We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Best place to buy wine in Kelowna” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Okanagan Wine And Orchard Museum

Okanagan Wine And Orchard Museum
Ranked #34 of 126 things to do in Kelowna
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The BC Wine Museum & VQA Wine Shop was opened 15 years ago with the intention to bring the history of the Okanagan Wine Region to the public, as well as to help teach the public about the vast wine industry in BC. Our shop sells BC Vintners Quality Alliance wines; which is a guarantee that you’re purchasing 100% BC Wine. We sell at winery prices and carry over 600 listings of wine from over 90 wineries. When you purchase wine from the BCVQA Wine Shop, not only are you supporting the Kelowna Museums Society, but you are also supporting local VQA Wineries.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
934 reviews
391 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 369 helpful votes
“Best place to buy wine in Kelowna”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2012

We always drop by here on any visit to Kelowna and are always treated well by friendly and knowledgeable staff. They always have a few wines for tasting and then a great selection of Okanagan wines arranged by vineyard. They also have a few nice gift items. The shop is housed in a gorgeous renovated historic building and there are some interesting wine related relics to see inside. It might not be a 'museum' but they don't charge any admission either so what you see, you see for free and with a wine tasting to boot - doesn't get much better as far as I'm concerned! The apple 'museum' next door has a great real bee hive display.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    25
    2
    9
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Kelowna, Canada
Level Contributor
55 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Not really a museum”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2012

Not really a museum at all more like a wine shop. Very few artifacts or history. Nice wines to buy though and friendly assistants.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Shirley-AndyB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
80 reviews
42 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Try something new!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2012

Didnt even know this place existed. What a please to walk through. Love the history of the valley and also bought a few bottles of wonderful wine. We will return.

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
Thank skibum13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelowna, Canada
Level Contributor
99 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
“Where I go to buy my wine”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2012

This is my go-to place to buy wine in Kelowna. It's not much of a museum, but it has an amazing selection of wines for all price ranges. Try the "Okanagan Blend" chardonay. It's only $8.49 a bottle!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank OgopogoGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelowna BC Canada
Level Contributor
46 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Small tasting but large selection of VQA wines”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2012

The wine museum is a VQA tasting room (2 wines per day) that sells selected wines from 90 of approximately 110 VQA wineries from around the province. Some wines appear to be even cheaper than at teh winery. None are more expensive as far as I could tell (some wines are available at BCLCB at the same price).
Worth a visit if you have any particular wines that you would like to purchase that are not available elsewhere. For example - the JOIE Noble Blend used to be available only at Naramata Bench Winery or at selected restaurants.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank no_to_rain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Okanagan Wine And Orchard Museum also viewed

Kelowna, Okanagan Valley
Kelowna, Okanagan Valley
 

Been to Okanagan Wine And Orchard Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing