We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Uh Oh! Closed!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Maple View Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #8 of 33 Nanaimo B&B and Inns
British Columbia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Uh Oh! Closed!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2012

We had read all the great reviews in Trip Advisor and chose this place to stay for out 44th Wedding Anniversary on July 20th.
When we found the address, there was no sign or name at the gate and the place seemed deserted.
There was a note on the door for us that they were unable to accommodate guests due to a recent relocation.
What a shock!
The owner Peter had booked us into an alternate B&B, called The Copper Kettle.
We were a bit stunned that we had not been informed ahead of time but understand that the property had sold rather suddenly.
We would like to thank Peter for arranging a good alternative for us.
Perhaps we will try the not yet open new place on a future visit to Nanaimo!

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank OnAWalkabout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sunbeam2010, Owner at Maple View Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, August 6, 2012
We apologized to these guest for any inconvenience caused, unfortunately due to the booking being made through a third party we did not have any guest contact details in advance to make them aware of our relocation. We had no other way of contacting these guests, other than leaving them a letter at our previous location. We knew they would be looked after extremely well at the Cooper Kettle, but we hope that they may reconsider staying with us in the future. We are open for business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    125
    10
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
31
79
19
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Wexford, Ireland
Level Contributor
44 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2012

My wife, Catherine & I, spent two blissful nights in this oasis of peace, tranquility and beauty on Vancouver Island. Thanks Peter for looking after us so well during our recent stay (5th to 7th July 2012). Spotless room, great bed & nice big shower. Isolated, but close to Nanaimo & ferry. We hope to visit you again in the future. Frank & Catherine Keane, Wexford, Ireland

Room Tip: Our gps wasn't exact using the postcode - confirm directions before arrival
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fmkeane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2012

Although we only stayed for 1 night, we were made to feel very welcome. Peter greeted us at the door as if we had known each other for years. The room was beautiful and clean. After meeting Eeoyre and prince (the donkeys) and Robbie the horse Peter gave us a lift into town. Breakfast the following morning had everything from cereal and toast with homemade jam to pancakes or full english!! A snuggle with Kate (the puppy) and we were ready for the long trip back to Vancouver. We recommend a stay at peters if you are visiting.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank abigail_L29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leighton Buzzard
Level Contributor
92 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2012

We struck gold with this one! Perfectly presented comfortable room and bed in a lovely house tucked away from any main roads. This meant it was so beautifully quiet overnight (the best four nights sleep we'd had for ages) and a wonderful, big and freshly prepared breakfast to wake up to. I loved the idea of having breakfast cooked in front of us whilst being able to have a chat with our smashing host, Peter.

Our only wish is that Peter and Sue had set up their guesthouse in Scotland or the Lake District so we could visit much more often. Love to Kate (soppy black labrador) and our best wishes for your future plans.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Halkidiki44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, California
Level Contributor
92 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2012

My husband and I stayed 2 days at Maple View B & B in May, 2012 and cou
Don't have been more pleased! Peter was the most gracious host! The bed was über comfy, the place was spotless, and when we opted for the full English breakfast, we were not disappointed. It reminded me of our visit to England. Even the sheets on the bed were high-thread count cotton, which added to the comfort.
Maple View has a few 'pet' animals in the back yard. They are very quiet, but fun to watch and even pet. The animals all added to the charm of this beautiful B & B. Peter helped us plan the 2 days we were in Nanaimo with suggestions about day trips & restaurants. If you haven't visited Nanaimo, it's a great location to visit much of the island. We stayed at another B & B on the trip because Maple View was full, and it wasn't nearly as nice. A+++ quality!

Room Tip: I believe we stayed in one of the smaller rooms, but it was fine for 2 adults
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2012

On planning a visit to visit friends in the Parkesville area, the coincidental opportunity to reserve two nights at Mapleview was absolutely wonderful. The location and attributes provide what could be called a sanctuary. I can do litle more than sincerely support the reviews already posted, Thank you Peter. "Eh".

GeeanGee

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank George S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abbotsford, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2012

The rooms are spotlessly tidy, well designed, and comfortable. they have digital TV, a bar fridge, and a very comfortable bed... i was very impressed. the host, Peter, was charming and an interesting character, and he cooked up a fantastic breakfast. i have never eaten so much for breakfast before. i had milk with cereal, tea, orange juice, fresh strawberries, eggs, bacon, sausage, hash browns, and several rounds of toast... all cooked and served by our host Peter.
I would recommend this place to anyone... in fact when i go back to Vancouver Island, I will not want to stay anywhere else.

Only 4 complaints: 1) they did not have any shampoo in the washroom, 2) they did not have a shoe horn to help me get my shoes on (i think this has been rectified), 3) A small seat at the door would be nice to sit on as we put on our shoes, 4) the TV in The "The Cottam Suite" did not swing for comfortable viewing from ether the bed or the couch (a simple swing mount would fix this problem), however "The Roseberry Room" TV was mounted in a good position for easy viewing.

only 4 complaints from this extremely picky individual (me) is nothing, in fact i doubt any other B&B would do as well. I really Loved this place, and would like to say "Cheers" to the owners for making our stay a delightfully memorable occasion.
Thanks, Peter & Zinmar Norman.

Room Tip: read my review.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank peter n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nanaimo hotels
4.2 mi away
Coast Bastion Hotel
Coast Bastion Hotel
#1 of 19 in Nanaimo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,273 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Inn on Long Lake
The Inn on Long Lake
#2 of 19 in Nanaimo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 305 reviews
3.4 mi away
Ramada Nanaimo
Ramada Nanaimo
#5 of 19 in Nanaimo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Northgate Inn
1.1 mi away
Long Lake Waterfront B&B
2.8 mi away
Buccaneer Inn
Buccaneer Inn
#4 of 19 in Nanaimo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 332 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maple View Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maple View Bed & Breakfast

Property: Maple View Bed & Breakfast
Address: 3315 Rock City Rd | moved from 3049 Maple View Drive, Nanaimo, British Columbia V9T 1T5, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Nanaimo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 33 B&Bs / Inns in Nanaimo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Maple View Bed & Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay at one of the best places Nanaimo has to Offer! Our modern property is located on just over an acre of woodland, landscaped gardens, right in the centre of Nanaimo. Enjoy affordable luxury, elegantly & individually designed rooms furnished & equipped with facilities expected by the discerning traveler. Deluxe beds, a divine breakfast menu, impeccable service & always a warm welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Maple View Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing