We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food but understaffed”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of SukkhoThai

SukkhoThai
Ranked #28 of 321 Restaurants in Nanaimo
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Asian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Business meetings, Kids, Families with children, Large groups, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Seattle
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Good food but understaffed”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2013

Good spot for lunch but the service wasn't great. It appears that the entire restaurant is served by two women who were waiting tables, busing tables, and hostessing all at the same time. They were doing their best to serve everyone as fast as they could, but clearly needed help.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    84
    41
    19
    5
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Nanaimo, Canada
Level Contributor
28 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Changes”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2013 via mobile

Noticed the pad Thai is skimpy on fresh bean sprouts...you ask for hot and you get a mild dish...then they bring you a platter of seasonings...not the same as before...portions smaller and soup is like dishwater...can the old sukkho Thai please come back?

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank ikc_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Does not live up to the standards”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2013

I've always had good experience when this restaurant was under the old management. When they reopen I was really looking forward to it but after have tried them not once but 4 times, it has been really disappointing. The soup with the lunch combo tasted disgusting, the curry is just dry and the last time I found hair in my food. I made a complaint once about my food and the answer I got was 'oh the chef made it the way it supposed to be, she didnt do anything different ' wow Yes I guess it was because of my tastebud was off (I was also with a friend and her S4 was not any better).... poor service that I had to chase them down to get more water, NOT RECOMMENDING this place...

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank wazbit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
45 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Just average”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2013 via mobile

Sukkho Thai was recommended to us by our hotelier. It seemed promising: good location in the downtown, good reviews on Trip Advisor. But the experience didn't live up to the billing.

Their service was weak - a forgotten order and we needed to chase them down for more water and the bill at the end. The atmosphere is nice: open air and inviting. The food was just average: the kind of Thai cooking that anyone can do at home with a run-of-the-mill Thai cookbook.

Their location is great, which is probably why they are still in business. Lost in a suburb, they'd have had to be more creative to keep their doors open. 3 stars from me.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gravelburger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
87 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Excellent choice in excellent setting”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2013

Enjoyed a really good meal here, excellent service and value with rice included in the price. The food was of a very good standard we both had vegetarian options. They do not as yet have a drinks licence although they have I understand applied for one. Would happily recommend you try this place. Be aware closes quite early in the evening 8.30pm.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Steve046
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed SukkhoThai also viewed

Nanaimo, Vancouver Island
Nanaimo, Vancouver Island
 
Nanaimo, Vancouver Island
Nanaimo, Vancouver Island
 
Nanaimo, Vancouver Island
Nanaimo, Vancouver Island
 

Been to SukkhoThai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing