We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel, close walking and driving distance to restaurants and shopping”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Northgate Inn
Ranked #2 of 18 Hotels in Nanaimo
Certificate of Excellence
Waterloo, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Good hotel, close walking and driving distance to restaurants and shopping”
Reviewed December 31, 2011

It's not an overly fancy hotel, but that being said the staff are excellent and the rooms are nice and great for business travel. I have found that the downtown area in Nanaimo can be a little seedy, so it's nice to be away from that area. The room rates are great and there's ample parking and tons of restaurant and shopping options reasonably close by.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VancouverIris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

400 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    148
    189
    40
    18
    5
See reviews for
131
119
21
86
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Prince George
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
96 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed December 6, 2011

I'm checking out this morning after a 5 night stay. As usual it's all good. This hotel serves up a good conti breakfast from 6:30-9:00.
The hotel is across the street from Super store. Within a block there are a number of places to eat at.
The parking here is very good. Plus easy access to the highway.
The staff here are friendly and always with a smile.
Good job Northgate Inn.

"I will be back"

Room Tip: The baked ravioli at 'Little Georges' is amazing!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank benPrinceGeorge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitchener, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2011

We stayed at the BW Northgate for one night prior to flying out early the next morning. Our check-in was very smooth, the front desk staff where polite and helpful. There were 2 sports teams checking in and we requested a room as far from the teams as possible because they tend to be very noisy and we had a 3 month old infant with us. The front desk had already booked us into a room (329) far from the teams. We had requested a playpen for our baby to sleep in, it was in the room waiting for us and was very clean...there was a $10 extra charge for the playpen. The room and bathroom were very clean but dated. The only complaint we had was the road noise which is inevitable because the hotel is sandwiched by 2 busy roads. We always travel with a white noise machine so that covered the road noise. Our room came with a breakfast voucher which we did not get to use because we had to leave before the breakfast started at 6:00 a.m.

Overall, I would definitely stay at this hotel again and would recommend it to others as a reasonably priced option while staying in the Nanaimo area.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AdeChris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White Rock
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2011

We were in Room 314 which is on the highway side and closest to the next door pub. Try and avoid this side of the hotel if you can as you can hear a fair amount of road noise (day and night) and when the pub closes there is noise from the patrons. We were not able to get a room on the opposite side as there was a team staying the night. The desk clerk advised us of this and suggested the breakfast room might be crowded in the morning, and it was, but it was not much of a problem. The bathroom was quite small but the beds were very comfortable.

Room Tip: Avoid Room 314 - too noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VE7CKT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2011

Location not in a scenic spot but in a shopping area near superstore and a bit close to main highway at the north end of town. There was no noise from the highway at night with the fan on. It was a perfect location as our base to go explore Coombs, Cathedral Grove, Qualicum Falls and Port Alberni the next day. I did not realize how big Nanaimo was. If you are coming driving north, make sure to take the closest exit at the north end of town, so you don't have to go through the commercial area's series of lights. Breakfast was included and had a good selection for a family. Service was good considering they had to give us a new room after we discovered some maintenance issue with the room we were given just 5 minutes after we arrived. It was all done quickly. I'm just glad there was a spare room. Staff at front desk was helpful with directions etc,.. Would consider going there again if I'm in the area.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BLKA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2011

Stayed recently during a trip to the Island. Had a nice, roomy double that was very comfy and quiet. Staff were great at the front desk, housekeeping seemed to miss a few things though... found stuff behind the bathroom door and in the bedside drawers which was disappointing. Things did look very well kept otherwise. Never made it for the breakfast on the second floor. Location was a bit out of the way but was fine for our purposes as we had a vehicle and we found a large variety of restaurants and shops close by. Price was decent with the help of their CAA rates.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank YVR-AKI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
39 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2011

The check-in is done in a very professionally way. The clerk was more than good by any research required. She was very patient and very supportive. And what about the room. A nice clean room. A complete kitchen with all the necessary dishes. The bathroom was "spic & span". A beautiful vegetation hid the road back of the room. By the patio door there was a balcony which gave access to the outside. You could hear the traffic on the road but we do not see it. As the room is well insulated so when the door is closed, we don't hear nothing from the outside. The breafast is not served in a small corner of the hotel, but in a large room where several tables are available. The breakfast is good, the standards of "free breakfast".

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vireago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nanaimo hotels
6.6 mi away
Coast Bastion Hotel
Coast Bastion Hotel
#1 of 18 in Nanaimo
1,430 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Inn on Long Lake
The Inn on Long Lake
#3 of 18 in Nanaimo
327 reviews
5.9 mi away
Ramada Nanaimo
Ramada Nanaimo
#5 of 18 in Nanaimo
299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
Best Western Dorchester Hotel
1.5 mi away
The Grand Hotel Nanaimo
The Grand Hotel Nanaimo
#12 of 18 in Nanaimo
175 reviews
7.7 mi away
Days Inn - Nanaimo
Days Inn - Nanaimo
#8 of 18 in Nanaimo
501 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Northgate Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Northgate Inn

Property: Best Western Northgate Inn
Address: 6450 Metral Dr., Nanaimo, British Columbia V9T 2L8, Canada (Formerly BEST WESTERN Northgate Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Nanaimo
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Nanaimo
#6 Business Hotel in Nanaimo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Northgate Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 72
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Best Western, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Northgate Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Northgate Hotel Nanaimo
Best Western Nanaimo
Nanaimo Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing