We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average at best”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Howard Johnson Kelowna
Ranked #31 of 34 Hotels in Kelowna
Lloydminster, Canada
Level Contributor
51 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Average at best”
Reviewed August 23, 2012

We booked a room for one night and when we went into the room it was recently renovated with laminated floors and new tiles in bathroom and countertop. Very clean but the air conditioner wasn't working properly. So we were moved to another room. Room had basics and moderately furnished.
The breakfast room is small but has cold cereal, toast, bagels, waffles, coffee, and juice. Plenty for us, but was a busy room. The breakfast room wasn't open until 7:30am. would have been nice if it was open at 7am for the early risers and travellers that want to get on the road. Also the guy that was making waffles had to check us out. Overall it was an all right stay for one night.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bordercity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

321 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    78
    86
    54
    50
See reviews for
99
90
40
46
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Edson, Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
92 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2012

we booked this place blindly on hotwire.com knowing it was a 2-star hotel. it certainly isn't more than that. it is old and run down. certain reviews say they've done reno's, but our room had only a renovated bathroom. it was small but nice. the rest of the room was decorated 80's style and just old looking, but clean. the hallway smelled stongly of old men's cologne. the complimentary breakfast wasn't worth eating - some dried bread and cereal. hotel prices are high in kelowna but i think we paid too much for the quality of the hotel

Room Tip: ask for a renovated room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicole M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Kelowna hotels

Calgary
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2012

we arrived quite late thursday night from Calgary. We were greated warmly and were given our room key. We entered our room and were plesantly surprised. We were greated by a clean and inviting room. We had a king sized bed, which worked out great for us as my self, my husband and my daughter were able to share the bed no problem; no need to use her playpen. The room had a fridge and a microwave. We did use the fridge for my daughters milk and froze water bottles for our cooler. The bathroom was clean and the sink was in the main room which was nice as we were there for a wedding and I was able to do my hair/make up while my husband was showering. The a/c worked amazing and we were cooled down in now time. The bed was comfy enough. We had breakfast on our second and third day and the waffles were amazing! In reading previous reviews, the free waffles is what helped me to book here. When we arrived at 9:30 am there was no juice in the main container but we recieved some from a staff member. Free whipped cream and fresh fruit would definatley make the waffles, but I understand that this is a "free" breakfast. Overall, we had a great trip and would both stay again and would recommend this hotel to others.

Room Tip: Arrive early if you would like a greater selection for breakfast.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
surrey
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2012

Do not even bother checking inot this hotel is you are a late arrival, even with a guaranteed reservation.

I had a reservation at this hotel the week of August 7th till Aug 11th as a surprise birthday present for my fiance. I call the manaher and informed him we would be a laye arrival and he REASSURED me it was np at all. Just call when we arrive or ring the door bell as he lives on the premises. We arrived at 3 am called him 20 times and rang the so called bell outside which is non functional I might add till 4:30 am and no response!!! Finally he chose to awaken and answer his phone at 6 am!!! I was not the most pleasant on the block and rightfully so!! Cancelled my reservation and warned him he had better not be charging my Mastercard!! and proceeded down the street to The Super 8 where we were warmly welcomed by night auditor Linda offered coffe and muffins as I am diabetic and my blood sugars were low!! and we were not confirmed guests yet!~ all free. We had to wait to talk to the most magnificant general manager Ben whom went more than ever out of his way to make our visit memorable!!

My hat is off to the Super 8 the staff and general manager are the hardest working team I have ever encountered!! I will be back to the Super 8 where their take their business seriously!!

Room Tip: do not waste your time
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank disgustedsurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2012 via mobile

Clean room and friendly staff.room had fridge and microwave, but breakfast was not so good, there was not enough things to eat. When we arrived at 8 there was not any cold orange juice and breakfast room is so small.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bhid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria
Level Contributor
43 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2012

Another stop on the way home from Red Deer was at the Howard Johnson in Kelowna. This hotel has 42 rooms and is under renovation. It is kind of tired looking on the outside but should be painted and spruced up soon. We had 6 rooms, 5 of the 6 couples were very happy with the accommodation. One couple thought their room could have been cleaner. 5 of the rooms were on the ground floor at the back where is was very quiet and we had separate parking in front of our door. Dave the manager couldn't have been nicer or more accommodating. The rooms were clean and tidy both the rooms and the bathrooms have been renovated. There are no coffee makers in the rooms as travelers in the past have damaged both the machines and the carpets.
The breakfast room is very small but we all managed to get coffee, toast or a muffin before we hit the road. Dave's wife was making waffles for all those who wanted them. We have had better continental breakfasts, hopefully theirs will improve. We were given a group rate at the hotel and would likely stay there again if we were passing through Kelowna.

Room Tip: Stay in one of the 6 rooms on the ground floor at the back of the hotel. The king rooms are just fin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 97Z28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parksville, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2012

We walked out in five minutes. Common areas are moldy, smoky, grungy. No security on the outside entrance to second-floor rooms. Gritty neighborhood. We tried to negotiate a refund with the extremely aggressive manager ... only modest luck after PriceLine CS staff pushed him hard. We've ended up paying out $195 for a place we never stayed in. We're trying to work with PriceLine and Howard Johnson / Wyndham to get the place removed from their corporate inventories. I'm entirely skeptical about the 'Best hotel in Kelowna' reviews ... I mean, seriously?

Room Tip: Find a good room somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kelowna hotels
Days Inn Kelowna
#22 of 34 in Kelowna
3.5 of 5 bubbles 312 reviews
Super 8 Kelowna BC
#12 of 34 in Kelowna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 707 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Pandosy - K.L.O.
The Charles M Suites
The Charles M Suites
#23 of 34 in Kelowna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2 reviews
Central City
Ramada Kelowna Hotel & Conference Centre
Central City
Kelowna Inn & Suites
Kelowna Inn & Suites
#17 of 34 in Kelowna
3.5 of 5 bubbles 296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Kelowna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Kelowna

Property: Howard Johnson Kelowna
Address: 2639 Highway 97 N, Kelowna, British Columbia V1X 4J6, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Okanagan Valley > Kelowna
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 34 Hotels in Kelowna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Kelowna 2*
Number of rooms: 43
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Howard Johnson Kelowna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Kelowna Hotel Kelowna
Howard Johnson Kelowna Okanagan Valley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing