We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Home Away From Home”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Pine & Picket B&B
Ranked #1 of 34 Nanaimo B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 12, 2014

My boyfriend and myself decided to go away just to get out of town for a couple of days and we decided to stay at the Pine and Picket. We had no idea what to expect and what we were getting ourselves into, until we stayed here. When we arrived we were greeted by Ania and shown around her place. We got to meet Ginger her puppy who was adorable and we also had a chance to briefly meet Ingvar.

The next morning Ania made us her famous Eggs Benedict (which was amazing!) and then the next day we had her French waffles with a banana and strawberry topping. Let me just say that this food is just spectacular and Ania is such a geniune lady. We shared stories and she helped us with looking for places to hike around the city. To sum things up we had a really great experience with her and we really appreciated everything! The place had a great view of the ocean and we had everything we needed and it was just an overall great experience for a couple in a town they know not much about :)

Thank you very much!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Providence Room which faced the ocean which had a great view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dugaro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (283)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

130 - 136 of 283 reviews

Reviewed January 4, 2014

After a full day of whale watching in Nanaimo, we arrived at the Pine & Picket about 8pm tired, starving and in need of a shower. We were greeted by Ania and Ingvar and immediately felt relaxed; not only did they welcome us into their home, our room was prepared to a fantastic standard. We were given directions (and a discount coupon) to the local restaurant (5 mins drive) and after we had consumed a mouth watering steak, we slump into our comfortable bed for a peaceful night's sleep.

Next morning we were awakened by the smell of freshly baked scones and Vietnamese coffee. One reason alone to stay at this B&B is for the Breakfast. Ania, a professional chef, prepared what I can only describe as the best Eggs Benedict I have ever had. Topped off by homemade jams, fresh fruit salad and of course the scones, it was just a dream. We were only in Nanaimo for one night and coming back to this B&B is definitely a must if I ever return to Vancouver Island.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rebecca B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2013

My wife and I stayed 2 nights at The Pine & Picket in September 2013. A good place if you want a home away from home with wonderful hosts. Ingvar and Ania are very welcoming and they ensure that you have a comfortable stay. They serve a wonderful breakfast - we said we would be back just for the breakfast. But all other aspects of the BB were just as wonderful with great attention to detail. Thank you Ingvar and Ania.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ansarinz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2013

Ania and Ingvar and extremely personable and welcome you into their homes as they would family. Their ability to cater to our whims goes beyond what would be expected. My husband & I have visited several times over the years to scuba dive in Nanaimo. The location of this B&B is just perfect, close to the ferry and to the marina where we meet the boats for diving. Ania's breakfasts are culinary masterpieces and fortify us for a day of cold water immersion. Ingvar, an ex-diver, accommodates us with a place to hang and rinse gear, when necessary. The rooms are clean, the mattresses are insanely comfortable and all amenities are provided. Try the Pine and Picket, you won't be disappointed!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roberta K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2013

The Pine and Picket is a must for any visitor to Vancouver Island. After 5 minutes in the Pine and Picket you feel right at home - only its better! The attention to detail from the quality of the mattress down to the presentation of every breakfast is exceptional. Ania's cooking is fantastic. I am a pescatarian and she concoted all manner of wonderful things for me which never felt like any trouble. The location is ideal for local buses and the walk into downtown Nanaimo long the waterfront is stunning. The rooms themselves are bright, airy and very comfortable. By far the best thing about the Pine and Picket, however, are the hosts themselves who are wonderfully sociable, interesting and caring people, who can take your stay from exceptional to unforgettable for all the right reasons!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rinn0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2013

The lovely Pine & Picket made our stay in Nanaimo to a funny, culinary excellent, and very comfortable one. In the Madagaskar room we had more than everything you need - from bodylotion to dvd's - everything. Everything was clean and created with so much love. Ania and Ingvar are such lovely characters. Ania, a french chef, we fell under her cuisine-spell. She even considers your allergies or intolerances in her cooking. Everything is homemade and fresh and the fruits from their garden. And Ingvar serenaded us when we arrived :-) . Both are very welcoming and helpful as well as they give you the privacy you need.
We rate the Pine & Picket to the best B&B we've ever been to!

Thank you Ania and Ingvar for the great stay in your house!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ayame_and_Simon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2013

The location of the Pine and Picket is perfect being just a minute from the departure bay ferry terminal in one direction and a stroll along the excellent waterfront into downtown Nanaimo in the other.

Ania and Ingvar are really outgoing people and obviously enjoy having people stay in their home. We had some great conversations during the three days we spent with them.and were also privileged to taste some of Ingvar's Elderberry wine. This doesn't actually taste like homemade wine but tastes like something a sommelier might recommend, mmmmm. Not to be outdone though Ania sent us away with a bottle of her very nice and very potent raspberry port, mmmmm.

Thanks to both of you for an enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Raingod9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nanaimo hotels
1.7 mi away
Coast Bastion Hotel
Coast Bastion Hotel
#1 of 18 in Nanaimo
1,522 reviews
3.7 mi away
The Inn on Long Lake
The Inn on Long Lake
#3 of 18 in Nanaimo
340 reviews
3.0 mi away
Days Inn - Nanaimo
Days Inn - Nanaimo
#8 of 18 in Nanaimo
548 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Nanaimo Ocean View B&B
Nanaimo Ocean View B&B
#5 of 34 in Nanaimo
40 reviews
3.4 mi away
Long Lake Waterfront B&B
2.6 mi away
Maple View Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Pine & Picket B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pine & Picket B&B

Address: 511 Drake St, Nanaimo, British Columbia V9S 2S8, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Nanaimo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 34 B&Bs / Inns in Nanaimo
Price Range: $78 - $98 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A short walk from the Nanaimo ferry terminal with incredible views of Departure Bay & Newcastle Channel. 2 beautifully appointed rooms with private ensuite bathrooms, sundecks overlooking the waterfront, close to kayak rentals, seaplanes; one of your hosts is a French Chef! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire so you can book your The Pine & Picket B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Pine & Picket Bed And Breakfast
The Pine & Picket Hotel Nanaimo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing