We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Meal at Simonholt”

Simonholt Restaurant
Ranked #16 of 320 Restaurants in Nanaimo
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $21
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Bar scene, Romantic, Large groups, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Takeout
Description: SIMONHOLT is a family friendly Nanaimo destination that features a diverse menu based on the refined palette of Chef Aaron Mayor priding itself on a 'mainly from scratch' kitchen. We offer an extensive wine selection of both red and white by the glass, a fully stocked bar and first class service. We have 3 patios including a rooftop deck with beautiful ocean and mountain views. We frequently host live music from both travelling and local Vancouver Island artists. Please check our website for upcoming shows. SIMONHOLT is locally operated and has been ranked in the top 3 best overall restaurants for 4 years and best patio restaurant in Nanaimo . We are located in the North Nanaimo commercial core and are neighbors to Woodgrove Center and Costco. SIMONHOLT is a perfect place to relax and enjoy the mild west coast weather.
England UK
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Meal at Simonholt”
Reviewed August 12, 2012

While on holiday with 2 friends we visited Simonholt for an evening meal. Although the place was reasonable, the meal did not prove satisfactory. My husband and I chose tender pork loin while our friends chose pasta. When our pork arrived it was so tough that we couldn't even cut it, plus the fact, that mine was raw inside.We complained to the waitress who took it back to be redone, but on returning it to us, it was no different. The Manager came and took it back once more to be cooked. There was no difference. By this time the vegetables were cold. Our friends finished their meal with no problem. Although we were not charged for our meal, the manager didn't offer an alternative. Very disappointed, wouldn't return.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank barsouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Codyd16, Owner at Simonholt Restaurant, responded to this review, August 13, 2012
Hello Barsouth, Sorry to hear about your pork tendorloin. We cook our Pork to a medium which still has some pink on it. Because we use the best meat products, there is nothing to worry about. I am sorry that it was re cooked to your liking and happy that you were not charged. Cheers Cody
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

392 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    191
    104
    53
    29
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Love it, will return”
Reviewed August 11, 2012 via mobile

Best wings anywhere. Hands down. Great service. Great care taken with everything. Good wine list. Sat on the rooftop patio and loved the view. Only unfortunate thing was a group of cursing teenagers seated nearby.

Helpful?
Thank DC Family F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Codyd16, Owner at Simonholt Restaurant, responded to this review, August 13, 2012
Hello DC Family, Thank you so much for the compliments. More and More people are starting figure out how good our wings our. And yes that view from the roof top is very enjoyable on a sunny summer day/night. Sorry to hear about the cursing and please let us know next time and we would be more than happy to help out. Cheers Cody
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duncan, Canada
Level Contributor
27 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Just OK”
Reviewed August 7, 2012

I had dinner at Simon Holt with 5 friends. Service was decent even though it seemed busy. We shared 4 appetizers of which two were pretty good and one was terrible. For the price, we expected larger servings. The dinner entrees were all just OK. The plating was sloppy and nothing really stood out in terms of flavour or quality. Everything tasted like chain restaurant food.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank yumyum279
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Codyd16, Owner at Simonholt Restaurant, responded to this review, August 13, 2012
Thanks for the review yumyum. We are happy that the service was good and it was busy in the restaurant. We work hard to make sure our service is always excellent. I am sorry about the one appy and next time no matter where you are please let us or the server know that the taste was not what you expected and we would be more than happy to take care of you. Thanks Cody
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nanaimo, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good Try”
Reviewed July 29, 2012

The service was very slow
The cost of the meal is a little steep
The food was only average once it was served

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank Wayne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Codyd16, Owner at Simonholt Restaurant, responded to this review, August 5, 2012
Hello Wayne H. Sorry to hear that your experience was only average. We take food and service very seriously and would love to hear your comments at the time you are here. Please feel free to contact me at the restaurant and we can talk more about your experience. We at Simonholt like to use only the best Meats, Cheeses, Produce and breads and feel with all of that being said our prices are very competitive with other restaurants like ours that in fact maybe a little more. As well we have daily lunch specials starting from $10.50 and 3 course meals every Sunday and Monday night for only $22. Please come back and let us show you that we are much better than average. Thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burnaby
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Birthday luncheon”
Reviewed July 18, 2012

Great place for cocktails and ladies luncheon on the deck. Perfect service, refreshing salads and of course... delicious drinks!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Lcoatta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Codyd16, Owner at Simonholt Restaurant, responded to this review, July 22, 2012
Thanks Foodie for the great review. Our Food, Drinks and Service is what's most important.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Simonholt Restaurant also viewed

Nanaimo, Vancouver Island
 
Nanaimo, Vancouver Island
Nanaimo, Vancouver Island
 

Been to Simonholt Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing