We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“One of the Best”

Asteras Greek Taverna
Ranked #2 of 321 Restaurants in Nanaimo
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Greek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Large groups, Families with children, Kids, Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Courtenay, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“One of the Best”
Reviewed August 26, 2014

One of the Best Greek Restraunts since coming from Vancouver. The service is owesome, the staff are very friendly. Beautiful atmosphere and very clean. We always go there when in town. We live in Courtenay B.C.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 982yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

867 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    640
    154
    39
    18
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Luis Obispo, CA
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great Greek food”
Reviewed August 26, 2014

This Greek restaurant is located in an old house at 347 Wesley St. about a 20 min. walk from our hotel on the harbor. It was worth the walk. The ambiance was lively and thoroughly Greek. The spannikopita I had was the best I can recall.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank mriedlsp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Pretty place, great service, horrible food.”
Reviewed August 25, 2014

Yesterday evening, my wife and I stopped into this restaurant for a traditional Greek meal. We started with the kalamari and dolmades for our appetizers. The kalamari was as tough as shoe leather, it was the chewiest kalamari we have ever had. The dolmades tasted a little tired and is not prepared traditionally. We each had a few bites but couldn't stomach anymore.
The pleasant servers and the ambiance had us stay on for our roast lamb. Unfortunately, the lamb was dry and stringy with more bone then meat. Due to our disappointment with the meal we were offered drinks to make up for their poor quality food. However, we were not there for drinks, we went there to enjoy a nice meal. In short, we would never go back or recommend Asteras.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Gerry H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level Contributor
699 reviews
376 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
“Very popular good food good drinks great service”
Reviewed August 24, 2014 via mobile

Really good Greek food. Restaurant can be noisy at busy times. Definitely worth a visit. Be prepared for dinner without drinks over $20 . specials can be $25 or more

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank DEEvaluator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelowna, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Asteras was a great find”
Reviewed August 24, 2014 via mobile

We visited Asteras twice in May while we were on Vancouver Island looking at homes and could not wait to go there again when we went back to buy a house. The food and the service is excellent, we will become regulars when we relocate in November.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Trevor W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Asteras Greek Taverna also viewed

Nanaimo, Vancouver Island
 
Nanaimo, Vancouver Island
Nanaimo, Vancouver Island
 
Nanaimo, Vancouver Island
Nanaimo, Vancouver Island
 

Been to Asteras Greek Taverna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing