We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Place to Stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Pine & Picket B&B

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Pine & Picket B&B
Ranked #1 of 32 Nanaimo B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Kamloops, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Place to Stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2013

We stayed just one night but everything met and exceeded our expectations.
The hosts were excellent, the Breakfast was amazing, the yard was beautiful,The room was large and there was a sundeck and common room to share with the other guests, the location was close to shopping and to the ocean and to the ferry terminal. We will be staying there again.
Thank you Ingvar and Ania

Harold J Y

Room Tip: The Madagascar room faces the back yard the and has a air conditioner there was lots of hot water a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HaroldYoung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

263 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    248
    14
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
29
170
19
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol
Level Contributor
41 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2013

Ania and Ingvar were perfect hosts who made you feel like good friends. Super rooms and lovely breakfasts and Michael even enjoyed a taste of homemade wine one evening. The guest lounge was perfect with balcony and views over departure Bay. Location was great and within walking distance to harbour. Would love to return to this fantastic B & B.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BarbaraLA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2013

My friends and I stayed in the Madagascar room for one night. The room was so comfortable and clean and the view from the room was their lovely backyard.
The Pine & Pickett is the best B&B I've ever stayed. Ania and Ingvar are so welcoming and friendly. We loved their hospitality, especially Ania's homemade breakfast and a chat with Ingvar.
We will defenetely recommend The Pine & Pickett to my friends!

Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank SayaM55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2013

We only stayed one night during our visit from Australia in July 2013 but we were delighted with the welcome and excellent service we received from Ingvar and Ania. This was clearly the best of the B&B's we stayed at in Canada. Our every need was met and the quality and presentation of the eggs benedict breakfast was outstanding. Perfectly located for travellers on the ferry back to Vancouver. Highly recommended. John B

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hollywood, Maryland
Level Contributor
65 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2013

As you drive up you may not be impressed but meet your hosts and see the amazing remodeling of this home and then have a breakfast that would meet a kings palate and you will have a different opinion. Ingmar and Ania are wonderful hosts who make you feel at home. Ania makes the most amazing breakfast creations from her experience as a French Chef. Two rooms with queen beds are very comfortable, not large but well done.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2013

It's difficult to know where to start in describing the wonderful stay at the Pine and Picket. My husband, son and I stayed for three nights in July 2013. The breakfasts were amazing. Delicious coffee. Fab scones and quince jelly Our favourite was the eggs benny. Yum! We had great sleeps in the comfy beds. Lovely bed linens. We enjoyed the decor of the rooms and the guest lounge. Every need was met. Ania and Ingvar were welcoming and gracious hosts. Lovely and warm people to visit with. We enjoyed the tour of the gardens. Beautiful! We can hardly wait to return. We'll need a eggs benny fix soon.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Charmaine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2013

My wife and 6-year-old daughter stayed with me at the Pine & Picket for three days in July 2013 during a road trip to Vancouver Island. This was the best accommodation of all the places we stayed at during our 2-week vacation! It is located on a quiet residential street away from the crowds. Ania and Ingvar were the most gracious B&B hosts we have ever met. I don't usually eat breakfast in the mornings but Ania's breakfasts were irresistible. The coffee, imported from Vietnam, was very good. The beds were very comfortable and an extra cot was supplied for our 6-year-old. I especially liked the Asian-themed living room which was shared between the two rooms upstairs. It is located on a residential street away from the tourist crowds in Nanaimo. And I even got to sample a glass of Ingvar's home made wine which helped me get to sleep real fast after a long day!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bananaboyCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nanaimo hotels
1.7 mi away
Coast Bastion Hotel
Coast Bastion Hotel
#1 of 19 in Nanaimo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,238 reviews
3.7 mi away
The Inn on Long Lake
The Inn on Long Lake
#2 of 19 in Nanaimo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 302 reviews
0.9 mi away
Ramada Nanaimo
Ramada Nanaimo
#5 of 19 in Nanaimo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN  Dorchester Hotel
3.0 mi away
Days Inn - Nanaimo
Days Inn - Nanaimo
#7 of 19 in Nanaimo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 459 reviews
0.3 mi away
Buccaneer Inn
Buccaneer Inn
#3 of 19 in Nanaimo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Pine & Picket B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pine & Picket B&B

Property: The Pine & Picket B&B
Address: 511 Drake St, Nanaimo, British Columbia V9S 2S8, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Nanaimo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 32 B&Bs / Inns in Nanaimo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A short walk from the Nanaimo ferry terminal with incredible views of Departure Bay & Newcastle Channel. 2 beautifully appointed rooms with private ensuite bathrooms, sundecks overlooking the waterfront, close to kayak rentals, seaplanes; one of your hosts is a French Chef! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Pine & Picket Bed And Breakfast
The Pine & Picket Hotel Nanaimo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing