We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“True family business”

Little Hobo Soup & Sandwich Shop
Ranked #1 of 634 Restaurants in Kelowna
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $12
Cuisines: Delicatessen
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Description: Comfort food at comfortable prices! Soup and Sandwich Shop
Alabama
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“True family business”
Reviewed June 19, 2014 via mobile

We got sandwiches to go at 9 AM for a picnic later in the day. Although they hadn't finished cooking an actual turkey for the turkey sandwiches, we were able to find tasty substitutes. The owner couple, Steve & Crystal introduced themselves and gave out family a laundry list of fun activities we could do in town. The cheddar biscuits were super tasty and the banana bread "treat" for our kids was still warm & so delicious. The day's fresh soups were cooking and the aroma was drool-worthy. It's lovely to see nice, friendly, hard working people put out quality food and be rewarded for it so warmly. They have loyal customers in town as well as visitors, and the loyalty is hard earned. Wish there were more places like this.

Helpful?
1 Thank ALspicemom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LittleHoboKelowna_BC, Owner at Little Hobo Soup & Sandwich Shop, responded to this review, June 27, 2014
Thank you soo much for coming and visiting our little shop! It's was great to meet you and your hubby ... as well as the boys!! We appreciate the review...glad you liked the eats! When kids come in they get a treat off the bakers rack. Hope to see you in again sometime... although Alabama is a long ways away. Safe travels and we hope you enjoyed Victoria :) Crystal & Steve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

469 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    389
    64
    11
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Kelowna
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Home cooking at its best!”
Reviewed June 16, 2014 via mobile

Don't be deceived by the outside of this restaurant. There is a reason the hobo is number 1 on tripadvisor. Crystal and Steve do an amazing job. The food is simple and simply delicious. If you're looking for a simple tasty breakfast or lunch, you really need to try this place.

Helpful?
Thank Ecentric
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LittleHoboKelowna_BC, Owner at Little Hobo Soup & Sandwich Shop, responded to this review, June 27, 2014
Thanks for your review on Trip Advisor... we appreciate all feedback!! We try to cook what we know... nothing to fancy... just what our kids grew up on :) Thanks for being a regular... love it when you bring the family into see us! Crystal & Steve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Simple and Incredible”
Reviewed June 16, 2014

Little Hobo does what so many places (especially chain restaurants trying to pass off as "fine dining") forget to do: put love into your food and cook what you know.

Everything on the menu is simple, but done right. The sandwiches are enormous, the soups are incredible and the chilli is sweet, spicy and savory.

The husband and wife owner/operators are friendly and make a genuine effort to get to know all their regulars. Their love for their food and customers is reflected in their interactions and warm flavors. This is a definite once a week for me place.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BigDingo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LittleHoboKelowna_BC, Owner at Little Hobo Soup & Sandwich Shop, responded to this review, June 27, 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor!!! We love what we do every single day and really enjoy every person we meet at the Hobo! Thanks for being a regular :) Steve does a great job with the Chili ... sweet with a lil heat he calls it! We appreciate you ... thanks for being a regular at our lil mom and pop shop. Crystal and Steve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penticton, British Columbia, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“The Best”
Reviewed June 13, 2014

Took my visiting nephew, who is a picky eater, here for lunch. Loved the Meatloaf Burger. Awesome!!! Have never had a bad meal here. Always stop in when in Kelowna. Friendly, fantastic food, like stopping in to visit your best friend.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ken M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LittleHoboKelowna_BC, Owner at Little Hobo Soup & Sandwich Shop, responded to this review, June 27, 2014
Thanks for coming into the Hobo and for submitting your review!! We really appreciate it! I am glad your nephew got a chance to come in and enjoy the Meatloaf Burger... we do that one up every so often on our " Whatever Wednesday" The day where Steve and I have no set menu specials and just cook whatever we feel like! Thanks so much for your second review!! Crystal :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Very friendly little restaurant”
Reviewed May 23, 2014 via mobile

We really enjoyed our lunch here. The borscht was incredible (I want more ) and the portions were huge. The staff were incredibly friendly and actually introduce themselves to you and seem to genuinely care about their customers.

Helpful?
2 Thank AC-Vancouver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LittleHoboKelowna_BC, Owner at Little Hobo Soup & Sandwich Shop, responded to this review, May 25, 2014
Thanks for coming into our shop and submitting a review on trip advisor :) I am glad you liked the Borscht... thank you very much! We make two kinds of Borscht at the Hobo. Tuesdays we make a classic Red Beet Borscht and Fridays we make a Doukhobor Borscht... and of course many other soups through out the week! Steve and I feel as though our customers are like our family... and want them to feel at home when they come in for a visit. Looking forward to seeing you again soon!
This summer we have decided to open Saturdays: JULY AND AUGUST we are going to be open from 11am to 3pm for lunch!!! Hope to see you at the Hobo!! Thanks again... Crystal :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Little Hobo Soup & Sandwich Shop also viewed

 
Kelowna, Okanagan Valley
 

Been to Little Hobo Soup & Sandwich Shop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing