We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ridiculous”

Summerhill Pyramid Winery
Book In Advance
More Info
$80.46*
and up
4-Hour Taster Tour Along Canada's Lakeshore Wine Route of Kelowna
Ranked #10 of 138 things to do in Kelowna
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Canada's largest organic winery and premier producer of sparkling wine. Enjoy the stunning view, wine tasting and tours, and wine paired cuisine in the Sunset Organic Bistro.
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Ridiculous”
Reviewed June 9, 2013

As part of a tour we were taken to the Summerhill winery, the winery guide was rude and abrupt and criticized Australian wines to the mostly Australian visitors, then we were taken into the pyramid and asked to take part in some ridiculous ritual involving the vibes from the pyramid.

Then the wine tasting, the wines were so so and the hard sale to buy, HELLO we're on holidays just how much wine can we buy and take home!!?

It was a waste of time even for the wine buffs in the group.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank nothappyjan011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
organiclover, General Manager at Summerhill Pyramid Winery, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Dear NotHappyJan,
Thank you for letting us know about the tour guide disparaging Australian wines. That is incredibly ignorant! There are tons of high quality producers in Australia. I will make sure our sales staff know that disparaging anybody elses wine is totally not okay.
Yours sincerely,
Ezra Cipes
CEO, Summerhill Pyramid Winery
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

544 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    249
    170
    60
    40
    25
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Alberta
Level 6 Contributor
131 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“You have to come here if you are in Kelowna”
Reviewed June 7, 2013

I went to a wedding here and had a great time.
Very scenic and just plain beautiful !
The wines are awesome.
The Baco Noir is one of the top 3 wines I have ever had.
Food was great too with the deserts being incredible

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank hiplainsdrifters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary Alberta
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Great tours and beautiful grounds”
Reviewed May 29, 2013

Summerhill is one of the better wineries to visit in the Kelowna region. It is very close to town and they offer tours on the hour. One thing that I don’t like is they are starting to charge a tasting fee that is refundable with a purchase of 1 bottle. I understand why they are doing this but as people who normally purchase a lot of wine I don’t like to feel forced to. Staff are friendly and knowledgeable. Make sure you go hear if you are a fan of ice wine or sparkling wine. The tour is pretty neat as they take you into the pyramid.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank austic403
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Lunch at Summerhill Pyramid Winery”
Reviewed April 9, 2013

We were really looking forward to lunch with a great view. The seating was great - looked over the lake and very scenic. We had the soup and were a bit disappointed but the pizza that followed was really good.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank MaggieKitsilano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
organiclover, General Manager at Summerhill Pyramid Winery, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Dear Maggie,

Thanks for visiting and thanks for the feedback. Good to know about the soup, but glad the pizza saved the day. Will make sure Chef Croy gets the note.

Yours sincerely,
Ezra Cipes
CEO, Summerhill Pyramid Winery
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver Island, BC
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Such a great experience!”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Loved their sparkling wines, especially their Brut. Great value for the money. Speaking of great, I walked out with a bottle of a 1998 Ariel. Like vintage champagne at a much more reasonable price. Best sparkler I've had from BC by light years.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank conscious14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
organiclover, General Manager at Summerhill Pyramid Winery, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Dear Conscious14,

Thank you for visiting, and thank you for sharing feedback!

The Ariel is my personal favourite as well.

Best,
Ezra Cipes
CEO, Summerhill Pyramid Winery
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Summerhill Pyramid Winery also viewed

 
Kelowna, Okanagan Valley
 

Been to Summerhill Pyramid Winery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing