We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't go anywhere else !!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Pine & Picket B&B
Ranked #1 of 34 Nanaimo B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Keerbergen, Belgium
Level Contributor
65 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Don't go anywhere else !!”
Reviewed July 27, 2009

We spent one night here in the Madagascar room. It was a wonderfull stay ! Ingvar handled the reservation smoothly via e-mail. Ania served a really EXCELLENT breakfast, is the one who decorates the rooms with much taste and is just super ! We had a boat to Vancouver to catch of not we would have stayed longer !

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelman-Tx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

272 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    257
    14
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
31
176
19
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin
Level Contributor
26 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2009

Stayed here for a night before returning to the mainland - this B&b really is in a perfect location for the ferry -just a few minutes walk. More importantly though this is a fabulous place to stay- Ania & Ingvar are excellent hosts,warm and friendly and Ania treated us to us our best breakfast in Canada while ingvar kept us entertained and even treated us to some singing. I thought the Provence room was just beautiful, very tastefully decorated with a mixture of antique furniture and modern touches and a really comfortable bed. In addition there is a balcony with table and chairs for a bit of fresh air. Although this B&b isnt in the centre of town there are quite a few nice restaurants nearby-would highly recomment the local Greek restaurant.
This was excellent value and we would definitely return.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nevertoolate75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatoon
1 review
Reviewed June 26, 2009

This was our first Bed & Breakfast experience, and it was a good one! Ania & Ingvar both provided us with a memorable experience, and treated us like royalty. From the time we booked to the time we left, we felt that we were treated with utmost respect, and all our needs were immediately taken care of. Did I mention the food? It can only be described as amazing! (I might have to come by just for breakfast sometime). Thank you both for making our 5th anniversary a special one.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sevenseeker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northumberland UK
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 6, 2009

Conveniently close to the ferry port and walking distance to the town, this B&B is an absolute delight. Each comfortable, uniquely furnished room has its own balcony to watch sunrises and sunsets from, and the hosts provide a wonderful atmosphere, both friendly and respectful of guests' privacy and independence. And we are not kidding when we say the breakfasts are the best! Fresh fruit, eggs benedict, delicious bacon and sausages, Vietnamese coffees and teas---they are enough to set you up for the rest of your day. We can't recommend this place highly enough: it's worth a trip for its own sake!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlanDaneet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2009

We stayed only one night, off season. We found the B & B in a brochure on the ferry crossing and phoned them on our cell to reserve the night. The off-season price was excellent, and they were most accommodating. The conversation at the breakfast table was wonderful -- stories, directions, tips -- and if we go again, wouldn't mind staying there again.

  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank zacandynadia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 3, 2008

We stopped in Nanaimo, BC on our way to Tofino, BC. for a short vacation.
We had the good fortune to stay at a wonderful B&B called The Pine and Picket. The location was a short distance from the ferry terminal so was quite easy to get to.
We arrived late in the afternoon and were greeted by the owners Ania and Ingvar. They could not have been more welcoming. We felt , "at home" immediately as our hosts chatted with us and showed us around. Ingvar had us laughing with his sense of humor and easy manner. They have worked hard to make the property a wonderful oasis of "home away from home."
The B&B is immaculate, warm and inviting. We were shown upstairs to our room and found it to be tastefully decorated with a very comfortable bed. (that's one "B")
We were given a recommendation for a restaurant across the road and walked there. Dinner was low key, with friendly staff and a good meal.
Ania asked what time we would like breakfast and what we would like to eat. Ania is a classically trained chef, and her breakfast was simply outstanding! The fresh made scones were out of this world. Pair the scones with home made quince jam and you have a lovely start to the day!! We also had eggs benedict, fresh fruit, fresh brewed coffee and freshly squeezed orange juice. Everything was amazing! (that's the 2nd "B").
To be honest, most B&B's fall short in so many ways. The Pine and Picket not only measured up...but exceeded our expectations in every way.
Thank you Ania and Ingvar.
Betsy and Jim B.

  • Stayed September 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BBfromChicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
1 review
Reviewed December 3, 2008

I stayed for only one night; and whilst it can sometimes be a challenge to feel settled for such a short period, Ania did a great job of making this easy. The room was comfortable and well appointed with a supremely comfortable bed, attractive furnishings and good bathroom. The breakfast is amazing and Ania's scones are superb. The ideal B&B host, Ania has some fascinating stories and is most welcoming. I was travelling on my own, so appreciated her balance between conversation and privacy.

  • Liked — Clean, comfortable
  • Stayed November 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Enthusiastic1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nanaimo hotels
1.7 mi away
Coast Bastion Hotel
Coast Bastion Hotel
#1 of 19 in Nanaimo
1,347 reviews
3.7 mi away
The Inn on Long Lake
The Inn on Long Lake
#3 of 19 in Nanaimo
316 reviews
0.9 mi away
Ramada Nanaimo
Ramada Nanaimo
#5 of 19 in Nanaimo
293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Best Western Dorchester Hotel
2.9 mi away
Days Inn - Nanaimo
Days Inn - Nanaimo
#8 of 19 in Nanaimo
485 reviews
0.3 mi away
Buccaneer Inn
Buccaneer Inn
#4 of 19 in Nanaimo
339 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Pine & Picket B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pine & Picket B&B

Property: The Pine & Picket B&B
Address: 511 Drake St, Nanaimo, British Columbia V9S 2S8, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Nanaimo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 34 B&Bs / Inns in Nanaimo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A short walk from the Nanaimo ferry terminal with incredible views of Departure Bay & Newcastle Channel. 2 beautifully appointed rooms with private ensuite bathrooms, sundecks overlooking the waterfront, close to kayak rentals, seaplanes; one of your hosts is a French Chef! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire so you can book your The Pine & Picket B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Pine & Picket Hotel Nanaimo
The Pine & Picket Bed And Breakfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing