We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Newly Renovated, Great Stay, Good Price, Awesome Waffles!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Howard Johnson Kelowna
Ranked #30 of 34 Hotels in Kelowna
Calgary, AB
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Newly Renovated, Great Stay, Good Price, Awesome Waffles!”
Reviewed May 13, 2012

Why?
We travelled to Kelowna for a wedding on the weekend. 3 Adults and 1 baby. We found this place through online group buy and thought it would be worth a try.

The Location
Right on highway 97, easy to find. The road entrance/exit is on the east side of the boulevard so you will need to head northbound to enter, and head northbound to exit. U-turn is necessary. Almost everything is within a few blocks. Downtown is about 10 mins drive.

The Reservation and Arrival
The reservation was a bit messy because of the group buy restriction; and it took a couple calls to sort things out. Upon arrival, we found Dave the general manager to be quite helpful. He gladly arranged a 2 queens room for my family on the back side of the complex and gave us the scan key-card.

The Room
I would admit that looking from the outside, it was presented as a two star hotel. But once we open the door to our room, we were surprised to see a newly renovated three star class hotel room. It has two queen beds with clean linens and pillows, a work desk, an LCD panel TV, a microwave (excellent for us with babies), a fridge, an iron with board, a corner for hanger rack and luggage rack, an air conditioner, and an awesome bathroom.

The Bathroom
The bathroom has granite tile floor, all around tiled walls, a new style bath tub, with above class faucet and shower head and an outward curving shower curtain for more room. The towels were clean and fresh. The sink is outside of the bathroom, typical style of two star hotels; but it has granite top, fancy faucet and a hair dryer. The bathroom itself is almost up to par with a four star hotel.

The Night
I heard the highway 97 facing rooms can be noisy in the morning, but our back side room was totally fine. We slept through the night with no issue. The beds are soft. Pillows are good height. The blanket is adequate for the room temp. AC unit was a bit noisy, which is typical unless you have central air. Bring ear plugs if you want to sleep through a hot summer night.

The Breakfast, and the WAFFLES!
The hotel room comes with free continental breakfast, with the famous Waffles! The breakfast room is inviting. It has a few tables with an open kitchen. It gives you the feeling of eating breakfast at home. Dave is there happily to make waffles for guests and make sure supplies are refilled when needed. Breakfast served from 7:30am to 10am. You can walk in any time and expect Dave to make you great waffles. And yes, the waffles are great! Dave is friendly and approachable so we had some great conversations while eating breakfast. This makes us feel right at home.

The Service
People have different respectable opinions, but I found Dave to be very friendly and helpful. The backside room arrangement was very thoughtful, especially for family with babies. The breakfast service was great. The office closes at 11:30pm but when I phone front desk at 12 midnight, Dave answered the phone and provided me with a wine bottle opener. I thought this was exceptional hospitality and added the human touch to this two star hotel. There is Free WiFi in every room. Speed is comparable to my Rogers 3G. And if you need, Dave has a computer in the lobby for guest to use. The checkout was painless and fast.

Overall
Considering this is listed as a two star hotel, I think Dave has put in the extra effort to run it like a three star hotel. The new renovation, the extras like LCD TV, Free WiFi, Free continental breakfast, the exceptional service, all exceeded a two star hotel. So if you're looking for a good place to stay in Kelowna at a good price, this is worth considering. And you get great waffles too!!!

Room Tip: Backside rooms are quiet. Front side room facing highway 97 can be noise in the early morning. Ask D...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TigersUnlimited
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

320 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    78
    86
    54
    49
See reviews for
98
90
40
46
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
victoria, bc
Level Contributor
70 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2012

I booked this room for my wife for 2 nights, and her statement was my title for review.
She got one of the remodeled rooms, which was completed except the carpet. The bathroom was all new faux granite tile and new fixtures. The bed was very comfy and the towels were plush.
She especially wanted to thank the owner/manager for offering to make her a waffle every morning.
Her only complaint was a 2nd floor room without an elevator, but for what we paid that could be overlooked.
We normally stay at 3 - 4 star hotels, but my wife just needed a comfy bed while on business in Kelowna, we got a good deal from Expedia and she will definitely stay again.

Room Tip: Be sure to ask for a remodeled room, and if you don't like stairs ask for a room on the bottom f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank downey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
Reviewed May 8, 2012

One of the worst hotel I have ever stayed in. I came across this place through dealfind and although the price was good (in hotel pricing standard), the experience was not. I made a call to book a reservation and I was greeted by the owner (I assumed) who has a distinct accent. He was rude and clearly sounded annoyed when I asked him simple questions. I immediately had a first bad impression right away. The hotel itself looks outdated and old. The room was clean and spacious for two people. The fridge works and the TV was sufficient. However the microwave that we had is slightly broken. The fridge makes a constant buzzing sound that makes sleeping difficult. One of lamp does not work and the only thing I was happy about was the bathroom. The decoration of the room was old fashion and the a/c shuts off by itself time to time. The free wifi they provided sucks. Majority of the time there are no connection and several costumers complained. The service is complete trash. The day before we checked out, the cleaning lady came without announcing and sort of barged in our room. I was mortified at first, but she got our check out date mixed up and my boyfriend had to go to the office to clear things up. The bathroom light didn't turn on on the second day of our stay. We spoke with the owner and he said it will turn on by itself in half an hour and not to worry about it. Okay.....sounds a little sketch....we came back to our room a couple hours and it was still off. My boyfriend went to the office again and complained to have it fix, but they refuse to do so. What the hell? We ended up flicking the switch on and off hoping the light would pop back on. It did. And we never turned off that light for the remaining days. Our room had this unpleasant odor that we couldn't really pinpoint where it was coming from. (We're really picky on cleanliness) Some parts of the hotel is under construction so the noise can be heard in our room. The breakfast they provided was good and the staff member made waffles. Would I come here again? Definitely not.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Kelowna hotels

Vernon, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2012

Fair price but stairway outdated and dingy and steep climb to second floor, no handrails. During continental breakfast owner sat and watched how much people took to eat, making a person feel uncomfortable. It was stated to people that you could not take any food into the room thus you ate in front of the staff member.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eleanor B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naramata, Canada
1 review
Reviewed March 29, 2012

My husband & I arrived after a long day of travel at the Howard Johnson's after midnight from the Kelowna airport. Manager/owner was right there in the office to greet us.
Room was clean & newly renovated. New microwave, fridge, TV. Comfortable king size bed. Breakfast was served at 7:30 am which I knew when we checked in (I would have liked to have some coffee a little earlier and I went to the breakfast area at 7:15 am looking for some but returned to my room for the extra 15 minutes and waited). Manager/owner was in the breakfast area in the morning making sure everyone was finding what they wanted (Waffles, bagels, muffins, cream cheese, cereal, fruit, juice & coffee). Coffee was a good brand name (real cream & milk were available). Helped us find something we were looking for in Kelowna by providing us with a city map and gave us directions. Owner/manager went out of his way to be helpful!
I would definitely return. Very happy with our stay.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LoriJ557
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castlegar, Canada
1 review
Reviewed March 5, 2012

Not much to view from outside, the Howard Johnson's in Kelowna is well located (easy access to downtown, airport, and Big White skiing access highway) and offers clean, spacious amenities in comfortable surroundings. The room was EXCEPTIONALLY clean and the staff was friendly and accommodating.
If you want to spend big $$, there are suite hotels down the road, but for my money HOJOs is a great place to stay. Check-in/out was fast and wait free.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banff National Park, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 17, 2012

I had the great fortune of staying in Kelowna at the Howard Johnson's recently. In fact the proprietor Dave and his staff were extremely friendly, always accommodating, and made my wife and I feel like we had never left home! Comfortable room, recently renovated, fabulous continental breakfasts with waffles made by the proprietor Dave himself, and accomodating my late arrival, request for an extended stay and even a change from a room with 2 queens to one with a king were made with huge smiles, kind words and no problems at all. My wife and I have travelled the world and stayed in many hotels and can truly say Dave and his staff were amongst the friendliest we have ever met. I was a guest when Rick from Penticton was too. He wanted the breakfast room to be opened early at 6:30 am and become very upset and verbally abusive to Dave when he was told it opened at 7:30 which we were all told when we checked in. When Dave tried to reason with him in a calming voice, Rick became even more agitated hurling swear words and racial slurs toward Dave. When Rick refused to leave the office when asked by Dave, Dave had no choice but to order him off the property in a harsher tone as he was left with no other option. Rick clearly could have asked Dave upon check-in for early entrance to the breakfast room buy he obviously did not and was insistent that the 7:30 am start time was "f__king ridiculous" before beginning his verbal assault on Dave. Shame on you Rick from Penticton for coming on here and writing an unfavorable review with only part of the story and most of not true to suit your needs. Dave did nothing wrong to deserve this and you and I and the other guests know it! Would we stay with Dave again? ABSOLUTELY YES!!

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing away from Harvey Ave if some light traffic noise bothers you. Rooms are very...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank T M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kelowna hotels
Days Inn Kelowna
#22 of 34 in Kelowna
311 reviews
Super 8 Kelowna BC
#13 of 34 in Kelowna
700 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Pandosy - K.L.O.
The Charles M Suites
The Charles M Suites
#24 of 34 in Kelowna
2 reviews
Central City
Ramada Kelowna Hotel & Conference Centre
Central City
Kelowna Inn & Suites
Kelowna Inn & Suites
#17 of 34 in Kelowna
288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Kelowna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Kelowna

Property: Howard Johnson Kelowna
Address: 2639 Highway 97 N, Kelowna, British Columbia V1X 4J6, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Okanagan Valley > Kelowna
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 34 Hotels in Kelowna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Kelowna 2*
Number of rooms: 43
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Howard Johnson Kelowna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Kelowna Hotel Kelowna
Howard Johnson Kelowna Okanagan Valley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing