We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good but really slow”

De Dutch Pannekoek House
Reserve with OpenTable
De Dutch Pannekoek House is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #119 of 622 Restaurants in Kelowna
Price range: $10 - $16
Cuisines: European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Neighborhood: Central City
Calgary Alberta
Level Contributor
33 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“good but really slow”
Reviewed May 27, 2013

food was great but we had to wait 50mins after placing our order which is very slow for a breakfast place. We were not in a hurry but taking 1.5 hours may be too long for some.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank austic403
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    35
    17
    8
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Kelowna, Canada
Level Contributor
245 reviews
190 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“It's Denny's Meet's Germany”
Reviewed January 27, 2013

If your thinking about coming here for the first time let me tell you a little more about De Dutch. This is a very popular place to come for breakfast but they serve breakfast all day so you can enjoy breakfast when you want to. Best time to come is after 1 pm when its quieter. The place is small and when they get busy they can get line ups right out to the door so if you come during the hours of 10-12 you can guarantee you will be waiting. The staff are pretty good but if you have seen the so called "negative reviews" service does slow down during busy times. But when you do come in they have great coffee, friendly staff and a nice take on breakfast/lunch with German flair. Pannekoek (still cant say this word correctly) is their version of a pancake which is thin but has nice topping on it. If eggs are your thing then try their eggs benedict as they are popular. I myself really enjoy their German burgers and their Tostie which is their version of grilled cheese except they have really nice fixings in it like ham and pineapple or their brie, blueberry and onion. If you come with kids they will love the Tosties. The decor is a mix of German villa meets Denny's and they do offer free WIFI. They only open for breakfast and lunch but no dinner but like I mentioned before come after 1 pm and you will be guaranteed faster service and you may even get a seat close by the fireplace. Hope this helps.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank M0rec0ffeeplz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Golden, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“So Yummy!”
Reviewed November 12, 2012

This is definitely the best breakfast we (My husband and I) have had in Kelowna. Usually we opt for something like Denny’s or even a McDonald’s or Tim Horton’s breakfast sandwich when we are travelling. We have family who live right down the street and recommended this place for breakfast; we were surprised at how delicious it is! We didn't have high expectations upon arriving... the poor waitress was dealing with a customer who was absolutely a nightmare. She was crying when she came to our table but was as sweet and efficient as can be! (Which can be really hard after being verbally abused on a personal level while at work.)

We can’t wait to go back!

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GirlintheLBD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
198 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Great breakfast”
Reviewed October 6, 2012

This is a step up from the dennys type option for breakfast. Better service and better food. You have to wait a little longer to get your food but it is worth it

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank jbarbs8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelowna
1 review
“De dutch....de licious”
Reviewed October 2, 2012

I went to de dutch for the first time and it was amazing! The food presentation was amazing and the food was cooked just right and in the right amount of time. Most places let there food cook under the heat lamps, but not at de dutch on gordon dr. A must go for breakfast!

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bob S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed De Dutch Pannekoek House also viewed

Kelowna, Okanagan Valley
Kelowna, Okanagan Valley
 
Kelowna, Okanagan Valley
 
Kelowna, Okanagan Valley
Kelowna, Okanagan Valley
 

Been to De Dutch Pannekoek House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing