We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Went for our daughter's grad dinner”

Asteras Greek Taverna
Ranked #1 of 321 Restaurants in Nanaimo
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Greek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Business meetings, Families with children, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Went for our daughter's grad dinner”
Reviewed April 15, 2013

We went for our daughter's grad get together. We thought this would be a good place to visit and have some good food. We were very pleased with the experience and would go back. The owners/ hosts were very hands on and they made our experience very memorable. We would highly recommend. We also found the prices to be affordable for a nicer restaurant.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Totallyintotravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

902 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    663
    165
    41
    18
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bainbridge Island, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
649 reviews
390 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 872 helpful votes
“Canada Greek”
Reviewed April 15, 2013 via mobile

Our Buccaneer Motel host highly recommended this as one of his favorites after he was unable to name a good local seafood place. We were happy with his recommendation and probably would not have discovered this on our own. For one thing it is in an obscure location in an unusual looking house.
Once seated at our reserved table hospitality was good and an interesting menu was presented. We selected one of three combination platters, which turned out to be more than enough food for two at a little over $50. Reasonably priced wine made the whole meal deal affordable.
Service was a little disorganized at first, but got better when the proprietor took over from two less polished servers.
Our combination consisted of several Greek standards, well presented and prepared. We would not have ordered appetizers had we known the large amount of food that arrived with our order. It turned out to be too much and we should have been told not to order appetizers.
My point of reference for all Greek restaurants in North America is Chicago's Greek Town and specifically The Parthenon. It is better, but when in Nanaimo I would return here again.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Malice6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ladysmith, BC
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Above the competition”
Reviewed April 13, 2013

With high expectations we tried Asteras for dinner. Went for the grilled rack of lamb chops.
The lamb was simply the very best we've ever had. Super tender, fantastic flavour, great seasoning.

The rest of the plate was just ok with a bit of grilled root vegetables, plain white rice, small roasted potato wedge and disappointingly smaller greek salad. My medium well done lamb was well done and my partner's medium well order had a very rare chunk. We down-grade the rating from excellent due to the ordinary sides served on the plate.
We tried the garlic prawns starter from a reviewer's tip, but it was a bowl with 5 prawns surrounded by a pool of melted butter and liberal amounts of grated fresh garlic. It didn't appeal to us.

The rooms had a crowded feel even at 5:30. We learned It opened only a year ago and it's reputation has grown. Reservations best booked awhile ahead to avoid disappointment.
Service was professional and outstanding.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank diabow_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“time for an update”
Reviewed April 11, 2013

O the food was fine totally overcrowded and the tables to close togther (very uncomfortable) owner was too much involved with chatting and just being in your face.... went out to be with my wife not him... probably wont be back waitress was rude

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RJV2651
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nanaimo, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Authentic Greek”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

My goodness - it was so good, I don't know what to say. Authentic, flavourful, romantic. The food was so fresh and the servers were amazing. Thank you so much for a great evening.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank joannef116
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Asteras Greek Taverna also viewed

Nanaimo, Vancouver Island
 
Nanaimo, Vancouver Island
Nanaimo, Vancouver Island
 

Been to Asteras Greek Taverna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing