We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“worst Chinese buffet EVER!!” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mama Panda - CLOSED

Mama Panda
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating
Neighborhood: Central City
Vernon, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“worst Chinese buffet EVER!!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2012

We arrived at the restaurant at 5:45 - right in the middle of dinner one would think. there were a number of other patrons so we gave it a try- how bad could it be after all?? It was nasty! The food was dried out and, although there was steam coming up from the warmers, the food was cold. I saw one of the cooks come out and add water to the curried rice to keep it from drying out and the roast beef looked like jerky. At the end of our meal, I looked over and saw one of the staff stir the curried rice and then dump some into her hand and eat it! All of this for the low cost of $16/person!!! what a joke - I was surprised that no one ended up ill from this. YUCK!!

  • Visited July 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank bcjade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

45 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3
    7
    6
    6
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Port Alberni, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“dirty - overcooked and overpriced”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2012

This was the BIGGEST waste of money. 9 years ago, this was a great family resteraunt. The bathroom was so dirty I couldn't use it. The sopa dispenser wasn't even attached to the wall. Food was GROSS and my kids were all hungry when we left

  • Visited June 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank reviewsbykay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Overcooked, overpriced and under serviced”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2012

Extremely disappointing meal. A waste of $17.95! There was a limited choice of Chinese food items and what there was, was over cooked and dry. It was as though it had been reheated--serveral times over. I should have known to expect nothing great since I had to clean the table myself because the waitress wasn't going to do it. Steer clear of this place!!

  • Visited June 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Finley56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Good Value”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2012

good variety for your money.Buffet style and clean

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Crystal B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Kelowna, Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“has all kinds of food but got a gut ache”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2012

cleanliness was not good food was overcooked and sitting out too long...different prices for different ages..Just off the hwy in Kelowna and not open late

Helpful?
Thank K S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mama Panda also viewed

Kelowna, Okanagan Valley
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing