We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Best Western Northgate Inn
Ranked #2 of 19 Hotels in Nanaimo
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic!”
Reviewed January 14, 2014

A must stay! Staff really goes out of the way to take care of you. Rooms are extremely well kept and even though on the highway, I was not kept awake during the night from the traffic. You have to stay here!!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank Daphne J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMNorthgate, General Manager at Best Western Northgate Inn, responded to this review, January 17, 2014
We'd like to thank Daphne J for their review. We are glad this guest really appreciated our great service. We look forward to serving them again in future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

380 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    134
    183
    40
    18
    5
See reviews for
120
116
21
82
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Port Alice, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2014

Great place to stay, continential breakfast and clean rooms. Nice location, just minutes from Woodgrove Mall, across the road from Superstore, liquor store, litle ceaser's pizza, etc. My regular stay when in Nanaimo.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank mmf69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMNorthgate, General Manager at Best Western Northgate Inn, responded to this review, January 17, 2014
We'd like to thank this returning regular guest for their review. "Perfect spot" pretty much sums up our hotel very well. As the reviewer mentions we are very close to many great offsite amenities.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nanaimo, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 16, 2013

Nice hotel stay away from the Restaurant, good location if you want north Nanaimo close to mall easy to find from the ferry. Breakfast disappointment, very little to offer in choice, not up to other Best Western breakfast choices. There are several other restaurants close by. Rooms are clean and comfy beds, some rooms on highway noisy.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank Al T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMNorthgate, General Manager at Best Western Northgate Inn, responded to this review, December 18, 2013
We'd like to thank Al T for their review and we're glad they enjoyed their stay. We have been getting good feedback from guests regarding our breakfast and we are certainly always looking at options.

We are currently the only BEST WESTERN hotel on Vancouver Island that includes a complimentary breakfast buffet. The other BEST WESTERN PLUS property here in Nanaimo does not include breakfast at all in their standard rate. There is a wide variety in the Best Western portfolio for breakfast options and there are differences including breakfast with BEST WESTERN, BEST WESTERN PLUS, and BEST WESTERN PREMIER. We offer a good continental breakfast including muffins, breads, bagels, danish, 4 types of cereals, cold hard boiled eggs, yogurt, make your own waffles, bananas, apples, one other fruit that varies seasonally (Right now it's Mandarin Oranges), 4 types of juice, coffee, and a selection of teas.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nanaimo, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 13, 2013

The hotel was adequate, but the staff were amazing, it was not a trip that was going to be happy, but you staff did the very best they could. Everything else was as it should have been. I would recommend that the staff tell patrons the restaurant is Indian, and cold, but again their staff was lovely

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank Pat J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMNorthgate, General Manager at Best Western Northgate Inn, responded to this review, December 18, 2013
We'd like to thank Pat J for their review. First we wish our guest was staying with us under better circumstances in this case. We do have an Indian restaurant and a pub on site which is operated separately from the hotel. They have both an Indian menu and one can order off either menu in the restaurant.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duncan, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2013

Close to our Christmas event..only 2km from the Hall..easy to drive to directly..Good comfortable King sized bed..Quiet. Passable choices for breakfast..nothing to write home about. We will have to find a better place to eat breakfast next time. The hotel should suggest close and decent choices for alternative breakfasts..theirs is not a cosy or relaxed space..more like a cafeteria. Some other Best Westerns are far better in this respect

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank seeadler2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMNorthgate, General Manager at Best Western Northgate Inn, responded to this review, December 12, 2013
We'd like to thank seeadler2 for their review. Our hotel is definitely well located to a variety of shopping and restaurant options. Our breakfast is a continental style with muffins, bagels, bread/toast, cereal, cold hard boiled eggs, yogurt, fruits, and waffle makers. We also have 4 kinds of juice, and coffee available. Each Best Western does something a little different for breakfast. Some include breakfast in their base rates, and some do not. There are also differences between BEST WESTERN, BEST WESTERN PLUS, and BEST WESTERN PREMIER hotels.

The open space we have in our breakfast room is a great feature. This guest must have gone in when it was really quiet. For those of you who have eaten in a 'cozy' breakfast room you may be familiar with the cramped space and you can never find a table at peak times. A lack of seating and space is not a complaint we hear very often and we are fortunate to have the space.

That being said we're sorry we did not meet this guests expectations, and for those looking for something we don't offer we'd be happy to recommend other dining experiences. There are a couple of good options within walking distance.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nanaimo, Canada
1 review
Reviewed December 4, 2013

The Nanaimo, British Columbia, Best Western Northgate Inn is a very neat value for money hotel, and conveniently located near central business district on the main Island highway. Ideal for business traveller.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Jan V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMNorthgate, General Manager at Best Western Northgate Inn, responded to this review, December 12, 2013
We'd like to thank Jan V for their review. We are conveniently located and are great value for money.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regina, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2013

This hotel gave the high standard one expects from Best Western hotels. It was very comfortable. The breakfast gave a great choice and the service was good. However, you do pay for all the extra niceties. I would forego the extras for a cheaper option as long as cleanliness and comfort. aren't compromised.

Room Tip: Don't take first price quoted if not high season or very busy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pecal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMNorthgate, General Manager at Best Western Northgate Inn, responded to this review, December 2, 2013
We would like to thank pecal for their review. We are glad to see that we were able to offer this guest the level of service they have come to expect from Best Western. We do include a lot of added extras in our room rates. Free Continental Breakfast, Free Parking, Free Wifi, just to name a few. There are cheaper options in Nanaimo that have less amenities, but our rates are usually less than the competition in North Nanaimo with better discount options available, our rooms are nicer, and we offer better amenities.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nanaimo hotels
6.6 mi away
Coast Bastion Hotel
Coast Bastion Hotel
#1 of 19 in Nanaimo
1,375 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Inn on Long Lake
The Inn on Long Lake
#3 of 19 in Nanaimo
321 reviews
5.9 mi away
Ramada Nanaimo
Ramada Nanaimo
#5 of 19 in Nanaimo
295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
Best Western Dorchester Hotel
7.7 mi away
Days Inn - Nanaimo
Days Inn - Nanaimo
#8 of 19 in Nanaimo
493 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Grand Hotel Nanaimo
The Grand Hotel Nanaimo
#11 of 19 in Nanaimo
174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Northgate Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Northgate Inn

Property: Best Western Northgate Inn
Address: 6450 Metral Dr., Nanaimo, British Columbia V9T 2L8, Canada (Formerly BEST WESTERN Northgate Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Nanaimo
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Nanaimo
#6 Business Hotel in Nanaimo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Northgate Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 72
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Best Western, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Northgate Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Northgate Hotel Nanaimo
Best Western Nanaimo
Nanaimo Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing