We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Psychotic golf cart riding "security" guido ruined everything”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Nanaimo
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Living Forest Oceanside Campground & RV
Certificate of Excellence
Victoria, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Psychotic golf cart riding "security" guido ruined everything”
Reviewed July 23, 2012

The grounds are lovely, the view is so wonderful, but all was spoiled by a gold cart riding "power-tripper"...The campfires are to be out by 11pm, and although the rule is very strick, we must follow their wishes, which are strictly enforced by Guido. Alas, the rules do not apply to all, we found out as we were making our way back to our campsite, after being harshly reprimanded at our friends site by the golf cart riding bully...we saw there were sporadic campfires still a-blazing, and people outside having fun, but we were not allowed to enjoy ourselves...The next early evening, Guido came by shortly after 6 to remind us of quite time and fires out at 11pm, and looked at us with this passive/aggressive stare...keep in mind our group had people in their 40's to late 50's (not known to really bust a move)...So, he pre-ruined our evening, and made us feel paranoid, like we were bring spied on by our boss at work (you know the feeling). He came by many times in the evening and gave us the "stink-eye"...All in all, a bad experience, and we will NEVER go back to this hell-hole again...You feel like a fool when you pay money to be mistreated AND HARRASED like this.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Boinkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

200 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    115
    55
    14
    5
    11
See reviews for
97
62
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Saanich, British Columbia, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2012

We will never go back to Living Forest Campground after a devastating experience with security and management harassment the last time our family camped there. It started by security coming by our campsite at 11:00pm and telling us that it was quiet time now and to put our campfire out ( we have a propane fire ring ), which we thought was strange due to the fact that there were several other campers with fires still going. He said that they were allowed because they were resident campers, so we obliged and turned it off. Apparently he told the management that we were rude to him ( a LIE ), because after we got back home Living Forest management called us to "get some answers" as to what happened. My wife tried to explain what had happened, but it was clear that she (the manager) had her mind made up already. She was defensive and abrasive with my wife, she yelled at my wife, and she told us that security told her that somebody in our campsite had apologized to him for being rude already ( a LIE ). She also told us that every campfire has to be out at 11:00pm ( another LIE from security ) I think she needs some customer service skills training. We tried to talk to her and resolve the issue as we have camped there before many times and wanted to return.....but we will never camp there again. I will never recommend Living Forest Campground to anyone as the management does not care about their campers and I don't want anybody else to have the same bad experience we had.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Steve B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nanaimo
Level 4 Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2012

I love this campground! It has been carefully stewarded for that it still feels like being out in nature, with trees all around, blackberries for the picking in summer, squirrels and birds playing and a magnificent view of the Nanaimo estuary. Living Forest is just that! It is run very well and people at the desk in the office are friendly and helpful. The grounds are clean and there is a dear little beach to swim or kayak from, if you wish. Just across the highway from this jewel is a small mall where groceries etc. can be purchased. A person feels that s/he is getting "away from it all" while at the same time being close to amenities that might be needed. A perfect combination for a holiday!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank SunshineinNanaimo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich UK
Level 6 Contributor
450 reviews
123 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 296 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2012

This is a lovely park, can't fault it. Not expensive, even the all singing and dancing oceanside pitches, and with very generous spacing. Happy helpful staff, lots of eco-friendly stuff going on, free and fast wi-fi (why can't all sites provide this - this park covers a large area and we were about as far away as possible from the office yet we picked up a strong signal easily) Great setting amongst the trees, with views over the bay. Pity we only stayed one day.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank PeterHarvey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2012

This should be the model for RVing! Sites are a good size in most parts of the park. We often choose to be down on the beach,but that's a bit more squeezy, still excellent access for our kayaks. Tides are strong...be careful. Sites on top have ocean views, but many sites are just nestled into the forest. Wood is available if there are no fire restrictions. The cafe is great for coffee and a view. Eagles are everywhere! On the river, many birds entertain with families of ducks being the star attractions. If you are a geocacher, there is a series of five worth checking out. Families will be happy with other attractions. Hubby discovered a basketball court that I never did find! They do all kinds of things to keep you interested in coming back,currently they are hiding tags on trails for prizes. There is an excellent grocery store nearby with various fast food places. The danger is you might not have to discover Nanaimo! They have upgraded Internet connections all over the park now. Ferry is nearby for good access. This is a quiet and well managed park. Very well managed!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank VictoriaGardener
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2011

We were pleasantly surprised when we drove up to the campground. It is very quiet and clean. When I say quiet, I mean it...The campground rules state that there is to be no outside music. It was nice to not have to listen to someone else's music blaring as we have often had to endure while camping. Also, even though quiet time didn't start until 11, everyone around us started whispering at around 9.

We were in a tent only site, which was on a gravel pad and raked before we arrived, so it was nice & smooth, but it is pretty packed down, so trying to place the tent pegs was like hammering into concrete.

The sites are quite close together, but since everyone was so quiet, it was really no problem at all.

There is a cafe on site with internet access, which was a big help when we were trying to figure out ferry schedules. The view of the mountains & water is beautiful from there, especially at sunset.

Most of the washrooms are what I'd call upgraded outhouses...a flush toilet and sink with running water and lights so you can see at night. Some of them have dishwashing stations on the outside as well. There are also larger washrooms with pay showers, $1 for 5 min. We only stayed one night, so we didn't get involved in anything, but we got the impression that there are programs for kids running all summer long, which is great for those staying longer.

If you are looking to camp while you are in Nanaimo, I highly recommend this campground.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank 1ove2travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherwood Park, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2011

This is a beautiful well maintained campground, I thought I had specified we wanted a oceanview campsite but on arrival found that we were quite a walk to the ocean. Because we have little kids I went back and asked if there was anything closer to the ocean. They were great and found us a double site(#11/12) which is oceanview, and we lucked out that no one came to stay in site #11, so we had 2 sites for our kids to play in. The shower/washroom facilities are always clean, and they have a nice cafe overlooking the ocean as well. Great place to stay! The ocean/beach area isn't much but there are nice beaches around within driving distance if you want something more. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dee S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nanaimo hotels
2.7 mi away
Coast Bastion Hotel
Coast Bastion Hotel
#1 of 18 in Nanaimo
1,430 reviews
1.5 mi away
Days Inn - Nanaimo
Days Inn - Nanaimo
#8 of 18 in Nanaimo
501 reviews
3.5 mi away
Ramada Nanaimo
Ramada Nanaimo
#5 of 18 in Nanaimo
299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 mi away
The Inn on Long Lake
The Inn on Long Lake
#3 of 18 in Nanaimo
327 reviews
2.8 mi away
Best Western Dorchester Hotel
4.5 mi away
Mountainaire Campground and RV Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Living Forest Oceanside Campground & RV? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Living Forest Oceanside Campground & RV

Property: Living Forest Oceanside Campground & RV
Address: 6 Maki Rd, Nanaimo, British Columbia V9R 6N7, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Nanaimo
Amenities:
Beach Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 15 Specialty Lodging in Nanaimo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
53 waterfront acres, 300 sites. Open year round. Rated as one of the two best parks in BC, and in the top 25 in Canada! Located 5 minutes to downtown Nanaimo, a waterfront city of 80,000, and only 10 minutes to ferries. Perfect base camp to explore Vancouver Island. Summer swimming in a pristine river, oceanside full serviced sites, kayak rentals, walking trails, WiFi - even a gourmet coffee deck overlooking the ocean! Reserve online. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing