a hotel of a below standard hotel, not at all what you would expect from a standard Best Western. It was my first bad experience with an hotel of this chain, mainly that this was the main reason to rent my rooms there.
The service at the reception was to say the least unwelcoming by someone who was... replacing someone who had left recently and who had enough on his plate and make you feel bad about that.
Nothing to make me come back and recommend this hotel. When l read the other reviews, l feel lucky though l did not get bitten by bed bugs....

  • Stayed: November 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank gillis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2006

We stayed at the Dorchester for four nights last week and were very pleasantly surprised. After reading other reviews we weren't too sure what to expect. The only negative was the parking on one occasion, we returned late at night, with two sleepy children, and had to drive around for thirty minutes trying to find a parking place. We eventually had to settle on a lot by the harbour, but the hotel did reimburse us the $8 fee. We found the hotel clean, the staff friendly and courteous and the views of the harbour were wonderful! We didn't find it overly noisy either. The restaurant was very good for breakfast (though it usually took awhile to get every part of the order) and we had a lovely dinner on our last evening! The food and service was superb! The Chef even made proper chocolate sauce for our children's chocolate milk! First class!

  • Stayed: July 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Calgarykathy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nanaimo hotels
0 mi away
Coast Bastion Hotel
Coast Bastion Hotel
#2 of 18 in Nanaimo
1,588 reviews
0.7 mi away
Ramada Nanaimo
Ramada Nanaimo
#5 of 18 in Nanaimo
310 reviews
6.6 mi away
Best Western Northgate Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
The Inn on Long Lake
The Inn on Long Lake
#3 of 18 in Nanaimo
346 reviews
5.1 mi away
The Grand Hotel Nanaimo
The Grand Hotel Nanaimo
#12 of 18 in Nanaimo
182 reviews
1.4 mi away
Days Inn - Nanaimo
Days Inn - Nanaimo
#8 of 18 in Nanaimo
573 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Dorchester Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Dorchester Hotel

Address: 70 Church St, Nanaimo, British Columbia V9R 5H4, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Nanaimo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Nanaimo
Price Range: $104 - $172 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Dorchester Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The BEST WESTERN Dorchester Nanaimo Hotel is conveniently located in the heart of downtown Nanaimo over looking picturesque Nanaimo Harbour. Our charming heritage boutique-style hotel is decorated in a style that blends old world class with modern conveniences to make your stay at this Nanaimo hotel a comfortable and memorable one! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Best Western Dorchester Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Nanaimo
Nanaimo Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing