We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Breakfast”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Grand Bay Cafe - CLOSED

The Grand Bay Cafe
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Central City
Description: The Grand Bay Cafe offers the perfect setting for breakfast, lunch or dinner, and our fabulous Sunday Buffet Brunch. An abundance of menu choices are available in a casual yet scenic setting. Delight in the view of the lagoon and Waterfronk Park while you enjoy your meal.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Breakfast”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 21, 2013

Food was good, though a bit pricey. Service is hit and miss. Some servers are super nice but sometime I'll get one who just surly and miserable.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jyt822
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

63 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    21
    10
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Kamloops
Level Contributor
47 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Good view and average food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2013

The seating of two by the windows feels cramped, but try for a larger table.
Service was very good. The waitress was knowledgable and helped us with the dinner selection. The dinner did not give us any wow factor, but tasted average. Next time in Kelowna we will try another restaurant for dinner.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Zarako
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oliver, British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
34 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Continental Buffet was great”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2013

Continental Buffet was FABULOUS, everything was fresh and lots of selection. Bottomless coffee or tea and they put the coffee carafe right on the table so you can take what you like. Nice Bonus.. Take out cups left on the table so you can take one with you!!!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Karren F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good food, pleasant service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2013

We had dinner with relatives at the cafe, sat by the window with a lovely view towards the lake. The food was very good and special attention was paid to my niece who has a very severe peanut allergy (yes she carries an epi pen). However, the service was very slow and we had to remind one of the staff cause we seemed to have a few, that after 1 hour we were still wondering about our meals, which came quickly after that. Luckily we had lots to talk about so good conversation and good wine kept us occupied till the meals arrived. All in all a good evening.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Victoriatraveller01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatoon, Canada
Level Contributor
127 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“View enhances experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2013

Sitting by the window overlooking poolside and the lake, one can't help but relax. The beautiful lobby invites you into the generous decor of beautiful heavy wood. We visited over a lunch break, and expediency was important to us. Somehow, however, we did not feel rushed. The soup was an East Indian spice-infused pureed vegetable, accompanied by light, airy puffed crackers - ever so welcoming on an overcast and somewhat chilly Fall day. The cup of tea perfectly timed, and the service provided with care and attention to detail, without being interruptive. Lovely! I do look very much forward to my next visit; this time as a guest in the hotel!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank msfirefly007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Grand Bay Cafe also viewed

Kelowna, Okanagan Valley
West Kelowna, Okanagan Valley
 
Kelowna, Okanagan Valley
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing