We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfort Food for Prairie Folk”

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Imperial Banquet Restaurant
Ranked #369 of 618 Restaurants in Kelowna
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Delivery, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Rutland
Kelowna, Canada
Level Contributor
99 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
“Comfort Food for Prairie Folk”
Reviewed September 15, 2012

It was like going back into a time warp entering this restaurant. We decided to try and find it based on some of the online reviews we read on the internet. Since moving to Kelowna, we've been desperate to find some good Chinese food. What we found here was pretty decent, but it wasn't what I expected. Instead, I was immediately taken back to my upbringing on the Canadian prairies. The menu was circa 1979 central Alberta Chinese food. My parents would have loved the almond chicken and the cantonese chow mein. It even comes complete with a knife and fork (no chopsticks were seen or offered). While not comparable to Vancouver's choices today, the nostalgia felt good, and I left satisfied and happy. It's not the kind of restaurant you go to for the decor, but the prices are good and the food is tasty. Parking is in the back of the restaurant. The clientele seemed to be a mix of senior citizens, students, and harried parents looking for take out.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank OgopogoGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    20
    4
    4
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Langley, British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
46 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Decent Chinese food”
Reviewed September 6, 2012

Living in the lower mainland we have become spoiled when it come to Asain cuisine, and up until this weekend every time we have had Chinese food in the Okanagan it has been fairly terrible. We were pleasantly surprised. The food was fresh, hot and the flavours were good. A few of the dishes were a bit soupy for my tastes but none the less decent. I would eat here again

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jen_M604
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Destin, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
29 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“REALLY Delicious Chinese”
Reviewed August 13, 2012

Imperial Banquet is by far my favorite chinese takeout place in the world. It's pricey but order the dinner for two and it'll feed the two of you for days! The chow mein is phenomenal and the ginger beef is out of this world. For chinese takeout lovers, this will be your new favorite.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sydney B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banff, Canada
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The best Chinese food we've ever had!!”
Reviewed August 8, 2012

We decided to go out for Chinese food one night on our recent family vacation to Kelowna. After some online sleuthing, we decided to try Imperial Banquet because of its high rating and great reviews. We were not disappointed, as the food proved to be fantastic!

Since we really like Chinese food, my growing family of five opted for the dinner for six, nicely priced at $69.95. We are accustomed to having enough food if we order a bit extra, as our experience at other Chinese restaurants have proven to be a bit wanting for portion size. We were simply blown away by not only the quality of the food, but the quantity of it as well! Our dinner for six came with won ton soup, spring rolls, and special fried rice, and for the entrees we selected ginger beef, sweet & sour pork, sweet & sour chicken balls, lemon chicken, beef & broccoli, and chicken chow mein.

Everything was incredibly delicious and bountiful! The plates were heaping, and every dish was fresh and savory. The won ton soup was rich and tasty, the best I have ever had. The sauces for most of the items were served on the side, which allowed for the taste of the dishes to really stand out. The special fried rice proved to be two large plates, handily more than needed considering the rest of the feast. We ate SO much because it was so good, and even still we took enough home for dinner the following night.

This family run business does a really good job on the service end of things too. We enjoyed our time chatting with the two ladies looking after the front, while they kept on top of a steady stream of take out orders as well. The only area that could be improved is the decor, since it is dated and a bit sparse. However, no one eats the decorations! If we are back in Kelowna we will make the effort to visit Imperial Banquet again.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank pooba3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelowna, Canada
Level Contributor
149 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“good food”
Reviewed July 30, 2012

restaurant needs a cleaning and a makeover but food some of the best chineese in kelowna pleasant staff

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank mayablossomprince
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Imperial Banquet Restaurant also viewed

Kelowna, Okanagan Valley
 
Kelowna, Okanagan Valley
Kelowna, Okanagan Valley
 
Kelowna, Okanagan Valley
Kelowna, Okanagan Valley
 

Been to Imperial Banquet Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing