We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Finally a local gastro pub in Kelowna”
Review of Smack DAB

Smack DAB
Reserve with OpenTable
Smack DAB is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #25 of 618 Restaurants in Kelowna
Price range: $14 - $34
Cuisines: American, Bar, Canadian, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Scenic view, Families with children, Special occasions, Kids, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Brunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: South Pandosy - K.L.O.
Cross street: Lakeshore & Cook
Description: Smack DAB is a lively kitchen and bar located in the heart of Manteo Resort on the shores of Okanagan Lake. Open daily for buffet breakfast, lunch, dinner and late-night snacks. Smack DAB is as perfect for a quick beer after work as it is for an amazing dinner on Kelowna’s largest lakeside patio. Smack DAB, offers premium casual dining. Sit in a booth and watch our Smack DAB chefs prepare your favorite item from our forno oven & open concept kitchen area. The room is designed to take full advantage of the incredible lake views from the restaurant and bar, private dining room, and outdoor patio. Large folding glass doors allow for an open-air environment in the summer months. We are equally serious about our suds as we are about our food. We offer Kelowna’s largest selection of craft beer.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Finally a local gastro pub in Kelowna”
Reviewed March 27, 2013

We heard the Wild Apple had changed into a beer focused gastro pub and were very excited to try it out. Best thing we did all week!!! It was nice to see the diversity of local beers available from Salmon Arms to Oliver and Victoria to Fernie. I also read comments that the beer was expensive. They are the only pub in town to serve a real pint of 20 oz, hence why it was 9$ for a pint. Other places charge 6.50$ for a 16 oz of Canadian...so really do the math. The food was very simple food but executed perfectly. We had the pesto chicken pizza and it was quite tasty and the blistering crust gave an awesome first impression. The staff were very knowledgable about their product and explained their concept in details which was very "community oriented" and interesting.
In a whole this is mine and my wife's new favorite place in the Mission and are looking forward to the upcoming lakeside patio.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jonathan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManteoResort, Director of Sales at Smack DAB, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Dear Guest!

So glad to read your review and see that you are happy that something new has been introduced in Kelowna. We are super excited to bring a mix of wonderful craft beers & still offer a selection of Okanagan Wines and also provide Crazy Good Food! We hope to see you again soon!

Kind Regards,
Dana Crichton, Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

470 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    160
    147
    105
    39
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kelowna
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A breath of fresh air!”
Reviewed March 26, 2013

I was very excited to try the new Smack DAB at Manteo Resort when it opened and I was not disappointed. Amazing selection of beers on tap. I opted for a flight of five beers so I could try some new ones and find out what I liked. The Russell "Black Death" was my favourite.
Everyone I was with enjoyed the music and atmosphere and the servers were great! We all enjoyed the new relaxed atmosphere with the same great view. Each person tried a different item off the menu and we were all blown away. It was hard to choose just one thing to each cuz everything looks so yummy. My favourite was the Crispy Chicken Sandwich. We all ended up trying eachother's meals and everyone was impressed. We all will definitely be coming back for some more of those Crazy Fries! Especially when the patio opens for the summer! The sign for Smack DAB is true....it's crazy good food!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TenaciousM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManteoResort, Director of Sales at Smack DAB, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your review of the new Smack DAB and letting us know your favourite craft beer. We offer 12 craft beer on tap & then also have another 20 by the bottle - the selection will be rotating based on what is popular and what new blends the breweries come up with! We hope to see you again soon!

Kind Regards,
Dana Crichton, Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelowna, British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Not a good experience”
Reviewed March 23, 2013

We were totally excited to try Smack Dab. Wow what a disappointment. $9.00 for a pint of craft beer that you can get anywhere was a total disappointment. Way too expensive. The menu was extremely limited. Took awhile to decide what to eat and then was very disappointed. Tomato soup and mini grill cheese... Very sad. The soup tasted like Campbell's soup. The grill cheese was so small and had no taste. Four of us had dinner and none of us liked it and would return. We loved the Wild Apple grill and are ver disappointed with the replacement. Unless some serious changes are made this will not survive in Kelowna. Very over priced and not worth it.
We will not being returning.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Christina Marie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManteoResort, Director of Sales at Smack DAB, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Dear Guest,

I am sorry to hear that you were disappointed with your meal & drinks at the restaurant. I can assure you that the soup is not out of a can and is in fact, made fresh daily by our very talented culinary team. Our pints of beer are 20 oz's, where most other restaurants & pubs offer 16 oz's - the prices we offer for a sleeve, a pint, a flight sampler or a growler are all very competitively priced. We hope that you will come back to try us out again.

Kind Regards,
Dana Crichton, Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelowna, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“unfortunately completes the triangle of mediocrity on cook and lakeshore”
Reviewed March 23, 2013

Me and a friend went a few days ago, expecting a nice refreshing change from the wild apple restaurant of a few months earlier.. Walking in to Smack Dab, my first thought was, " do all of these nouveau-upscale-trendy Kelowna restaurants hire the same person to design them??" Average reno at best. Chopped wrong, and space used inefficiently.. in my opinion of course.
Now on to the food. Well first the beer. Well it is true that they have a good (not great) diversity of regional ales, holy hophead batman, they are expensive! $9 for a draft beer.. outrageous... That should be a $6.50 beer.
Ok, now on to the food. In fairness, we can only attest to the onion soup, as my friend had that.. I hope its not an indication of the rest of the menu. The bowl of onion soup was also $9. Seems to be a magical price at Smack Dab. The size of the $9 cup of soup was puny. The soup was about the quality of , you know the liptons onion soup in the package that you just add water and boil?? Yeah, that quality..
Whoever put together the business plan of this restaurant, obviously has never done it, or at least successfully, before..
The server was pleasant and attentive.. That was the good news...

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank geekelowna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManteoResort, Director of Sales at Smack DAB, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review of the restaurant. We opened our doors on March 18th and are super excited to be able to offer something unique to Kelowna - overall response has not been that we are like everyone else. We have so much more that is different from the other restaurants in Kelowna.

Food & drinks are priced fairly & competitively to what is offered elsewhere. Our pints are 20oz whereas most other restaurants/pubs provide 16 oz's. We offer sleeves, pints, flights (5 x 3 oz samples) and 60oz growlers - there is something for everyone within the selection of 12 x taps and 20 bottles - some of which are not offered anywhere else in Kelowna.

We do hope you will try us again and explore the menu a bit further. Pizza, sandwiches and classic entrees are other items on our Crazy Good Menu!

Kind Regards,
Dana Crichton, Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelowna, Canada
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Unimaginative”
Reviewed March 22, 2013

Smack Dab has so much potential. The location is fantastic, the decor is great, and the menu looks okay. The craft beer menu is phenomenal and has a fantastic selection. That's where the positives end.

I went last night with a few friends, and we ordered an assortment of dishes. No one at my table was impressed. Everything was underseasoned, overpriced, and lukewarm. The highlight of the meal was the "crazy" fries, which weren't really crazy at all - and were stale the first time we got them. The tomato soup tasted like Campbell's. The portion sizes were tiny.

The service was terrible. Our server disappeared for long periods of time, and forgot two drinks. When we had to send our fries back to get fresh ones she didn't apologize or anything, and had a very rude tone of voice when she brought out fresh ones.

Terrible experience overall, I won't be returning.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Jade A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManteoResort, Director of Sales at Smack DAB, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for posting your review of the newly opened Smack DAB and letting us know of your experience. The food & service that you experienced does not sound like what we are trying to offer. Please try us again - I hope that your experience was due to our opening week & that your next experience is better. As you mentioned, we do have a great menu, phenomenal selection of beer and a view & patio that is like nothing else that Kelowna has to offer. We hope to see you again.

Kind Regards,
Dana Crichton, Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Smack DAB also viewed

Kelowna, Okanagan Valley
Kelowna, Okanagan Valley
 
Kelowna, Okanagan Valley
 

Been to Smack DAB? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing