We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great spot in the city”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Dorchester Hotel
Ranked #6 of 18 Hotels in Nanaimo
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed April 8, 2008

We were in Nanaimo for a dance competition. 5 Girls in a big room at this hotel. the staff were very nice. the room was big and clean! I liked the flat screen tvs! Cool!
we have to come back next weekend and we'll be staying here again.
Thanks for the extra water bottles!!

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank UncleBobVictoria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (563)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

528 - 534 of 563 reviews

Reviewed April 8, 2008

This is a nice hotel located in Downtown Nanaimo with friendly staff. I love to stay there because of the location to my work place and new renovation. 32" LCD Tv is very nice in the room. If you are planning to stay in Nanaimo, I strongly suggest you this hotel for you with harbour view room.

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank LC6688
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2008

Never Again! Avoid this hotel unless you are into bugs. Yes, I got bitten by bedbugs and had a rash for over a week. I complained to the manager but was told that it is not their fault guest bring them in. Very rude manager. I was late for the ferry and didn't bother to take it any further. The renovated restaurant floor squeaks like a rubber duck as you walk on it. The parking was horrible too. Next time I will listen to my friend and stay at the Bucaneer motel. Best rates, good quality rooms(not overpriced like dorkchester) and the staff is awesome!

  • Stayed: February 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank venger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2008

We just walked in to the hotel and they found a room for us. If I would have done some checking first, I probably wouldn't have chosen this hotel. For the price, the room was much too small. I guess it has a great location but I was just passing through and didn't care much for the location. The bed was very comfortable but it took up most of the room. The hallways were narrow and had to negotiate another flight of stairs to get to some of the rooms. That is a hassle if there are large suitcases. And we did have large suitcases.

Overall, probably won't go back even if we are in the area.

  • Stayed: December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
6  Thank KingWhale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2007

This place was strange. I had the smallest room I have ever had in a hotel. You litterally opened the door, nearly hit the bed, crawled over the bed to the window and then there was a bathroom. The staff wasn't particularly help and did nothing about the drunk guy from their lounge hitting on women in the lobby(while he was still holding a drink). I'll go back to the Coast across the street next time.

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank coffeechik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2007

I booked a two-night stay for a weekend getaway before a week of work in Vancouver. Having read the other reviews here, I was expecting a mixed experience, and that is what I got. Paid $110/night corporate rate (and got a comment at the front desk how "cheap" it was).

The check-in was inefficient, in that I had to wait several minutes to be served, as they were trying to explain everything in great detail to another guest.

My room was quite nice, but rather small. The bed was very comfortable, and most of the furniture was in good shape. It was surprising to see torn fabric on the two chairs, however.. The lamps were all new IKEA ones with CF bulbs. Lots of channels on the TV. No air conditioning (not sure if this is a problem in this particular location) but a fan was provided. The bathroom was standard, but again, relatively small.

I knew I'd be back in the early afternoon, and despite the "please make up room now" sign being out, my room had not been cleaned.

The wireless Internet is horrible! During the day and evening, the signal would drop to zero every few minutes, requiring a new connection.

There is only one small elevator, which could become an issue. I usually used the stairs. The hotel hallways are long and narrow, in keeping with the older building.

Breakfast is not included at this Best Western, but the restaurant downstairs serves a good variety of items at reasonable prices. The quality is very good.

For dinner I'd recommend Tania's right next door.

Parking is free and availability not too bad if you arrive early, but on the Saturday night I got the last spot in the two lots next to the hotel. They will gladly reimburse you for use of any of the other public pay lots in the area.

Overall, not an unpleasant place, but if you are more into modern hotels, then this is not for you. In that case, stay next door at the Coast Bastion instead.

Tip: do not park your car before unloading luggage. Go to the Church Street entrance, unload there, then go park.

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
6  Thank okazon69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2007

My partner and I stayed here last minute overnight on our way to Tofino and were pleasantly surprised. We booked through Priceline and paid $92 as opposed the $135 rate we were quoted directly through the hotel. It's in very quaint central Nanaimo in the 'downtown' area where you feel like you're walking through some historic scene. It's literally steps to several restaurants, shops and to the Marina which is quite lovely. Our room seemed to have been recently upgraded and we were impressed for a Best Western. The rooms are a little tight, seems the scale of furniture was too large for the rooms, although we got through it alright. The service was good and the rooms were clean and equipped with everything you could expect. We would definitely book the BW Dorchester again if in Nanaimo.

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank vanessa83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nanaimo hotels
0.1 mi away
Coast Bastion Hotel
Coast Bastion Hotel
#1 of 18 in Nanaimo
1,498 reviews
6.6 mi away
Best Western Northgate Inn
0.7 mi away
Ramada Nanaimo
Ramada Nanaimo
#5 of 18 in Nanaimo
304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
The Inn on Long Lake
The Inn on Long Lake
#3 of 18 in Nanaimo
339 reviews
1.4 mi away
Days Inn - Nanaimo
Days Inn - Nanaimo
#8 of 18 in Nanaimo
536 reviews
5.2 mi away
The Grand Hotel Nanaimo
The Grand Hotel Nanaimo
#12 of 18 in Nanaimo
179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Dorchester Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Dorchester Hotel

Address: 70 Church St, Nanaimo, British Columbia V9R 5H4, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Nanaimo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Nanaimo
Price Range: $104 - $161 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Dorchester Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The BEST WESTERN Dorchester Nanaimo Hotel is conveniently located in the heart of downtown Nanaimo over looking picturesque Nanaimo Harbour. Our charming heritage boutique-style hotel is decorated in a style that blends old world class with modern conveniences to make your stay at this Nanaimo hotel a comfortable and memorable one! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Best Western, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Best Western Dorchester Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Nanaimo
Nanaimo Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing