We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet retreat in the heart of wine country”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kelowna
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Holiday Park Resort
Ranked #24 of 35 Specialty Lodging in Kelowna
Reviewed December 7, 2012

My mom and I spent a week here in mid-November. It was a lovely, peaceful retreat. Our 2 bed/2 bath ground-floor condo was great. It backed onto the quiet lake where we sat by the window reading, watching ducks on the water and quail on the lawn. The fully equipped, large unit lacked only an updated decor. The kitchen was well stocked with all major appliances, equipment and dishes. Being off-season, the resort was quiet and few activities appealed to our youthful interests. The indoor pool and hot tub, however, was enjoyable. We also opted to pay $28 extra for wireless internet. This was well worth it and we could connect up to five devices easily.

We took advantage of some of the local sights - wineries, shopping and spa - all required a drive off site. For us, we wanted a quiet, low-key retreat not far from home - this resort provided that. However, at this time of year, the resort may not appeal to those looking for rousing activities and a lively atmosphere. I suspect things are different in the summer and this would be a great place for families in the summer.

Overall, I would recommend booking this resort considering the following:
1. You must have a car if you plan to leave the resort. Restaurants are within 5-10 minutes and Kelowna is about 15-20 minutes by car.
2. In the off season the amenities and activities that appeal more to retirees.
3. The units are comfortable but not modern - think ruffles, dusty rose and pine furniture. This wasn't important to us, but it may be to some.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank islandpj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (112)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

87 - 93 of 112 reviews

Reviewed November 20, 2012

This resort seems to have supporters and detractors. Perhaps the latter expected the Grand Okanagan, but its not that kind of place. We had a two bedrooom apartment, right on the lake, with good spa opportunities dotted through the very large resort area, and a small 6 hole golf course. Rooms are very clean, if dated. The surrounding is a lage mobiel home complex, but very well landscaped and maintained. Just go there with your eyes open: it's a very good base for exploring the whole area, adn close to great wineries, like Grey Monk (fantastic food) and avoids the increasingly congested Kelowna town.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BennyQB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2012

We stayed here in unit 23 for the period October 5th to 12th, 2012.
While units are basic time share condos, they are large and very well laid out with a large living area. The units are very well maintained and our one bedroom unit on ground level was only steps from the rec centre and hot tubs.
Staff was friendly and helpful and we will definitely come back.

Room Tip: Ground floor unit
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Speedy&Yo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2012

We recently spent a week at this 'resort' as a timeshare incentive we received. All we paid for was the wireless Internet fee of $25 (for one device, meaning we had slow and patchy access on our laptop but nothin on our smartphones), and I still wouldn't recommend the condos. I'm sure it's a lovely vacation or retirement spot for R.V. owners as the grounds and recreation facilities are actually quite nice. But if you're staying in one of their condos, look elsewhere. The bed was the loudest I've ever slept upon, the linen old, the shower was one pressure: peel your skin off, the water smelled of fart and copper pipes. And the extent or our one complimentary housecleaning service, was new towels; the bedding wasn't changed, the bed not even made, the counters weren't wiped down, no vacuuming done, not even a new bar of soap.
I fully understand the difference between a condo and a hotel, but this was a new low. I would definitely not recommend this condo to anyone. Unless, of course, it's free; then it's ok. Just ok.
P.S, they ask you to clean up before you leave.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank MommaOlynik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2012

We are staying in a large condo here (mid May 2012) with two small children, booked through the Interval Exchange. It is very clean and quiet and everything seems in "new" condition. I suspect that extra attention has been given to renovating in the past couple of years, in response to some critical reviews a couple of years ago. Office staff were very friendly and helpful at check-in,, finding us a local small town fair this week-end and learn to fish place for our kids. The outdoor pools are kept warm (daytime highs are about 19-20 now) and we see other kids enjoying them. We took ours to a very nice indoor pool. Hot tubs are next to every pool. There are nice play parks for kids. There is no washer/dryer in the unit but laundromats are in the rec buildings that are within a stone's throw of the holiday condos.
The long term residents here appear to be mostly retired people who take alot of pride in landscaping and keeping their homes looking fresh and clean.
Some care must be taken in walking on the roads in the complex with toddlers, with the number of golf carts and vehicles here. There are no sidewalks along the roadways.
The Italian restaurant (Ricardo's) is good and stays busy despite above average prices.
Appetizers - $10 - $20. Entres $16 - $36 Desserts around $8 Litre of wine - starting at $35 or so for good house wine.

Room Tip: 2nd floor units have nice sky lights over dining room, hall and bathroom - don't need lights by...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank kyrahanson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2012

We stay regularly at the resort in the condos. For the most part the condos are good. They are spacious and well equipped for your stay. The rental fee is high, but worth it if everything is up to standard. What shocked me was that now they have 'upgraded' their WiFi connection, we are expected to pay extra to use it! For the price we pay to rent a condo, this SHOULD be included. I can stay anywhere else, from a 5 star hotel, to a motel 6 and get free WiFi. I can go into Tim Hortons, McDonald's, etc and get free WiFi. How come I have to pay for WiFi in a what is supposed to be a 5 star resort? I feel like the management is out to squeeze every dollar they can out of their customers, and that's not the feeling you want when you book into a first class place.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Kat S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2012

This is a place which is primarily people's full or part time home (permanent trailers on large, private RV sites) but they rent out sites that aren't being used. They also have condos, but we haven't tried them. It is immacualtely clean and organized with fabulous ammenities like tennis courts and multiple swimming pools. But the (mostly) seniors who run it are sticklers for their rules (like no jumping or splashing in the kids pool). We go every year, because it is the nicest campground near Kelowna with full ammenities. You do have to drive for about 10 mins to get to Kelowna, but it is SO much nicer than the campgrounds in town. We also love the 6 hole golf course in the campground.

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank travelingfamily009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kelowna hotels
Central City
Delta Hotels Grand Okanagan Resort
South Pandosy - K.L.O.
Manteo Resort - Waterfront Hotel & Villas
Central City
Ramada Kelowna Hotel & Conference Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central City
Best Western Plus Kelowna Hotel & Suites
Comfort Suites Kelowna
#4 of 34 in Kelowna
767 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Park Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Park Resort

Address: Holiday Park Resort - Rv Sites 1-415 Commonwealth Rd, Kelowna, British Columbia V4V 1P4, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Okanagan Valley > Kelowna
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 35 Specialty Lodging in Kelowna
Price Range: $112 - $263 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Park Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Duck Lake just north of Kelowna International Airport, Holiday Park RV & Condo Resort is a four season destination resort including vacation condominiums and fully serviced, landscaped RV sites for rental and member ownership. A gated resort community with 24/7 security, a multitude of recreational amenities and facilities for all ages, and we're a pet friendly! Centrally located between Kelowna and Vernon in BC's beautiful Okanagan Valley, surrounded by championship golf courses, award winning wineries and world class ski hills, play all day then come home to Holiday Park! Turn off Highway 97 at the landmark sailboat, come on in and enjoy the sweetlife! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Holiday Park Hotel Kelowna
Holiday Park Resort Kelowna, Okanagan Valley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing