We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Really good pizza” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of New York Style Pizza & Pasta

New York Style Pizza & Pasta
Ranked #154 of 320 Restaurants in Nanaimo
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza, Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
North Nanaimo
Level Contributor
43 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Really good pizza”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2013

We quite enjoyed the pizza at New York Style Pizza. The crust and sauce are really quite good and they did not skimp on the toppings. (Some places we order double cheese but that is not necessary here.) Our choice was the pineapple pizza. The prices seem a tad high but not too out of line. The salad was nice but nothing special. Now that they have a North Nanaimo location on Dover we'll have to try that as well.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank SueZCue2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    45
    18
    12
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Langford, Canada
Level Contributor
74 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Delicious pasta and excellent service in a warm, inviting atmosphere at this family run restaurant.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2013 via mobile

We had a coupon for this restaurant so stopped for a late supper last Saturday evening. We were a little hesitant to try it due to the mixed reviews and to us, a name that did not really inspire, but were very glad we did take the chance. Our experience was positive all round and we left with full bellies and in good spirits due to the enjoyable service and flavourful dishes.

There was a large group of customers taking up most of one side of the small restaurant and there was a musician playing near the entrance but still, the sound level was comfortable enough for easy conversation. There was something about the atmosphere that made us feel warm and at ease. This was further enhanced by the very pleasant manager who made us feel welcome and valued and whose cheery disposition was quite infectious.

This is a family run restaurant and the dishes we had were, as far as I could tell, made fresh and in-house. We shared a lasagne and also the special which was a three-cheese ravioli. The special came with a starter salad which arrived at our table very quickly and had a unique house dressing which was not only delicious, but the salad serving itself was more than enough for the two of us to share. The lasagne was the best that either of us have eaten to date and the ravioli was equally superb with a sauce that is unbelievably tasty!

One point of interest is that you can purchase some of the unique salad ingredients and dressing to take home with you which is exactly what we did so we could re-live the wonderful flavours at home at a later date. Additionally, the servings were sufficiently large that there was plenty left over for an enjoyable meal the next day.

All in all, I can't think of any negatives to report about our experience at this restaurant and the genuine warmth and friendliness of the manager made for an excellent evening.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank oom-papa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Black Creek, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Inexplicably popular”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2013

I am amazed that this restaurant gets away with what gets away with. First: what they serve is as far as one can get from EITHER New York or Italy. It's Greek pizza, not Italian. They brag about the fact that they use no oil (referred to as "grease" on the menu). No Extra Virgin Olive Oil on an Italian or a New York pizza? Never in either case. I asked for the toppings to be just that, on top. The waitress gave me a two-minute primer on why that was a bad idea. Toppings on the top is a bad idea? Though she eventually and reluctantly relented, she never told me what I might have been swayed (to leave) by: there's so much meat that it looks like a brown hat on top of the cheese. Despite their menu's praise of the cold cuts, they were not good, especially if you are setting yourself up as New York west. More of a mediocre product is only that. The salad and its dressing were good. My wife's pasta was OK after she dressed it up with crushed red pepper and the Sneaky Pete's Spice (best thing on the table). Considering the value of the meal, it was overpriced by a factor of 2. We weren't the only people in the restaurant who were told "We don't do that..." as they ordered.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank mhorgan2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Big thick crusty pizza”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2013 via mobile

This might be the thickest crust pizza I've ever eaten, but good thick, not at all oily. Everything tasted fresh and they were very good at rushing our order when we asked for it.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank yvrmichael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nanaimo, British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great pizza and a fantastic Manhattan Salad”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

Great pizza & fantastic Manhattan salad with great friendly service and enjoyable atmosphere.
Worth the visit if enjoy great food.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ANDREW M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed New York Style Pizza & Pasta also viewed

 
Nanaimo, Vancouver Island
 

Been to New York Style Pizza & Pasta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing