We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Never eating there again”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Mama Panda - CLOSED

Mama Panda
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating
Neighborhood: Central City
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Never eating there again”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2013

You pay the lunch price what you usually pay for the dinner. They had a huge salad bar and breakfast bar. If you go to lunch, you dont want breakfast anymore. The lunch buffet was only 2-3 meat and one noodles and one rice one veggie. You have to pay before you eat ( which is ok) but they dont tell you where to sit and where the drinks are. By the time we where done eating we found the drinking station in the corner. You have only 2hours then you need to leave. Over all didnt like it at all.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank ReginaWarkentin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

45 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3
    7
    6
    6
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kelowna, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Asian?”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2013

very disapointing. Although i should have known considering its very rare to find good food at a chinesse buffet. they have a lot of north american food like fries and chicken fingers. even though you pay like 15 bucks for all you can eat you would be better off getting a real meal someplace else.

Helpful?
Thank Gemard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AMLKelowna, Manager at Mama Panda, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Hello Gemard,

I understand that you were not satisfied during your last visit with us. Just for clarification, we actually offer Western and Chinese cuisine, that is why you saw chicken fingers as part of our selection. If you came to visit us at dinner time, we would have served other items such as roast beef, ham, ribs, shrimp, and mussels. If you decide to come visit again,you are more than welcome to come talk to me if you still feel that our items do not justify our pricing.


Sincerely,

Mama Panda Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelowna, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Reviewing the reviews....and the place.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2013

Judging from some of the reviews....Wow..! there`s some high -class diners rubbing shoulders with this working stiff...lol...Eat there OFTEN... for years... never had a bad meal! Great variety for a family buffet . from pasta , ribs, beef chicken to fresh veggies and Oriental menu....If you`re hungry and don`t need violins at ur table -- Mamas` the best bang for my dining dollar! Glad I didn`t see the reviews before I experienced the place....May have missed out on a really good place for a working guy...

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank marvin j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelowna, Canada
Level Contributor
63 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Terrible and not very fresh”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2013

They may have a large spread for a buffet, but the food is not fresh, and you can do far better in Kelowna for a buffet.. Actually was sick after eating here, and have never went back. Avoid it, go elsewhere.. plenty of options abound. I sincerely the owners read this review and change how they operate, as it is a large buffet... its a shame really

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Laura A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AMLKelowna, Manager at Mama Panda, responded to this review, January 27, 2013
Hello Laura,

I understand that you did not have a good experience with us during your last visit. May I ask why you chose to give us a review now when you visited in August? We do have new managers now including myself and we have made a lot of changes. Come on over and give us another try. If you are disappointed, ask for Karen or Sam. We will be more than happy to sit down with you and find out what we can do to improve your experience.


Sincerely,

Mama Panda Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
82 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Sunday buffet much better !”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2012

This time we went on Sunday, because our daughter had a cold and really wanted to go to Mama Panda's. We thought she will be happy and we just stick around! But we were positively surprised. It was the Sunday Brunch buffet. For a little more money we had a great selection even Turkey! We left the place satisfied. The place looked cleaner and organized. Well, Mama Panda team, that the way to go!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Foodlover052
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AMLKelowna, Manager at Mama Panda, responded to this review, January 27, 2013
Dear Foodlover052,

We really appreicate the fact that our hard work is recognized! And by the way, if you like our Sunday Brunch, come on by on Tuesday or Thursday. On Tuesday and Thursdays we have fish and chips and I bet we have the best ones in town. Hope to see you soon!

Sincerely,

Mama Panda Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mama Panda also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing