We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Pine & Picket B&B
Ranked #1 of 33 Nanaimo B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
ontario
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2013

we had a very pleasant stay in the Provence room at the Pine and Picket. Very comfortable bed, room and bathroom.unfortunately we could not take advantage of our balcony because of the rain
Our very friendly host Ania, served homemade scones and the best eggs Benedict, all beautifully garnished with flowers and herbs from her garden, for breakfast. Would definitely recommend

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank canadellie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

265 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    250
    14
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
30
170
19
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2013

What terrific luck to have been able to stay at the Pine and Picket for my first trip to this gorgeous island! I spent three luxurious nights at this most perfect of B&Bs. Where to even start? As so many have already commented, Ania's spectacular breakfasts are worth the visit ALONE, and her and Ingvar's hospitality is second to none. Their extensive fruit and herb garden inspires and graces all of Ania's exquisite and hearty breakfasts. The beautifully appointed Provence room with a private balcony and bay view, and the lightly trickling water fountain in the garden below is so fresh and restorative... you will feel spoiled from all other B&Bs once you stay here! It is so worth spending more than one night if possible, and being sure to go over to the nearby cars-free breathtaking Newcastle Island by "pickle boat" for an afternoon (among the great tips Ingvar and Ania shared with me), will really make your visit to Nanaimo complete. I cannot wait to go back and plan my trip around staying with them again!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lauren W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2013

That was the comment from my husband after our one night stay with the charming and hospitable Anya and Ingvar. From the home-made scones, served with home-grown fruits and preserves to the light and delicious egg benedict, it was a very special meal!
It was minutes from the ferry terminal, comfortable and spotlessly clean, quiet and relaxing. What more could we ask? A lovely experience for our first night on Canadian soil!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mel1st
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redmond, Oregon
Level Contributor
86 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2013

We spent two nights at the Pine and Picket during our 35th anniversary trip to Vancouver Island. Ania and Ingvar are delightful hosts. Ingvar breaks into song at any time and he's GOOD! Ania is a certified French chef. After one of her AMAZING gourmet breakfasts, you'll not need lunch.
We stayed in the Provence Suite. A charming room with a balcony. The bathroom had top of the line towels.
Our room overlooked Departure Bay. The weather was wonderful and we kept the door to the balcony open at night.
Make sure to visit the garden. When we were there, Ingvar had harvested several gallons of grapes. They use the vegetables, fruits and herbs from the garden.
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. What a treasure.

Room Tip: There are two rooms. The larger room, Madagascar, overlooks the garden. The Provence Suite overl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lorri W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neubiberg, Germany
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2013

The B&B is located near the marina. It is a lovely house.
The room (Provence Suite) was really cozy with an own balkony! It was very clean!
The breakfast was delicious!
Really nice and welcoming hosts!

We would stay there again!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nici166
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

We had a wonderful stay. The room was quiet and quaint. We were graciously greeted by Ania and made very comfortable. The breakfast was absolutely wonderful! Ania went to great lengths to accommodate our dairy and gluten intolerances. She made wonderful Belgium waffles complete with pure syrup and warm bananas that are indescribably they were so good. We had wonderful conversation with Ingavar and the other guests staying at the time. Thank you for a wonderful stay!

Room Tip: The Provence room has a beautiful balcony!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kaylarai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for one night before departing on a sail trip. We arrived by ferry on foot and easily walked the short distance to the B & B. Ingvar was a very gracious host, offering us a glass of his homemade wine while we were relaxing on the sundeck and even an ace bandage for a sore knee. when he learned that we didn't have a car, without hesitation he gave me his car keys and directions for sightseeing at the main harbor and places to eat. Ania made us a great breakfast with eggs benedict, scones, and fruit.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tony D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nanaimo hotels
1.7 mi away
Coast Bastion Hotel
Coast Bastion Hotel
#1 of 19 in Nanaimo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,276 reviews
3.7 mi away
The Inn on Long Lake
The Inn on Long Lake
#2 of 19 in Nanaimo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 305 reviews
0.9 mi away
Ramada Nanaimo
Ramada Nanaimo
#5 of 19 in Nanaimo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN  Dorchester Hotel
2.9 mi away
Days Inn - Nanaimo
Days Inn - Nanaimo
#8 of 19 in Nanaimo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 468 reviews
0.3 mi away
Buccaneer Inn
Buccaneer Inn
#4 of 19 in Nanaimo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 332 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Pine & Picket B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pine & Picket B&B

Property: The Pine & Picket B&B
Address: 511 Drake St, Nanaimo, British Columbia V9S 2S8, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Nanaimo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 33 B&Bs / Inns in Nanaimo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A short walk from the Nanaimo ferry terminal with incredible views of Departure Bay & Newcastle Channel. 2 beautifully appointed rooms with private ensuite bathrooms, sundecks overlooking the waterfront, close to kayak rentals, seaplanes; one of your hosts is a French Chef! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Pine & Picket B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Pine & Picket Bed And Breakfast
The Pine & Picket Hotel Nanaimo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing