We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Howard Johnson Kelowna” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Howard Johnson Kelowna

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Howard Johnson Kelowna
Ranked #30 of 34 Hotels in Kelowna
Keremeos, British Columbia
1 review
“Howard Johnson Kelowna”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2014

We stay at Howard Johnson, Kelowna whenever we travel. The hotel is close to the Kelowna airport and to major shopping areas. Dave, is an excellent host and will wait up for us if returning late from the airport and he always greets his guests with a genuine smile and friendly demeanor. Breakfast is always good, fresh fruit, assortment of cereals, hot waffels and coffee. Although the hotel is older, the room updates are very well done leaving a clean fresh appearance to the rooms. We have recommended Dave and Howard Johnson to our friends.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Helpful?
Thank Peggy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

317 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    78
    84
    54
    48
See reviews for
97
88
40
46
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
56 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2014

Room 51, When I walked into the room I was amazed thinking this was the equivalent of a higher class of hotel. Around the king bed was all new wood furniture. The desk is a usable size with power outlets nearby. The bed is comfortable. The hotel needs better sound insulation as traffic noise is very noticeable, and noise from other rooms comes through as well. The room is on the second floor with an inside corridor and across from the door at the top of the stairs. When that door closes, it shakes the room door. The included breakfast is very good, but starting at 7:30 it is late if you have somewhere to be.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelingGlenn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Coquitlam, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2014

My daughter had a Basketball Tournament in Kelowna over the weekend and I reserved 13 rooms for 2 girl’s BB teams including coaches and a few parents in the HoJo Kelowna Hotel for 2 nights and 3 days. When the Manager was asked about restaurants close by and within walking distance he claimed that there were several restaurants nearby within walking distance. This was the first mistake (more about this later)!
When we got there it took us 50 minutes to check in and we ended up being checked in last. We checked in late around 9:00pm after the girls played their first game. When we were checking in I told the lady (we thought it was the daughter) at the front desk that we would prepay for the room and leave no deposit. The lady said we don’t do that and I said yes you do! I travel for my job and I stay in hotels from BC to Manitoba so I know what hotels accept. I book this way all the time as I do not have a credit card. My wife pre-books using her credit card & when I arrive I prepay. Anyway I told her we will not use the phones for outgoing calls nor will we be using any movies channels so she can shut them off so we don’t have any additional charges. In the end she said that she had to call the manager and then processed our payment. That was the second mistake!
Back to the first mistake, once we finished checking in, we discovered that the only restaurant that was nearby and down the road within walking distance was the A&W Restaurant with a Starbuck’s right beside each other. Most of the team walked down and discovered that the A&W was actually closed! Luckily one of the coaches asked to speak with the A&W Manager there and we were able to order food as needed and spent over $200 in the fast food restaurant. At least some Manager knew something but it sure wasn't the Hotel Manager!
Anyway we were not happy that we were told by the Hotel Manager that there was lots of restaurant within walking distance.

Room Tip: Choose a room that is near a restaurant if you want to sit down to eat.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Roger W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Kelowna hotels

Yellowknife, NT
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 24, 2013

Not bad but not great. The room was clean but there was lots of traffic noise from Hwy 97. My bed was very firm bed to the point of being spartan. It's an old building with some renos, which has probably kept the pricing at the lower end of the scale. But for about the same cost, you can do better.

Room Tip: Get as far from the highway as you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LBommer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kelowna hotels
Days Inn Kelowna
#23 of 34 in Kelowna
3.5 of 5 bubbles 310 reviews
Super 8 Kelowna BC
#11 of 34 in Kelowna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 695 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central City
Accent Inn Kelowna
Accent Inn Kelowna
#9 of 34 in Kelowna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 345 reviews
South Pandosy - K.L.O.
The Charles M Suites
The Charles M Suites
#22 of 34 in Kelowna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2 reviews
Central City
Kelowna Inn & Suites
Kelowna Inn & Suites
#17 of 34 in Kelowna
3.5 of 5 bubbles 285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Kelowna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Kelowna

Property: Howard Johnson Kelowna
Address: 2639 Highway 97 N, Kelowna, British Columbia V1X 4J6, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Okanagan Valley > Kelowna
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 34 Hotels in Kelowna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Kelowna 2*
Number of rooms: 43
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Howard Johnson Kelowna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Kelowna Hotel Kelowna
Howard Johnson Kelowna Okanagan Valley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing