We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great little find in downtown Nanaimo” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Le Cafe Francais

Le Cafe Francais
Ranked #1 of 321 Restaurants in Nanaimo
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $37
Cuisines: French, European, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Kids, Local cuisine, Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: French little bistro. Authentique home cooking
Nanaimo, Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great little find in downtown Nanaimo”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2013

This truly French (from France , not Quebec) is a gem. The menu is delightful - their crepes are divine, especially the Seafood Crepe - the sauce is subtle and so flavourful. Their salads have wonderful homemade dressings, and their homemade ice cream is SO SO good. They have lovely wine parings and are very accommodating to their guests in every way - nothing forced, everything comes naturally to these charming people. AND the prices are very reasonable !

As it is on the main downtown street - there is street parking (when you can find it), and covered parking in the main garage a few blocks away.

Absolutely a place we will frequent when we are in Nanaimo.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank AnneVDK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

320 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    237
    67
    10
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, BC
Level Contributor
90 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“A Touch of France in Nanaimo.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2013

My wife and I were in Nanaimo on Sept. 6th on business. We were downtown and liked the look of this little restaurant.
It was early lunch hour so the place was not crowded. The service was first class as was the food ( we had fish crepes). All in all a place worth a visit.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Bopper65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
1 review
“Just Awesome”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2013

we drove up from Victoria to find something different to eat. We came across this place and where totally in awe. The food was the best we have had in a long long time. To make it even better was the excellent service and the friendliness of the waiter and the chef.. The cafe is a v ery great service with its staff and especially the french cuisine. Nanaimo should be proud to have it as a business.

jimy `` no tomato``

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jimy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North West England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“A Real Gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2013

Not the most attractive outside but once you get past that you will be treated to a great meal with excellent service. It is traditional French cafe decor. The menu has a very large variety of traditional French food. The service is very friendly. They have a great selection of excellent French wines at very reasonable prices. There were 4 of us and we all had different meals which we all agreed were outstanding. I had the Coq ou Vin and would recommend it to anyone. The meals are not large but taste fantastic and are certainly sufficient. One we cannot wait to return to.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Brian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Comox, Canada
1 review
“Excellent restaurant in downtown Nanaimo”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2013

A friend and I went to Nanaimo shopping from Comox and stopped in for lunch. We were not disappointed. I had the coquille de mer with the option of two side dishes and my friend had escargot. Both were delicious and good value. Peter, our server was very charming and professional. We shared a strawberry crepe for dessert with coffee. Honestly, best crepe ever. I will definately be back when in Nanaimo again.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Verlie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Cafe Francais also viewed

Nanaimo, Vancouver Island
Nanaimo, Vancouver Island
 
Nanaimo, Vancouver Island
 
Nanaimo, Vancouver Island
Nanaimo, Vancouver Island
 

Been to Le Cafe Francais? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing