We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awesome ocean view sites” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Living Forest Oceanside Campground & RV

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Nanaimo
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Living Forest Oceanside Campground & RV
Certificate of Excellence
Canada
Level Contributor
214 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Awesome ocean view sites”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2012

Truly a great place for camping and hanging out. Our campsite wa so beautiful we hardly wanted to do any exploring. Their website is unlike any other we have seen. Just click on the campsite number useing the map and you see a picture of the campsite.It's also a good starting point for exploring downtown Nanaimo. Also some nice trails around the campsite as well. Friendly staff and a well organized and clean campground.We will be back!!

Room Tip: Recommend booking ahead if you want a ocean view site.You can check their web site and see what ones...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Raroboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scottotheforest, Community Director at Living Forest Oceanside Campground & RV, responded to this review, October 6, 2012
It's always great to have 'Islanders' visit our park- thanks for that AND taking time to post a review. We camp all over the Island too and love your part of the Island also. Glad you enjoyed your time at Living Forest!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    101
    49
    11
    5
    10
See reviews for
83
54
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Kelowna, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2012

First time visit for me and I enjoyed my stay the entire time . The staff were excellent , freely offering help and advice whenever I approached them , and they all are very approachable and professional in their manner . The campground is a wonderful place to stay , everything worked with no surprises . I especially enjoyed the quiet at night and how clean the campground facilities were kept , many thanks to those involved in those areas . I really appreciated the effort by staff to maintain that , especially under the difficult and trying circumstances that can occur from time to time . I see that many families come and stay , and as a parent myself , the efforts put in by all the staff to keep things safe and fun are much valued . I will definitely return for another stay . Again , thanks to all at the Living Forest cg. .

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scottotheforest, Community Director at Living Forest Oceanside Campground & RV, responded to this review, October 6, 2012
Thank you for a thoughtful review Mike, and thanks for making the trek from Kelowna! We visited Kelowna in May and love your community too. We made a commitment to being a family oriented campground long ago. The childhood memories created on family vacations are among the most powerful and long lasting anyone has. We're so pleased to try to create an environment that fosters that! Happy camping!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2012

We just came back today from a couple of nights at Living Forest, and we spent the August long weekend there too. We love this place... it's a great destination for family camping. The grounds are well-kept, the facilities are clean and you can tell that maintenance is not just an afterthought - everything seems to be kept in good order, even during the pressure of a long weekend when demand is high. $1 gets you a 5-minute shower, which is more than enough time. We even met an employee picking up litter on the surrounding trails (during the last visit), which is great to see!

There are a number of activities to do on-site, like renting kayaks/canoes, walking the trails (there are a number of geocaches nearby), checking out the games room, or just relaxing and enjoying the scenery. Our favourite activity on both visits was kayaking around the estuary and up the river, it's nice to just paddle around and take in the sights. The kids love the cafe by the beach, and had a daily ice cream treat.

Each time we've spoken to a staff member they've been friendly, helpful, and courteous - even when it's been quite busy in the office. They've been very helpful pointing out ideal times to kayak and where to go to potentially see some wildlife.

Regarding security, we've had no issues and can appreciate that 11 PM is the start of quiet time - while a couple of people who posted earlier seem to have had a problem, we're really only hearing one side of the story. In my opinion, I'd far rather have adherence to posted quiet times instead of a free-for-all - after all, there are all ages of people staying there and everybody is entitled to enjoy it. There was more general activity during the long-weekend vs. this past weekend, but that's to be expected - it was very quiet this past weekend, considering there were a lot of occupied sites.

There is a supermarket just down the road from the campground, as well as other stores and services right in the area - very convenient! No need to stock up on groceries before leaving home. Ice can be purchased for a very reasonable price at the office.

The sites themselves are great - there's a nice selection of full-shade or bright and sunny spots; pull-thru, back-in, or tenting sites. They seem to be raked and checked after each use, great to see that. Hookups are fully functional and situated well, and it looks like each site has a picnic table and fire pit.

We will definitely be back, and have already booked for next August long-weekend!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mike H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scottotheforest, Community Director at Living Forest Oceanside Campground & RV, responded to this review, October 6, 2012
Wow- what a detailed review! Thank you so much for making the drive from Victoria to visit us and taking time to share your experience. As travelers, we all rely on TripAdvisor to help us find a good match, so hats off for describing our park through your eyes. Safe journeys!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver Island, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2012

We camped at Living Forest for the first time ever on the Labour Day weekend. It was great. Campsites are roomy and private and really well maintained. The property itself is also really well kept. Our 9-year old son brought a friend and they were go go go the entire time - bike riding, playing in the park, swimming in the river. Of the six campgrounds that we visited this summer our son said Living Forest was the best one by far. Can't wait to go back next year!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Deanne K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scottotheforest, Public Relations Manager at Living Forest Oceanside Campground & RV, responded to this review, September 7, 2012
Thank you for taking time to tell us about your Labour Day camping Deanne- it was a full park that weekend! Our own kids have great camping memories from their childhood, and those memories last a lifetime. So glad we could be a part of some great memories for your family. See you next year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sooke, British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2012

We have been coming to Living Forest every summer since 2006 and our girls never want to go anywhere else! It is a beautiful site that gives amenities on par with many of the great private RV parks but has the lovely, treed forest feeling of the best provincial sites. Reservation policies are very accommodating and the staff are THE BEST! It's a perfect park to use as a 'home base' while exploring all the great activities the central island area has to offer. Can't wait to come back!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank M0mmaBear75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scottotheforest, Public Relations Manager at Living Forest Oceanside Campground & RV, responded to this review, September 7, 2012
Thank you MommaBear! We are so very proud of our staff, who are mostly students from Vancouver Island University's Tourism program. We grew up camping in our amazing Provincial Parks and did the best we could to make Living Forest feel that way with the addition of services and amenities, so we really love hearing that comparison. See you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ladysmith, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2012

Have been camping here for years. Only 30 k away from our home, but we love to go there to get away. It is always fun and we like the quiet time after 11 p.m. The staff are always friendly and accomodating. Love the contests and the constant giveaways. The views are spectacular and it is always fascinating to watch the Eagles, hawks, ravens, crows and turkey vultures flying around! Can't wait for our next trip there!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrandMrsHopey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scottotheforest, Public Relations Manager at Living Forest Oceanside Campground & RV, responded to this review, September 7, 2012
We love hearing that we can be a close to home escape for folks who live nearby. Everyone camps for different reasons, but we share your enthusiasm for our feathered friends who grace our park. A few of the Trumpeter Swans have begun their annual arrival. Thank you for taking time to share your experiences.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
116 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2012

We had the pleasure of staying at this wonderful Park in August. I called in the morning from out of town to see if they had a site available for the night.
The attendant on the phone was very friendly and polite and said that there was one dry site available.

The park is easy to find and centrally located to the City of Nanaimo BC.
After checking in, I couldn't help but notice how clean and well maintained this huge facility was. As well, after arriving to our assigned site, I had the feeling I was staying at one of BC's beautiful Provincial Parks.

Sites were spacious, with beautiful huge trees all around, clean and well groomed!

This is a full facility park, complete with tiered - ocean view - full hook up RV sites. There's plenty of walking areas that lead down to the beach area and away from the Park itself. Shopping is just a few minutes walk down the entrance roadway.

One other added bonus is a nice little Cafe located directly in the Park, complete with Patio and Ocean views! Enjoy coffee, homemade muffins, ice cream and more! As well, situated on the patio is free Wifi along with electrical plug-ins for your laptop.

I was also struck by the amazing outhouse restroom situated close to our site. Immaculately kept, complete with flush toilet and sink with running water and electric hand dryer. Another added bonus.

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at this lovely Park, staff were all very friendly and pets are most welcome. We will be returning!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nanaimo
2.7 mi away
Coast Bastion Hotel
Coast Bastion Hotel
#1 of 19 in Nanaimo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,244 reviews
7.6 mi away
The Inn on Long Lake
The Inn on Long Lake
#2 of 19 in Nanaimo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 303 reviews
1.5 mi away
Days Inn - Nanaimo
Days Inn - Nanaimo
#7 of 19 in Nanaimo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 461 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Ramada Nanaimo
Ramada Nanaimo
#5 of 19 in Nanaimo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 287 reviews
56.6 mi away
Oak Bay Beach Hotel
Oak Bay Beach Hotel
#3 of 52 in Victoria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,114 reviews
2.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN  Dorchester Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Living Forest Oceanside Campground & RV? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Living Forest Oceanside Campground & RV

Property: Living Forest Oceanside Campground & RV
Address: 6 Maki Rd, Nanaimo, British Columbia V9R 6N7, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Nanaimo
Amenities:
Beach Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 Specialty Lodging in Nanaimo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
53 waterfront acres, 300 sites. Open year round. Rated as one of the two best parks in BC, and in the top 25 in Canada! Located 5 minutes to downtown Nanaimo, a waterfront city of 80,000, and only 10 minutes to ferries. Perfect base camp to explore Vancouver Island. Summer swimming in a pristine river, oceanside full serviced sites, kayak rentals, walking trails, WiFi - even a gourmet coffee deck overlooking the ocean! Reserve online. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing