We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Overnight in Nanaimo”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Nanaimo
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Living Forest Oceanside Campground & RV
Certificate of Excellence
Kontich, Belgium
Level Contributor
177 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Overnight in Nanaimo”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2013

For a stop over, we decided to choose Living Forest Oceanside Campground & RV.
Mainly the "ocean side" sites attracted us.
Staff was very friendly, and clearly explained us everything. Sites aren't that large, yet greenery allows for enough privacy. The site itself was near the "ocean", yet high above an inlet near the strait of Georgia. Apparently a lot of longer-staying guests were on the campground, walking their dogs and watching around suspiciously (curiously?) to all new-comers...
Accomodations were sufficient and clean, yet a walk away.
Because of being there in September no additional services were available.
Still a good place to stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Georges B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    102
    49
    11
    5
    10
See reviews for
84
54
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Swansea, Wales, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2013

This site has a lot going for it, the forest setting is great and the individual sites are well organised and large with individual fire pits. The toilets and showers were clean, and the staff were very helpful. The problem is that this site is not the peaceful oasis of calm that the website leads you to expect, there is a noisy main road, and industry just around the corner, these can be heard all day and night. I was quite disappointed by the noise.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Nick B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scottotheforest, at Living Forest Oceanside Campground & RV, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Thanks for taking time to share your experience at our park Nick, and thanks for visiting Vancouver Island. The kudos you sent our way for the sites and staff and setting and cleanliness are appreciated and will be shared with our dedicated staff.

I'm sorry that your peace and quiet wasn't up to your expectations. We are located within the City limits of Nanaimo's 100,000 population and all that goes with a multifaceted City. As a port city, we do have port operations located about 1.5 km North of our park, and the BC Ferry terminal about 3km East, and the Island Highway .5km to the West. The rolling topography of our property means that the Eastern side is more sheltered from any noise from the City for those who want to have as much serenity as possible. If I could turn back the clock, and we knew that you felt the site wasn't as quiet as you'd hoped, being September, when there's more availability, perhaps we could have moved you to a site in the Eastern part of the park.

Part of what makes our park unique is the sense that you are in a natural setting, yet close to the urban amenities. Unfortunately, the sounds of the City will be more noticeable than in a location miles into the wilderness. Happy camping adventures wherever you roam next!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2013

We've stayed at the Living Forest 5-6 times now and have had a great experience every time. We found mid-summer to be a bit too busy for our liking (i.e. lineups for the flush toilets and really noisy with kids), but outside July/August, this is the place to be! The office staff are always pleasant and helpful. There's a large variety of sites available and they are well explained and photographed on the website. We've tried the waterfront, the water view and forested types. We're huge fans of the waterfront sites with full hookup. They aren't as private as most provincial parks, but sometimes we want full hookup, which isn't available at any provincial parks on the island. We've got kayaks and love paddling in the estuary or up the Nanaimo River. There are lovely forested walks in the park and paved roadways. This was great for my mom when she came with us. Lots of places for her to bomb around on her mobility scooter. I love that staff rake the sites between visitors and they do a really great job of ensuring everyone respects quiet times. The shower rooms are heated and immaculate. An added bonus is that with the frequent camper card (just ask for one at the office), you get a free night for every six paid nights. We'll keep coming back as this is a great base for exploring the Nanaimo area.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank islandxterra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scottotheforest, social engagement coordinator at Living Forest Oceanside Campground & RV, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Islandxterra, thank you so much for finding time to send in such a detailed review of our park! We love hearing that you have a great time- so much so that you come back! I'll make sure that our staff see it- they're the stars of our show. I loved hearing about your mom being able to scoot around the 3km of paved roads on her mobility scooter. Happy Camping wherever you roam.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2013

Very clean .. helpful staff. We camped for one week...loved the site. The coffee bar was a nice touch offering a beautiful view and ice cream.
Propane fire rentals were handy during fire ban.......................................................................... ........

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank madallioop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Qualicum Beach, Canada
Level Contributor
59 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2013 via mobile

If you are :
respectful of others
Calm & considerate
Enjoy a peaceful stay
Aka living on A Forest
Family oriented
Early sleeper early riser
THEN THIS IS FOR YOU
If you are a- rowdy-long weekend partier-looking for loud CCR music-playing ALL night-yelling the same story 99 times-layin in your own whiskey breaky-this is NOT your place. You will be flagged and we like tht.
PS I like 'warden bob' as other reviewers have said. He is in charge and has a huge job to care for everyone's safety and peace. So lay off of him. He's gotten us quarters at 11pm so we can get a shower. That's NOT a Warden. We have been able to have music and LATE nights because we are conscientious.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank endocalm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2013

We've stayed at Living Forest for a week each time over most of the last nine years and each time we visit we're sad to leave.

Situated on the edge of the ocean, overlooking a river estuary, the camp ground has numerous sites well-spaced through the forest such that you never feel like you are living with your neighbours. It's a private camp ground but feels more like the BC Provincial Parks camp grounds in terms of being more naturally arranged.

Highlights:

- The Cafe deck overlooking the ocean. Great espresso, home baked goodies, all extremely reasonably priced and all profits are donated to charity!

- Family friendly - you'll find kids young and old cruising around the paved lanes on their bikes. The park caters to a family oriented crowd - we've never experienced any serious noise problems in all our years of visiting. On-site security during the night helps ensure everyone gets a good rest.

- Helpful office, propane sales and rentals, firewood (season permitting), beach access, kayak rentals, grassy play field and children's playground

- Games room for young and old

- Laundry on-site

- DOG FRIENDLY! and there are tons of trails to take your pets on extended walks down near the ocean or estuary

- Bald eagles and other birds of prey are plentiful to spot

- Clean, well maintained and staff are always happy to help and accommodate

The camp is an excellent facility for organized groups too.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SolutionRoute
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spruce Grove, Canada
Level Contributor
134 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2013 via mobile

The location of this park is spectacular, while eating dinner I had a glimpse of my family with the ocean scene behind them and it caught me how beautiful this area is. The staff are fantastic, very accommodating. Great office area, games room, cafe and hiking spots - all right here. Used them all over course of five days. Central to everything. Easy to recommend.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank Brad F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nanaimo
2.7 mi away
Coast Bastion Hotel
Coast Bastion Hotel
#1 of 19 in Nanaimo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,276 reviews
7.6 mi away
The Inn on Long Lake
The Inn on Long Lake
#2 of 19 in Nanaimo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 305 reviews
1.5 mi away
Days Inn - Nanaimo
Days Inn - Nanaimo
#8 of 19 in Nanaimo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 468 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Ramada Nanaimo
Ramada Nanaimo
#5 of 19 in Nanaimo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 289 reviews
2.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN  Dorchester Hotel
56.6 mi away
Oak Bay Beach Hotel
Oak Bay Beach Hotel
#3 of 52 in Victoria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Living Forest Oceanside Campground & RV? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Living Forest Oceanside Campground & RV

Property: Living Forest Oceanside Campground & RV
Address: 6 Maki Rd, Nanaimo, British Columbia V9R 6N7, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Nanaimo
Amenities:
Beach Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 13 Specialty Lodging in Nanaimo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
53 waterfront acres, 300 sites. Open year round. Rated as one of the two best parks in BC, and in the top 25 in Canada! Located 5 minutes to downtown Nanaimo, a waterfront city of 80,000, and only 10 minutes to ferries. Perfect base camp to explore Vancouver Island. Summer swimming in a pristine river, oceanside full serviced sites, kayak rentals, walking trails, WiFi - even a gourmet coffee deck overlooking the ocean! Reserve online. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing