We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Try something new!”

Okanagan Wine And Orchard Museum
Ranked #42 of 134 things to do in Kelowna
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The BC Wine Museum & VQA Wine Shop was opened 15 years ago with the intention to bring the history of the Okanagan Wine Region to the public, as well as to help teach the public about the vast wine industry in BC. Our shop sells BC Vintners Quality Alliance wines; which is a guarantee that you’re purchasing 100% BC Wine. We sell at winery prices and carry over 600 listings of wine from over 90 wineries. When you purchase wine from the BCVQA Wine Shop, not only are you supporting the Kelowna Museums Society, but you are also supporting local VQA Wineries.
Calgary, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
80 reviews
41 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Try something new!”
Reviewed August 14, 2012

Didnt even know this place existed. What a please to walk through. Love the history of the valley and also bought a few bottles of wonderful wine. We will return.

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
Thank skibum13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    26
    2
    9
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Kelowna, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
“Where I go to buy my wine”
Reviewed July 22, 2012

This is my go-to place to buy wine in Kelowna. It's not much of a museum, but it has an amazing selection of wines for all price ranges. Try the "Okanagan Blend" chardonay. It's only $8.49 a bottle!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank OgopogoGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelowna BC Canada
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Small tasting but large selection of VQA wines”
Reviewed June 21, 2012

The wine museum is a VQA tasting room (2 wines per day) that sells selected wines from 90 of approximately 110 VQA wineries from around the province. Some wines appear to be even cheaper than at teh winery. None are more expensive as far as I could tell (some wines are available at BCLCB at the same price).
Worth a visit if you have any particular wines that you would like to purchase that are not available elsewhere. For example - the JOIE Noble Blend used to be available only at Naramata Bench Winery or at selected restaurants.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank no_to_rain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelowna, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Interesting Place”
Reviewed April 23, 2012

Friendly knowledgeable staff. Besides being a museum they have VQA wines for sale from around the region. On Saturdays they have free wine tastings from local wineries during the hours of 2-4. Sometimes a good wine can be on sale too. Excellent place to visit.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank Geoffrey K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Ab
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Not a museum”
Reviewed April 21, 2012

This is a wine store in a nice building in downtown Kellowna. My family and I were looking forward to seeing and learning something about wine - its production, characteristics and history, but were disappointed with this place. It had a little display at the back of the store with a few casks on the wall and a few posters about some local wineries. Kellowna has an interesting wine history but this is not where you are going to learn about it.

As far as a wine store, it seemed to have a good selection of the local offerings and was pleasant enough. But it isn't a museum. Ratings reflect the fact that it bills itself as something it isn't.

Helpful?
2 Thank bikoparrot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Okanagan Wine And Orchard Museum also viewed

Kelowna, Okanagan Valley
Kelowna, Okanagan Valley
 

Been to Okanagan Wine And Orchard Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing