We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little bit of Paris”
Review of Bouchons Bistro

Bouchons Bistro
Ranked #2 of 634 Restaurants in Kelowna
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $17 - $30
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Neighborhood: Central City
Description: French comfort food served in casual elegant European surroundings. Bouchons is opened every Sunday for the brunch.
Calgary
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A little bit of Paris”
Reviewed August 5, 2013

If you are in the mode for great meal and want to be swept away to the bistros of Paris, you must visit bouchon. The food was unbelievable. I love rabbit and was thrilled to see it on the menu. It was one of the best dish I had. There are other items that will please the not so daring. The wife had steak and raved about it as well.

The ambient was good. The tables can be close and if you get seated by a loud mouth, it can spoil the mode if it is romance you are looking for. Our waiter spoke french which was a nice touch since my wife is french. The wine list was very good and complemented the food. Good variety of French wines from different regions.

The prices are on the high end but inline with the quality of the food and other restaurants in the area, e.g. Quails Gate.

We would go back again!!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Canadian1Dave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

725 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    547
    119
    39
    17
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Kelowna, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“when not in Paris, you go here...”
Reviewed August 4, 2013

Bistro is a favourite of my Husband and I.
The parisian bistro feel with the somelier in their white long apron and the decor set the stage and ambiance for your repas.
whether you choose the table d'hote or a la carte, you will be enjoying a faboulus meal. we have enjoyed the rabbit, the bouillabaise and cassoulet. the wine list was extensive and price are for all budgets. service is attentive and food was excellent.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Francine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Level 6 Contributor
71 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“The Best as usual”
Reviewed August 1, 2013

This is our 3 rd visit of Bouchons Bistro for last 3 years. Just perfect! Appetizers, Duck and Rack of Lamb - super!
Service is excellent!
Parking is available on the street and free.
Highly recommend this place for Kelowna visitors.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Artemon1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brandon, Manitoba, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Be Advised”
Reviewed July 31, 2013

Just want to let you know the food is good, but very pricey. I suppose that can be expected, but they don't really explain the costs if you decide to do substitutions. Also if you are just having a coke, know that each glass is $2.95, I had 4 cokes and was a little surprised that it was $11.80, if I had known that I would have just had water after my first one because the glass was very small (not even an entire can). The meal portions are very small, that is to be expected in a very fancy restaurant, just make sure you are clear on what they are charging you for. Food was good. Waiters were professional and friendly.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Tyler H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
462cuisine462, Owner at Bouchons Bistro, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
It is strange that the complaint we get most often is that our portions are too big.As for the coke issue, we're not a Mac Donald with free refills! High quality ingredients are costly so, i would not trust quality food with a cheap price tag.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Mcmurray
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent food and service!”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our evening seated outside this lovely little bistro! The food was wonderful and the waiters were experienced and friendly. We all tried different meals and decided that the duck and veal were probably the best! Our teenage daughter was as impressed!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TaniaFortMcMurray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bouchons Bistro also viewed

 
West Kelowna, Okanagan Valley
 

Been to Bouchons Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing