We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never again!”
Review of Salt & Brick

Salt & Brick
Reserve a Table
Sat, 4/20
8:00 PM
2
Ranked #18 of 699 Restaurants in Kelowna
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Description: A delicious combination share plates & wine sourced across the Okanagan Valley. Come & enjoy what's fresh & in season
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

We (six adults and a 3 year-old) went there for supper recently). We had a reservation and were promptly seated. There appeared to be only one preparer behing the kitchen counter, and one server for the entire premises. The menu offerings were small dishes, sort of a take-off on tapas-style dining, and our impression was that they were pricey offerings for what they were (eg. $9.33 for a small bowl of mac & cheese with a few broken Cheesies on top as a garnish - for the 3 year old). The price range for our chosen small plate offerings ran between $8.67 and $$16.67 a dish! (as an example their version of a Japa Dog was over $11.00!) When one of us inadvertently sampled a dish with sriracha in it, resulting in a burning mouth, we asked for a glass of milk (to quell the burn) and were told the restaurant didn't have milk! To the point, although some of the small creations were interesting, none of us left feeling particularly well-fed, but we did feel "well-charged". Rather poor value for money.

Date of visit: March 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Danylo46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (265)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

9 - 13 of 265 reviews

Reviewed March 11, 2019 via mobile

Absolutely loved the Salted Brick before the chef apparently got bored and the attention to detail just tanked. The last meal we had was barely edible and so we sadly stopped going.

Fast forward to the Salt & Brick, renovated, new chef and an amazing menu!! The wife and I decided to give it a try and we were so glad we came back. The food was delicious and innovative and the restaurant got very busy as our meal progressed.

Wait staff was amazing, shout out to Sam our waitress, great food, good times! !

Waffle cone with sweet potatoes, chorizo and sour cherries, melon with Japanese seasonings and I cant remember..similar to larb moo with jasmine rice.

Date of visit: March 2019
Thank bourbonstjoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2019 via mobile

Came up from Vancouver for the weekend, best food we have had in a long time. The server was also amazing, very helpful and cheery. They also change the menu daily, thinking of going back tomorrow!
Unreal food.

Date of visit: March 2019
Thank Natasha M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2019

We were from out of town, and at a bit of a loss when it came to their menu. However, the staff were very helpful and recommended several dishes for us, which were delicious, and went very well together. Overall, we had a great dining experience here, and would recommend it to anyone visiting Kelowna.

Date of visit: January 2019
Review collected in partnership with this restaurant
Thank FelisD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2019 via mobile

First time dining here late on a Friday night. I was glad they were open as the options after the theatre were slim. The appetizer menu was interesting and fresh making it difficult to decide what to have. Everything was tasty and had a creative spin that I wouldn’t have thought to pull together. The tuna was amazing, so much so that I came back the next night hoping to have it again but they were not open. I will definitely put it on my list to try again for after events appetizers or sweets.

Date of visit: February 2019
Thank msc_travel2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Salt & Brick also viewed

 
Kelowna, Okanagan Valley
Kelowna, Okanagan Valley
 

Been to Salt & Brick? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing