We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Crap! (and a waste of time and money)”

Okanagan Lavender Herb Farm
Ranked #18 of 129 things to do in Kelowna
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Whether it's a stroll through our gardens, sitting at our aromatherapy counter, engaging with staff or opening one of our mail order boxes, it's all about an earthly experience. It's the heightened sense that the ground under your feet, the tea in your cup or the toner on your face are rooted in nature. Handmade, not processed. Tended passionately to evoke calm and o heal mind, body and spirit. Farm open May - December, mail order year round.
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Stairs / elevator, Stroller parking, Wheelchair access
Calgary, Canada
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Crap! (and a waste of time and money)”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2010

Not worth it at all. Right at the entrance you are charged $5 to enter "the farm" -- a desert-like place with not much to do; you can walk through the place slowly in 5 minutes tops. Nothing else to add really, do not waste your time, rather go to the goat cheese farm in Kelowna...

Helpful?
2 Thank Yuriy123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DaveOkanaganLavender, Owner at Okanagan Lavender Herb Farm, responded to this review, February 21, 2011
Dear Yuriy123,
It is true that our gardens have been designed as a xeriscape landscape within a farm operation which also strives to grow drought tolerant herbs and perennials. The landscape architect designed the gardens to be informally linked by meandering pathways to provide visitors with places for reflection and vistas. The gardens require a full-time employee to keep them maintained and that does require us to charge an admission fee, without it we would not be able to accommodate visitors. The farm's main focus is to educate people about lavender, other herbs and how others might design and implement a drought tolerant landscape in a visually pleasing manner.
While it would be unrealistic to assume that everyone is interested in the style of gardening we present, we do apologize that our staff were unable to assist you in finding something of interest for you whilst you were visiting.
Sincerely,
David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    63
    59
    31
    7
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“NOT WORTH IT AT ALL!!!! DON'T WASTE YOUR TIME”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2009

I took my 65 an over parents and they were more than disappointed. The $3 self guided tour was equipped with walking 200 meters and reading paragraphs upon paragraphs of different lavender descriptions. Most of which was riddled with 'big words' even I (Master's Degree with a 4.0) couldn't even pronounce.

If you want to buy the lavender, it is expensive. You might as well just go to a local store (Shopper's Drug Mart) and buy some.

Check out the website if you want to bake some lavender lemon loaf (originally posted in the National Post).

Helpful?
3 Thank gogetter222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DaveOkanaganLavender, Owner at Okanagan Lavender Herb Farm, responded to this review, February 21, 2011
Dear Gogetter222,
When visiting our farm you are correct that we identify our plants with their botanical names, followed by the local common name. Common names on plants vary from nursery to nursery and region to region. By providing the correct botanical classification, we are able to assist our customers looking to purchase or source particular plants when they return home as plants listed this way are easily traceable.
In our 2010 garden expansion we incorporated many looping pathways to create shorter distances for those people wanting to walk but who might find lengthy walks difficult. The pathways are grass and gravel and benches are situated near umbrellas to give people some respite from the afternoon heat.
The products at the farm are quite likely more expensive than those you might find at other stores, as everything is made on-site from lavender and herbs produced here. The oils we purchase to blend into our products include organic or sustainably produced products as well as a Fair Trade Shea Nut Butter. It is true that you do pay a premium to incorporate these natural oils, but we firmly believe the superiority of the product well worth it when you compare it to goods made with petroleum based products.
I am sorry you and your parents did not find your visit to be pleasurable, but I am pleased that you enjoyed my Lavender and Lemon Cake recipe that was published in the National Post, it was a pleasure to serve it to Bonnie Stern when she visited the farm.
Sincerely,
Andrea
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lavender experience well worth the visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2008

Hot dry Okanagan heat, majestic vistas through vineyards to the lake, fragrant warm air, an artist's canvass on the land of blues, greys, greens ...and yes, the ultimate indulgence on a hot day.... the lavender ice cream.... What a remarkable way to spend an afternoon strolling and reading and learning all about the healing and aesthetic benefits of lavender. Tours of the garden are either hosted or self-guided depending on visitor preference. I've done both and can honestly say it's an deal place to be quiet and reflect, and it's a fabulous opportunity learn about farming and the history of the area. The lavender farm itself is intimate, it's intelligent, and it’s creative, inspiring and soothing. The garden art is funky - the angel is my favorite and she belongs there in this rural piece of heaven reminiscent of simpler days. The McFadden family, who are the farmers, are as welcoming as the landscape and their connection to the land is genuine and rich in family history. The McFadden children also work there and it's obvious that this is not a hardship for any of them. They are exceptionally well mannered and at ease with sharing their abundant knowledge. I loved the cabin store - the French minimalist whitewash finishing made me want to go home and redecorate. I came away with cookie recopies with lavender sugar, lavender skin freshener, lavender cream and body scrub that is to die for - all made on site using distilled lavender oil. It's quite an amazing process to watch and the smell is divine!
This $5.00 experience is without a doubt the best buy in the Okanagan. This was my third visit and there is always something new. Check out their website [--]

Helpful?
2 Thank KarenVictoria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DaveOkanaganLavender, Owner at Okanagan Lavender Herb Farm, responded to this review, February 21, 2011
Dear Karen,
Thank you very much for letting us know you enjoyed your visit to our farm; it is always a pleasure to share our love of farming and creating with our customers. We hope you might come again and see how the farm has expanded its gardens to allow us to increase the number of oils and floral waters we are able to distil.
Sincerely,
Andrea
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yoho National Park, Canada
Level Contributor
38 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2008

The web site promised us: "We invite you to stroll through fragrant lavender fields overlooking a breathtaking view of vineyards, orchards and pristine Okanagan Lake."

So we drove all the way from Penticton only to find a lavender 'patch'. Yes, there were many types of lavender on display, and it did overlook a fabulous vineyard, but the size of the farm/field/patch definitely not worth the $5.00 entrance fee.

Even the tiny country store was disappointing, offering a limited number of products.

If you happen to be in the area, have a peek from the parking lot first before you decide to pay the $5.00 to get in. What you see is what you get.

Helpful?
5 Thank LDG-BC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DaveOkanaganLavender, Owner at Okanagan Lavender Herb Farm, responded to this review, February 21, 2011
Dear LDG-Vancouver,
When our farm was originally replanted in 1998 we grew wine grapes and lavender in three different locations; two on this property and one at my sister's farm. Only one of the lavender fields was open to the public due to the location of the others.
With the encouragement of many of our customers wanting more herbs we again replanted in 2010. Today our vineyard is gone completely, replaced with more lavender, perennials, culinary herbs and xeriscape gardens. Our tiny country cottage store has been replaced by a new retail space and commercial kitchen for creating our products that we make on site.
Although we strive to keep all of our products on our shelves, it is definitely a challenge being a vertically integrated farm that grows, produces and sells all of its goods as there are times when we must wait for something to be harvested, dried or distilled before an item can be produced.
Sincerely,
David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Okanagan Lavender Herb Farm also viewed

Kelowna, Okanagan Valley
Kelowna, Okanagan Valley
 
Kelowna, Okanagan Valley
Kelowna, Okanagan Valley
 

Been to Okanagan Lavender Herb Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing