We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Hotel in Nanaimo”
Review of Ramada Nanaimo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ramada Nanaimo
Ranked #5 of 18 Hotels in Nanaimo
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Great Value, Great Staff, Great Location. I truly appreciate how the staff goes out of their way to ensure your staff is the best. The staff truely take pride in the Ramada brand.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Ramada
Thank Kevin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (310)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

263 - 269 of 310 reviews

Reviewed September 17, 2012

The hotel is well located and easy to find. Employees at the front desk are very professional and helpful. The first impression is of a clean quiet hotel. We had a seniors' rate, which made the room, more affordable. Big room with 2 queen size beds, lots of pillows clean washroom, good showerhead, new shower curtain. Room has a mini fridge, coffee/tea/a safe for valuables and free WiFi. Continental breakfast is included and starts at 6:00 am. I would definitely stay there again. The only thing I notices was the lack of wine glasses. The hotel only provides cardboard disposable cups. Too bad because when you want a glass of wine it does not taste the same in a cardboard glass.

Room Tip: Up on the 4th floor away from the elevators is where we were located but the hotel is very quiet in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BelleOrchidee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2012

My friends and I had a decent stay at this Ramada. The staff was very friendly and helpful. For a hotel in a small town, this one is not bad at all. The only complaint I had was the smell around that area in Nanaimo. The smell was generated from a pulp and paper factory nearby. There wasn’t anything the hotel could do about it. It wasn’t their fault.

After reading some postings on Trip Advisor, we were very careful about our belongings and did not leave any items in the car. There was no issue.

Location was good. There were a lot of restaurants nearby and it’s a short drive from the Duke Point ferry terminal.

Breakfast was good. It had good coffee.

I would stay there again if I go back.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lennoxzenon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2012

This is the second time I have stayed at this particular Ramada Inn in Nanaimo. It's a quiet place, with generously sized rooms. I was comfortable until my shower in the morning. No hot water.....NOT impressed. Upon check out, I mentioned this to the front desk clerk. She asked me if I had called down to front desk to report...hmmm not an easy thing to do while in shower. I did not even receive a "sorry" or "we'll look into this". I must also note that I had the same problem last time I stayed here. I won't be staying again.

Room Tip: If you value a hot shower, don't stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank darentsen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2012

After booking a block of rooms for a wedding and choosing to spend our money at this particular Ramada, a number of things went horribly wrong:
-Rooms were not ready by the time the wedding party needed
-Front desk staff had obviously bad attitudes toward our group from the moment of arrival
-Cribs requested ended up in the wrong rooms and were not set-up (nor were there offers to assist with setting up)
-When asking for assistance with a freezer to store food that needed to be frozen, we were denied use of the hotel's fridge and not offered a freezer/fridge room combo
-No phone books available but no directory assistance help from staff either
-Breakfast was 'sold out,' by 9am and there was no coffee available for 40 minutes while staff ate their breakfasts
-Vending machine was out of order without a sign in place and guests had to go to the front desk for a refund, no offer of bringing the money to the rooms.
I have never experienced such terrible customer service in my life. I will not stay at a Ramada again.

Room Tip: The Howard Johnson down the street would be a better option.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank OttawaIluka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2012

Just stayed two nights during a busy weekend on Vancouver island. Making reservations was easy and they fulfilled all my room requests. Check in was a breeze and I always appreciate friendly front desk staff and they were absolutely pleasent. The rooms are large and very clean, with a fridge and seperate bar sink which was handy. In room coffee, safe and temperature control. Very good beds and linens. Breakfast was great - there are apples and mandarin oranges, cook yourself waffles, yogurt, eggs and sausage. Good coffee. Overall a well managed facility and I would recommend staying there over any of the other hotels I saw in Nanaimo.

Room Tip: Overlooking back parking lot has a moutain view and these rooms would be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TurkeyVisit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2012

Agree with all the other recent reviews. Hotel seems well managed, rooms clean and fresh. "Continental Breakfast" bit of a misnomer: there was hot food on the two mornings we were there ("sausage patties" and "scrambled egg patties") plenty of carbs, cereals, etc. but no fresh fruit. Wouldn't many, if not most, travelers today prefer fresh fruit rather than the egg and sausage choices? Other than that, a good choice. Great laundry room by the way: just off the lobby they have two washers and two dryers; soap available from the front desk. Also - hotel staff informed our party that there is a walking trail along the water that takes you to downtown. We didn't try it, but a nice option to know about in good weather.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank susanmassachusetts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nanaimo hotels
0.8 mi away
Coast Bastion Hotel
Coast Bastion Hotel
#2 of 18 in Nanaimo
1,588 reviews
5.9 mi away
Best Western Northgate Inn
0.7 mi away
Best Western Dorchester Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
The Inn on Long Lake
The Inn on Long Lake
#3 of 18 in Nanaimo
346 reviews
2.1 mi away
Days Inn - Nanaimo
Days Inn - Nanaimo
#8 of 18 in Nanaimo
573 reviews
4.4 mi away
The Grand Hotel Nanaimo
The Grand Hotel Nanaimo
#12 of 18 in Nanaimo
182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramada Nanaimo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Nanaimo

Address: 315 Rosehill St, Nanaimo, British Columbia V9S 1E3, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Nanaimo
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Nanaimo
Price Range: $121 - $152 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Ramada Nanaimo 2.5*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ramada Nanaimo is the newest Hotel in the City of Nanaimo, Construction was finished in early 2008. Free continental Breakfast, Fitness Center, Business Center, and many other amenities. We are located in the heart of downtown Nanaimo. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Ramada Nanaimo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Nanaimo Hotel Nanaimo
Nanaimo Ramada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing