We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Value”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Northgate Inn
Ranked #3 of 19 Hotels in Nanaimo
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Value”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2012

Value for the dollar. Staff were very courteous and helpful. Hotel was full as there was a large convention in town so the hot water was stretched to the limit each morning..shower was lukewarm at best but have stayed before when not so full and there has been no problem.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rubyred1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMNorthgate, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Northgate Inn, responded to this review, December 18, 2013
We'd like to thank Rubyred1967 for their feedback. We're glad this guest points out our great value and we're sorry the hot water situation. This was an isolated incident and we apologize profusely. Our hotel can certainly accommodate a full house in terms of hot water delivery.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

347 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    110
    174
    41
    18
    4
See reviews for
112
107
15
74
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Hervey Bay, QUEENSLAND
Level Contributor
31 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2012

We (two adults and two kids) stayed in this hotel as our Ferry came in late to the Island and we were heading over to Tofino. Very glad we did as it was comfortable and clean with pleasant staff, reasonable cost and a really good sized room. Handy to a great Thai restaurant, liquor store and across the road from a supermarket and super store as well. We like it so much we stayed there again a week later.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scanm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMNorthgate, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Northgate Inn, responded to this review, December 18, 2013
We'd like to thank scanm for their review. We're glad our guest enjoyed their stay so much they came back a week later. We are very centrally located to a lot of our guests' needs.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tofino, Canada
Level Contributor
30 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2012

Near the Mall if you have to do some shopping. 'Continental' breakfast fed my kids in the morning. We left our playpen at home for the baby by accident, that was a $10 mistake. Had a view from out balcony of highway to our left and grocery store to our right. It was alright but We'll probably shop around for a place to stay next time we need to overnight in Nanaimo.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMNorthgate, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Northgate Inn, responded to this review, December 18, 2013
We'd like to thank Toughcity for their review. One change we have made in the last while is that we have stopped charging for playpen's for our guests. They are still available on a first come first serve basis.

We do invite our guests to shop around and compare us to our competition. We do the same thing and we're confident that we represent better value in a great location.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kamloops, Canada
Level Contributor
37 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2012

I booked this hotel off of priceline so I was able to get it for $100/night. In my opinion this was a downright bargain.

To me the hotel was in a great location; it shares a parking lot with a liquor store and 2 pizza places, and across the (not very busy) street is a Superstore. We got some groceries there and took advantage of the fridge/microwave in the room to save some $$'s. Also, it's very proximal to the mall.

However, this is north Nanaimo. The people we were visiting lived in South Nanaimo and downtown, which was quite far from the hotel - so just pay attention to where in town you need to be. The drive to/from downtown was not a dealbreaker

FIRST IMPRESSION
It doesn't look like much from outside but once you step inside it's a gem. There's usually muffins/fruit greeting you and the girl at the desk was super nice. I had a temporary Best Western card and she offered to give me a real one. She also told us about the mall and restaurants down the street.

The hotel has just been completely redone. The only telltale sign is the room doors and the stair railings that look 70's. Does this really matter? Not in my opinion.

The room was clean and it was very quiet.

CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST
was awesome. The waffle makers confused me but once you figure out how to use them it's so worth it. The waffles/strawberries were delicious. Muffin was fresh, yogurt was name-brand but room-temperature. They also had cereals, toasts and bagels.

I would stay here again in a heartbeat! And recommend it to anyone. It's the most reasonable hotel ever-- the perfect price point and humble but clean and updated.

Room Tip: Our room was on the wing not facing the main road (not sure which road this is). Our room was quiet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sweeetleaf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMNorthgate, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Northgate Inn, responded to this review, December 18, 2013
We'd like to thank sweeetleaf for their review. We really like these comprehensive detailed reviews and feel that this is pretty accurate to what we represent. It's worthy to note that we are going be making several improvements over the next couple of years to better serve our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clearwater, Canada
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2012

We stayed here after a late trip in on the ferry. It is a little further north from the ferry than I had planned on. It was nice, a coin landry on-site was good and the hot-tub, exercise room combo was cute. Friendly staff and the continental breakfast had a great selection, it is in the restaurant that opens later in the day so there was lots of room. The restaurant serves amazing Indian food for dinner. I liked the fridge & microwave as we stayed 2 nights. Also has an inroom safe which was already locked when we got there but didn't need to use it.

Room Tip: Picked a room away from the bar side as recommended on TripAdvisor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CathiM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chilliwack, BC
Level Contributor
41 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights recently while my son was attending a youth conference in Nanaimo. The Cons....noise from the room beside us was quite audible. The Pros....we stayed in a Jacuzzi Suite which is a one bedrm with a queen and jacuzzi tub and a main room with 2 queens. The room was quite large and comfortable and we experienced no significant outside noise during our stay. The breakfast was average but a good way to start the day. The hotel itself is located very close to a theatre and major mall and there are several restaurants in the area. I will definetely stay here again and I am looking forward to the jacuzzi tub on my return.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chilli56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMNorthgate, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Northgate Inn, responded to this review, March 28, 2012
Thank you very much for your review and for choosing our hotel. We appreciate your feedback and we are always looking at ways to improve.
With our free continental breakfast we have recently added some gluten free options for those with Celiac disease, and also have added some lactose free milk options as well. These are available upon request through our breakfast attendants.
We look forward to serving you again and making your next stay a 5 out of 5 rating.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ucluelet
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2012

Clean, comfortable place to lay your head after shopping or when on a business trip. Rooms have fridge/microwave and safe and are roomy.

Room Tip: Request room not facing the highway
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank darentsen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nanaimo hotels
6.6 mi away
Coast Bastion Hotel
Coast Bastion Hotel
#1 of 19 in Nanaimo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,275 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Inn on Long Lake
The Inn on Long Lake
#2 of 19 in Nanaimo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 305 reviews
6.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN  Dorchester Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Ramada Nanaimo
Ramada Nanaimo
#5 of 19 in Nanaimo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 289 reviews
7.7 mi away
Days Inn - Nanaimo
Days Inn - Nanaimo
#8 of 19 in Nanaimo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 468 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Grand Hotel Nanaimo
The Grand Hotel Nanaimo
#11 of 19 in Nanaimo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Northgate Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Northgate Inn

Property: BEST WESTERN Northgate Inn
Address: 6450 Metral Dr, Nanaimo, British Columbia V9T 2L8, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Nanaimo
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Nanaimo
#6 Business Hotel in Nanaimo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN Northgate Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 72
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Best Western, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your BEST WESTERN Northgate Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Northgate Hotel Nanaimo
Best Western Nanaimo
Nanaimo Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing