We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stinky Old Hotel With Great Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Dorchester Hotel
Ranked #6 of 18 Hotels in Nanaimo
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed August 1, 2013

We were very happy with the location of this hotel, as it was close to everything, with a great view. The harbour and float plane terminals are just across the street.

The hotel itself is in sad shape, it's over 120 years old, and in desperate need of upgrades. The lobby, restaurant, and hallways were unbearably hot ( NO A/C ), and very smelly. An old moldy building smell! The décor was from the 70s, with faded paint, and carpets. I don't know how they can call it a Best Western "Plus" Hotel?

The rooms were better, looks like they were renovated, but very small in size for what you pay. The walls are paper thin, so expect to hear "everything" from your neighbors. We tried to call the front desk at 2am, because the room next door had their TV volume extremely high, but no one answered the phone?

Next time we are in Nanaimo, we will stay at the large hotel next door, as it has a great location too, but is not a " Heritage or Boutique" hotel!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Voyage2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NanaimoResponse, General Manager at Best Western Dorchester Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 2, 2013

Thank you for your comments concerning your stay at the Best Western Plus Dorchester Hotel. I appreciate your taking the time to write and hope you will accept my apologies for any inconvenience you experienced.

We'll use your feedback to improve our service and facility for our future guests. Being a heritage building is one of our challenge that we strive to overcome. As of now, we're in the process of planning to update some areas that needs more attention as we always have.

We appreciate your patronage and hope we will stay with us again and I can assure you that we will do everything we can to make your stay a comfortable and happy one.

Sincerely,

Julie Park
General Manager
Best Western Plus Dorchester Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (584)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

427 - 433 of 584 reviews

Reviewed July 31, 2013

This hotel is right across the harbor and my room had a million dollar view of the water, boats, mountains. The room was extremely clean, staff pleasant yet professional and it was a pleasure to stay at this hotel. I stayed here before and there is no doubt I'll be coming back.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Michael G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NanaimoResponse, General Manager at Best Western Dorchester Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 1, 2013

Thank you for taking your time to share with us how great your stay was at Best Western Plus Dorchester Hotel. It is great to hear that we've met your expectation and I'll share your comment with all our team.

It definitely is such a great view to enjoy since you can see boats going in and out and sea air moving around and mountain view in a distance as well. I do recommend to request our harbour side room if you're into great view, it's one of the best view available in Nanaimo which you'll never get tiring.

Will be looking forward to welcoming you again!

Sincerely,

Julie Park
General Manager
Best Western Plus Dorchester Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2013

We make an annual trip to Nanimo - sometimes two. It is a great small town on the eastern coastline of Vancouver Island. We have been staying at the Dorchester for years simply because it is always ALWAYS a pleasant stay. Most rooms have an excellent view of the scenic Nanaimo Harbor. Staff are courteous, helpful and timely.

A stop in Nanaimo is highly recommended. Downtown is compact with a European feel. Local restaurants abound and the scenery is fantastic. Once in Nanimo, the Dorchester is the place to stay.

Room Tip: King rooms come with a small refrigerator. Doubles do not.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ed R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NanaimoResponse, General Manager at Best Western Dorchester Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2013

Thank you very much for your loyalty to Best Western Plus Dorchester Hotel!
It is great pleasure to know that we've met your expectation and we'll try our best to
exceed your needs as always. I'll relay your comment with our team, and will be looking
forward to welcoming you again on your next visit as well.

Sincerely,

Julie Park
General Manager
Best Western Plus Dorchester Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2013 via mobile

We loved the location of this hotel.
The front desk staff were very helpful at checkin. They were very knowledgeable about the area aswell as the hotel,an they were able to answer all our questions. We stayed at a different hotel the following week,and were wishing we were back at the Dorchester.
We will definitely stay here when our traveling plans take us back to Nanaimo.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sher73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NanaimoResponse, General Manager at Best Western Dorchester Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 19, 2013

Thank you very much for taking your time to let us know how great your stay with us was. I'll make sure to relay your compliment with our team. Hope you enjoy your travel, and will be looking forward to welcoming you again at anytime near future.

Sincerely,

Julie Park
General Manager
Best Western Plus Dorchester Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2013

My husband and I were passing thru from Olympic National Park and back into Washington and stopped in Nanaimo. We found the Best Western to be charmingly quaint - the room had a rather old feel to it, but was comfortable and we appreciated that we could do our laundry here for free. Fiona, from the hotel bar, recommended that we take a short walk to Fibber Magee's in the old city district and we enjoyed a few beers and some good music. Overall, a great experience in Nanaimo!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
1  Thank Tanya B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NanaimoResponse, General Manager at Best Western Dorchester Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2013

On behalf of our team, I would like to appreciate taking your time to share how great your experience with us was. I'll make sure to share your gratitude with our team. Hope you have a safe trip back home. It was pleasure to serve you and will be looking forward to welcoming you again on your next visit to Nanaimo!

Sincerely,

Julie Park
General Manager
Best Western Plus Dorchester Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2013

We stayed for a weekend with my boyfriend at this hotel and were nicely surprised, how well renovated it was and how tidy and comfortable was the room. The hotel did a great job at renovating the place and decorating it still keeping it in Victorian style.We really enjoyed our stay there and will be definitely back soon again!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Karina K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NanaimoResponse, General Manager at Best Western Dorchester Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 16, 2013

Thank you for your time to share your experience with Best Western Plus Dorchester Hotel!
We strive to serve all our guests with full care, and I'm glad to hear that you've enjoyed staying at our hotel. We try to maintain our building as convenient as possible for all our guests,we also have outside patio on the 3rd floor for guests to enjoy summer breeze in Nanaimo. Hope both of you enjoy best summer ahead and will be looking forward to welcoming you again on your next visit to Nanaimo.

Sincerely,

Julie Park
General Manager
Best Western Plus Dorchester Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2013

We stopped here because we were tired from traveling and drove by the harbor to see what was available near by. Drove by this old but delightful hotel and trusted the Best Western name so decided to see if there was a room available. Friendly staff accommodated our request for a king bed with a view and what a beautiful view it was! The room was very clean, comfortable bed and even though the hotel is an older building, it was extremely well kept- everything worked well, was very clean. The bonus....when we checked out in the morning, Julie, at the front counter, provided us with another parking pass for our car so we could wander the harbor for a morning walk and shop at the market taking place before leaving Nanaimo. This was a nice gesture and really appreciated as we stayed longer in this beautiful city then originally planned and will stay here again if we visit Vancouver Island in the future.Thank you Julie!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view. It is worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank babygrandlover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NanaimoResponse, Manager at Best Western Dorchester Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 15, 2013

Thank you for taking your time to share your great experience with Best Western Plus Dorchester Hotel! On behalf of all our team, I'd like to appreciate your compliment and we'll try our best to accommodate all our guests with full care as always. It's been a pleasure to serve you and will be looking forward to welcoming you again.

Sincerely,

Julie Park
General Manager
Best Western Plus Dorchester Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nanaimo hotels
0 mi away
Coast Bastion Hotel
Coast Bastion Hotel
#2 of 18 in Nanaimo
1,587 reviews
6.6 mi away
Best Western Northgate Inn
0.7 mi away
Ramada Nanaimo
Ramada Nanaimo
#5 of 18 in Nanaimo
310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
The Inn on Long Lake
The Inn on Long Lake
#3 of 18 in Nanaimo
346 reviews
5.1 mi away
The Grand Hotel Nanaimo
The Grand Hotel Nanaimo
#12 of 18 in Nanaimo
182 reviews
0.4 mi away
Howard Johnson Hotel - Nanaimo Harbourside
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Dorchester Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Dorchester Hotel

Address: 70 Church St, Nanaimo, British Columbia V9R 5H4, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Nanaimo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Nanaimo
Price Range: $104 - $170 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Dorchester Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The BEST WESTERN Dorchester Nanaimo Hotel is conveniently located in the heart of downtown Nanaimo over looking picturesque Nanaimo Harbour. Our charming heritage boutique-style hotel is decorated in a style that blends old world class with modern conveniences to make your stay at this Nanaimo hotel a comfortable and memorable one! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Best Western, Hotwire, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Best Western Dorchester Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Nanaimo
Nanaimo Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing