We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little off the cuff!”

Simonholt Restaurant
Ranked #15 of 333 Restaurants in Nanaimo
Price range: $4 - $30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Families with children, Special occasions, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Bar scene, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Takeout
Description: SIMONHOLT is a family friendly Nanaimo destination that features a diverse menu based on the refined palette of Chef priding itself on a 'mainly from scratch' kitchen. We offer an extensive wine selection of both red and white by the glass, a fully stocked bar and first class service. We have 3 patios including a rooftop deck with beautiful ocean and mountain views. We frequently host live music from both travelling and local Vancouver Island artists. Please check our website for upcoming shows. SIMONHOLT is locally operated and has been ranked in the top 3 best overall restaurants for 4 years and best patio restaurant in Nanaimo . We are located in the North Nanaimo commercial core and are neighbors to Woodgrove Center and Costco. SIMONHOLT is a perfect place to relax and enjoy the mild west coast weather.
Reviewed December 11, 2012

Unusual menu but very nice a change from the norm. Awesome mushroom appy but no longer on menu please bring it back. Best restaurant in the north end of town.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Julie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (464)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

358 - 362 of 464 reviews

Reviewed October 20, 2012

I have had a few meals here and every one has been delicious. Great decor, friendly service and a place I will return to for sure.

Thank Jolly O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Codyd16, Owner at Simonholt Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2012

Thanks Jolly for the review. We are extremly happy you have had great meals here everytime. We will continue to please. Cheers Cody

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2012

Went for lunch with my daughter. The food was good and the menu a little different. The server was quick and friendly.

Thank sunnie48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Codyd16, Owner at Simonholt Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2012

Thank you Sunnie, we are very happy you enjoyed our restaurant with your daughter. Hopefully we will see you again soon. Cheers Cody

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2012

Love the appies at this place! So many to choose from, they are all good. Wine list is great and reasonably priced, lots of seating and well laid out. Entrees are also great, if you have any room left!

Thank DeannaNanaimo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Codyd16, Owner at Simonholt Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded September 30, 2012

Thanks Deanna for your praise. We appreciate hearing that you are enjoying our food, wine and atmosphere. We hope to continue with the great service on your next trip in. Cheers Cody

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2012

My daughter chose Simonholt for her family birthday celebration. There were 8 of us for dinner. We were seated and given menus and beverages promptly. Appetizers arrived in a reasonable amount of time; the meals were slower. My mom-in-law only ordered an entree, the maple-glazed pork tenderloin and she asked for no veggies, only mashed potatoes. She started on the spuds first, but when it came time to cut her pork, she could not do it, despite the sharp knife she was given. She enlisted the help of a 20-something man in our group, and with some difficulty, he cut the meat and despite great effort (and her own teeth) it took her a long time to chew one bite. When the server circled back about 15 minutes later, she spoke with her about the quality of the meat and to the woman's credit, she offered her another meal and to send over the manager. By this time, most of us were finished our meal and my mom-in-law knew it would take at least 25 minutes to get something else, so she declined. You could tell by looking at the cut of meat that it was tough, end pieces. The manager did come over, apologized and offered a complimentary dessert, plus we were not charged for the meal, but really? I am not a gourmet cook, but there is no way that piece of meat should have been served.

On the plus side, others in our group enjoyed their fare. There were 4 celiacs in our party and we all found something tasty to sample including the Long Board Chicken, Cajun Sauteed Prawns, Grilled Chicken Rancher and Fire Breathing Dragon Bowl. The Tahitian Vanilla Bean Creme Brulee is amazing!

The atmosphere is upbeat, the decor modern.

I will give this restaurant one more try, but am not hurrying back to do so.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Islander280
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Codyd16, Owner at Simonholt Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded September 30, 2012

Thank you Islander for your input. We are very happy to hear that 7 out of 8 people really enjoyed themselves. Our manager Josh let us know that there was an issue and that he took it off the bill and bought dessert as well. He let us know that everyone left really happy. We took your input and have talked to our chef to make sure that we do not have this problem again. Our Tendorloins come in whole loins and we believe that it may have been just a tough peice of meat and are truley sorry to your mother in law. We hope to see yo again and deliever a fantastic evening for you. Cheers, Cody

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Simonholt Restaurant also viewed

Nanaimo, Vancouver Island
 
Nanaimo, Vancouver Island
Nanaimo, Vancouver Island
 
Nanaimo, Vancouver Island
Nanaimo, Vancouver Island
 

Been to Simonholt Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing