We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Does the job for less”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
UBC Okanagan Campus
Reviewed August 13, 2012

For the most part, this place was an okay place to stay that doesn't break the bank. It's best for those who are travelling solo and doesn't want to spend too much for lodging. Also close to the airport for quick business travel. They have options available for more than one person. For a single room, you get barebone basics with a single bed and shared bathroom. Wasn't an issue with a shared bathroom as they weren't many guests around, and nobody was next door. Only issues that I had was the shower head doesn't spray well, and the water was a little merky. Maybe construction at the time on site played a part, but tolerable. Just temper you're expectations that this is a dorm room with a common kitchen/TV area, and an extremely basic room. One tip is to remember your door code to access the building, and lock the deadbolt since you get a key. Nothing happened to me personally, but something to keep in mind for this review. Was perfect for my vacation as I needed a longer holiday, and this was worth saving a little bit of money on for other things.

The campus did a great job at signage for where you need to go to check-in, and provide short term parking when you check-in. Then they direct where you need to park and where you're room is. It was $4/day for parking with in and out privileges when I stayed. They sell you a parking pass for convenience when you check-in. Get a nice view of the valley, but still need some transportation (car or transit) to get into the heart of the city for any activities. It's a BC approved accomodation. By car, it's about a 10 minute drive to head to the city park and downtown to experience the heart of Kelowna.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brett_1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (62)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

54 - 60 of 62 reviews

Reviewed July 11, 2012

I just spent a night there and it was totally fine. The room was small, but for 54 dollars, what would you expect. The room was tidy, it had clean towels, and had an amazing view. The bathroom is shared between two rooms (I had a single) and it worked out fine. The internet (free) was fast and adequate. The AC worked fine, however it was a little loud, but again for the price of the room how could one argue. It is close to the airport, however if you are without a car there is little to no opportunity to walk and get some food. The complex is new and the university itself is in a stunning location.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank detroit_wing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2012

As long as you know what to expect this is a great place to stay near Kelowna which provides good value for money. The rooms are clean and the campus is beautiful. There was a kitchenette and a simple en suite bathroom with a tiny shower in our room. The campus is a bit far from town (15 min) but there is a city bus that runs regularly to the center. If you are planning on spending lots of time in the room, I wouldn’t recommend it (a bit out of the way, no TV), but if you are only going there to sleep, are looking for a clean and decently priced room, then this is a perfect place to stay.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cathy0704
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2012

We stayed here as part of alarge group. It was quiet, clean, and spacious. I would consider coming here again ifnwith a group. If travelling with a family, or alone, not so sure. It is by the airport, so you have to drive to get anywhere, although there is a bus service. No shops within walking distance which can be awkward for some. Also, the web description didn
T match what we got. The kitchen was fully equipped and there was a tv. Some other suites did not have a tv. Loved all the green space around campus - that was great to keep young ones occupied and safe.

Room Tip: Ask when booking for what exactly you will get in your room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ukCorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2012

Rooms in the Nicola building are very basic as one would expect in a dorm. My daughter and I took 2 single rooms with a shared bathroom which was OK. Wonder how it would work if I didn't know the other person. Single room rate of around $50 was OK for one person, but they made us take 2 rooms for $89 which is getting close to what a hotel (with phone, TV, pool, breakfast etc.) would charge.
The toilet had a brown ring and shower head sprayed everywhere. The heater in the room worked well but was very noisy. I would recommend ear plugs if you want to sleep.

So, perhaps good value for 1 person but not for 2.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Helen O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2011

Because all the other hotels were busy we got to experience this campus. It's rooms are for only one person each but you can book two connected with bathroom. It is very affordable, has cafe on premises and wending machines in the building. The rooms are clean and for a short of period of time is fine.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ruri51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2011

No pool , No tv , No phone ,No roomservice , Too far from town,Too far from beach , Poor air conditioning. Small beds . Shower head plugged , Poor bathroom ventilation . No coffee ,Way to loud .Parking to far away . Would be ok if it was 50$ but not over 170$ . Never again......ps my dog liked it ; )

Room Tip: Good for teenagers not for adults .
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sunlover748
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kelowna hotels
Central City
Delta Hotels by Marriott Grand Okanagan Resort
South Pandosy - K.L.O.
Manteo Resort - Waterfront Hotel & Villas
Central City
Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Kelowna
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Comfort Suites Kelowna
#5 of 33 in Kelowna
726 reviews
Central City
Best Western Plus Kelowna Hotel & Suites
Central City
Holiday Inn Express Kelowna
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to UBC Okanagan Campus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about UBC Okanagan Campus

Address: 1290 International Mews, Kelowna, British Columbia V1V 1V8, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Okanagan Valley > Kelowna
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 35 Specialty Lodging in Kelowna
Price Range: $74 - $143 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1.5 star — UBC Okanagan Campus 1.5*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Everyone can stay with us at UBC's Okanagan Campus! Open from mid-May to mid-August, we offer several affordable accommodation options from single bed bedrooms, studio and one bedroom suites with queen beds, fully equipped kitchens and private washrooms to four bedroom apartments with fully equipped kitchens, living room and 2 private washrooms. Only 2.5 km for the Kelowna International Airport and centrally located to both Kelowna and Lake Country, the perfect location to enjoy your stay in the beautiful Okanagan. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your UBC Okanagan Campus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
UBC Okanagan Campus Kelowna, Okanagan Valley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing