We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An incredibly fun day!!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of WildPlay Element Parks Kelowna

WildPlay Element Parks Kelowna
Book In Advance
More Info
$16.05*
and up
Kelowna Monkido Kid Aerial Adventure
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Just outside downtown Kelowna, people ages five to adult enjoy cool outdoor adventure games. WildPlay's popular Monkido aerial obstacle courses include dozens of suspended obstacles and zip-lines. Guests move at their own pace across tightropes, plank bridges, swinging logs; cargo nets, tree ladders, and more surprises - six to 60 feet above ground! Demonstration is included; no experience is necessary - just the ability to "monkey-see, monkey-do"! ...Thrill seekers test their mettle with a What's To Fear Jump (WTF Jump), a 40-foot loose-line leap from high perch to forest floor (Coming July 2015). ...The giant Primal Swing is an intense pendulum ride that arcs 110-feet (at 140 km/hr) into the Okanagan abyss! ...Seven DragonFLY Zip Lines are a rush of scenic flying fun across the Park and around cliffs, valleys, and flatlands. Challenge your abilities, discover your inner monkey, spend time with friends, and push your limits in Kelowna's most unique outdoor play space! Book online or by phone. Walk-ins welcome during regular check-in times. Groups welcome, call to book.
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“An incredibly fun day!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2014

Our day began with an adrenaline rush as we experienced the breathtaking Primal Swing. There couldn't be a more amazing view across the valley. We then experienced all four levels of the Monkido course - the perfect balance of challenge and fun. Thank you so much to the staff for their professionalism and humour. It was a fantastic experience and we will be back! I highly recommend WildPlay for anyone who enjoys outdoor adventures!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Tricia L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    51
    10
    1
    3
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The most fun you'll have in Kelowna!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2014

I was in Kelowna in June visiting a friend and she took me out the WildPlay for the day. Seriously one of the most unique experiences of my life! If you loved climbing in trees as a kid you're going to LOVE it here.

We did the classic Monkido course, which took around an hour to do; it may take a bit longer to do if you think you're not really in shape but it's totally do-able. The "Black" Course is by far the hardest but still super fun and the guides are great at helping you through and teaching you challenging (or easy!) ways of beating the games. I would DEFINITELY recommend drinking lots of water before you go, there is a water station in the course but given how hot it can get you'll want to stay super hydrated.

As a special shout-out I really wanted to thank our guide (and apologize for getting this review in so late!) Dan, who was just great! Super calm during the entire thing, he really made it extra fun and made us feel totally safe.

If you're coming to Kelowna GO TO WILDPLAY. Forget the lake, forget the trails, if you have time for only one thing it has got to be Wildplay!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank K N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Whistler was better - safer and more professional!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2014

Most of our group had been to the Whistler Monkido (before it changed ownership) and that one was better in my view. The Kelowna course was more challenging, but overall I thought the Whistler course was better run. It was a very hot day, and the course had water only in one stop. They should have water at least after every leg. One woman in another group suffered from heat stroke and fainted and an ambulance had to attend. I do think that there should be more water stations - given that the course was in the heat of the Okanagan Sun.

The guides were also not nearly as helpful as the Whistler guides - they didn't explain the safety precautions and requirements thoroughly. I had to ask if there was limits on the platforms as he didn't mention it. There were a lot of smaller children in the introduction and none of them could have followed his run through of the instructions.

My last concern is that there is no escape routes for the black course. It is very challenging - much more so than the Whistler course. We all finished the black course at Whistler- but a few of us found this to be significantly harder. Not sure if it was because of the heat, or the layout of the course which situates a lot of hard challenges one after the other -- unlike the Whistler course which staggers the harder challenges with ziplines/easier challenges. The Whistler course also gave us the option to bail out or escape down ladders on each challenge if needed. It wouldn't take much to install ladders down each platform to enhance the safety of this part of the course in the event someone was to injure themselves or if they just get too tired to continue. Someone who suffers an injury would be stuck up there for quite some time - without the option to stop the course. When a couple of us asked for assistance - not much was offered -- just a cheat which didn't help much.

Overall our group did have fun - but I do think a few easy precautions would make this a safer and more enjoyable (water).

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Christina F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WildPlayElementParks, Manager at WildPlay Element Parks Kelowna, responded to this review, August 26, 2014
Hi Christina,
Thank you for sharing feedback about your experience at our Park. We value both the satisfaction and safety of our guests, and I'm sorry to hear that a guest-assistance situation that occurred during your visit impacted your enjoyment and raised concerns.

As you've noticed from visiting other WildPlay Parks, each Monkido Aerial Adventure course is different, and ours is known to be one of the more challenging, particularly toward the end. You're not the first to find that our obstacles progressively take people outside their comfort zone, and that opportunity to push personal boundaries is one of the experiences we strive to deliver. Since most people do encounter a definite challenge while navigating independently, we have risk management standards to help guests manage their experience.

There are opportunities to exit the course (between each level) if a guest feels it is time to do so. And while it may not be obvious, our Guides are trained and equipped to provide assisted descents from any area of the Element whenever needed. In most cases, and under typical conditions, the requirement for guests to successfully complete a demonstration before starting the courses means that people are able to participate with some coaching from the ground by a Guide if they get stuck on a game, need a reminder about how to use equipment, or could use more instruction. Often, as guests become more comfortable in the trees and with their equipment, they learn the practices that allow them to maneuver through the rest of the course. Of course sometimes people will push too far or get tired unexpectedly, and that's when one of the Guides will help them decide where, when, and how to exit.

During your visit, we had a concern about a guest on our DragonFLY Zip Lines, which led to enacting an aspect of our emergency protocols (and the calling of an ambulance). We're happy to note that the guest was back to feeling fine once taking time to rest, eat, and hydrate. We do our best to advise guests about the physical, mental, and weather-related challenges they may encounter, and ways they may get ready for or manage during their visit - and I hope that your comments will also help people prepare. Your feedback has helped us as well, and we have added an additional water station where guests most often require.

I thank you for visiting our Park and hope that if you return to Kelowna or any other WildPlay location you will have the typical confidence-building experience we strive to deliver.

Sincerely,
Mark McCann
Park Manager – WildPlay Element Parks, Kelowna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albert, Canada
Level Contributor
174 reviews
55 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Great obstacle course”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2014

Had a great time at WildPlay. The course consists of four parts that get increasingly more difficult.The last part (the "Black" course) is very challenging - but LOTS of fun. Before getting started the staff provides a very thorough training to ensure that you stay safe. Once you are ready, you are able to proceed at your own pace with guidance provided by guides monitoring your progress from below (when needed). However, to complete the entire course you will need to be in good to very-good physical condition. If you are a beginner, you can likely complete the first two sections (maybe the third) - but you can stop at any time. Some of the sections also have alternatives, so you can choose between two options with varying difficulty. Would definitely recommend and will go again the next time we are in Kelowna.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank VGTravelGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“supercool !!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2014

The staff is very helpful and friendly. They are great with kids. We did the monkido buddy course and the ziplines. Everything is very safe so it was a great experience for Naike (10) and myself (Dad 43).
We had a blast a will definately do this again :-)

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Canadaflo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed WildPlay Element Parks Kelowna also viewed

 
Peachland, Okanagan Valley
 

Been to WildPlay Element Parks Kelowna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing