We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always a good stay.”
Review of Ramada Nanaimo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ramada Nanaimo
Ranked #5 of 18 Hotels in Nanaimo
Write a Review

297 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    83
    140
    52
    18
    4
See reviews for
91
70
10
87
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Powell River
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2014

We have stayed in this hotel many times over the years and the experience is consistently a good one. The room we request now that we know it so well, is on the back of the hotel on the 4th floor, with a balcony - a lot quieter than the rooms facing the street, which we appreciate since we like to sleep with the window open. The room we normally ask for has two queen beds and lots of room. The balcony isn't huge, but there is room for a couple of chairs and a small table. Just right for a couple to sit and get some fresh air after a long day...........perhaps sipping a glass of wine. Good rates, great staff and a pretty good free breakfast too. Egg omelette with cheese, sausage patties, make it yourself waffles, if you like those and pretty much everything that you would expect in a Continental Breakfast as well......muffins, bagels, toast, fruit, juice and lots of coffee! There is no swimming pool in this hotel, but I believe there is an exercise room (haven't ever used it, but I do think it is on the first floor) There are a few items on the downside - the elevator is slow (but at least there is one!), the beds still have the brown thin blankets and slippery bed spreads and of course, the normal small bath towels that every hotel seems to have, no matter where you stay. On the plus side, the rooms are always clean and the beds are comfy. It is on a main road and thus is close to everything - there are a few good restaurants nearby (a few within walking distance) and we have always had a good stay here.

Room Tip: the rooms on the back side are quieter than the ones on the street side and we like the ones with th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PRNana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abbotsford, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2014

We didn't expect much and were pleased to discover it is very clean, nice fixtures, good breakfast, quiet area of town. Absolutely no complaints. Nothing fancy but large rooms with 2 arm chairs and a proper desk.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelbugBC2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nanaimo
1 review
Reviewed April 25, 2014

good. I travel for Business and always stay there. Only complaint is the lighting in the bathroom.. Seizure inducing.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Ramada

Helpful?
Thank Chuck S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Courtenay, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2014

We had a pleasant experience at this hotel .Rooms are clean and service at front desk is pleasant .they are willing to accommodate you with the room requests and even upgrade you if they are not busy . They don't have any great views as such but it's a decent place for a good night sleep .
Free parking makes you happy after you have traveled from Victoria where most places you stay charge you additional fee on parking .

Room Tip: Ask for rooms facing the front office side !
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Makkansutra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatoon, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2014 via mobile

This was my first visit to this hotel. The employees were very helpful and willing to provide dinner suggestions. The room was in very good condition. I used the meeting room for a work function which was a very good size and the employees were very helpful with room set up. Will for sure use again if ever back this way.

Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Laura C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cypress, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
207 reviews
141 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 246 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2014

The Ramada Nanaimo hotel is a very clean, comfortable, modern hotel at the northern edge of the commercial centre of Nanaimo. As a choice for a comfortable modern hotel with good sized rooms at modest prices, I would suggest this hotel would be hard to beat.

However, I have to "ding" this rating by one point because when we checked in, the HDMI cable between the cable box and the TV was disconnected. Is it too much to ask for the housekeeping crew to test lights / connections after each guest check out? It should not require numerous times flipping through a complicated remote control menu and checking cables in and out just to watch TV. If hotel management reads this and thinks I am being unfair, all I can say is after twelve hours on the road, to have to do this so my wife and I can watch the Olympics, well, I think you deserve the rating....

The breakfast buffet was OK, but I could not find any tea.

The foam pillows were quite hard.

All hotel staff we interacted with were friendly and helpful. I give this location high marks for that.
If you are relying on Google Maps to direct you to this hotel, good luck. The hotel is on the SOUTHWEST corner of the intersection of Terminal Ave and Rosehill Street. Terminal Avenue appears as Island Highway on Google Maps, as well.

Room Tip: Our room (319) faced Terminal Avenue. While some road noise was noticeable, it was not a major prob...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jbtexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nanaimo hotels
0.8 mi away
Coast Bastion Hotel
Coast Bastion Hotel
#1 of 18 in Nanaimo
1,417 reviews
0.7 mi away
Best Western Dorchester Hotel
5.9 mi away
Best Western Northgate Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
The Inn on Long Lake
The Inn on Long Lake
#3 of 18 in Nanaimo
327 reviews
2.1 mi away
Days Inn - Nanaimo
Days Inn - Nanaimo
#8 of 18 in Nanaimo
500 reviews
0.4 mi away
Howard Johnson Hotel - Nanaimo Harbourside
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramada Nanaimo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Nanaimo

Property: Ramada Nanaimo
Address: 315 Rosehill St, Nanaimo, British Columbia V9S 1E3, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Nanaimo
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Nanaimo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Ramada Nanaimo 2.5*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ramada Nanaimo is the newest Hotel in the City of Nanaimo, Construction was finished in early 2008. Free continental Breakfast, Fitness Center, Business Center, and many other amenities. We are located in the heart of downtown Nanaimo. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Ramada Nanaimo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Nanaimo Hotel Nanaimo
Nanaimo Ramada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing