We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“DO NOT BOOK FOR CONFERENCE OR WEDDING!!!!!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Manteo Resort - Waterfront Hotel & Villas
Ranked #4 of 33 Hotels in Kelowna
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 25, 2012

I have not stayed at the Manteo as a guest but I have eaten at the Wild Apple (their restaurant) numerous times, I have visited friends that have stayed there and I have been a guest at a wedding and an attendee at a conference. This is written from a wedding guest point of view. A point of view I think you most definitely should consider before booking a wedding or a conference here.
In a nutshell, ABSOLUTELY NO PARKING WHATSOEVER and diluted (expensive!) alcoholic beverages.

Parking: I am certain that some event planner or front desk coordinator will tell you that there is municipal/city parking down the road, BEWARE,......read the fine print!!!!
I will not say this information is factual but I will give you the "guesstimates." This property has probably 100 hotel rooms, 20+ condos, a restaurant, a lounge, a conference room and a lovely outdoor area for weddings - and MAYBE 70 parking spots. You do the math. They will guarantee the bride and groom ONE parking spot and ZERO FOR GUESTS!!! And, don't make the mistake of parking there for a moment. I parked, dropped some stuff off and went outside,...parking ticket!!!! And not just your average City of Kelowna $10 parking ticket. They have their own parking people and their parking tickets are $50!! And if not paid in the first week, you get a bill in the mail for $93!!! WTF? (I do not have the actual ticket anymore but you get my drift)
And, when you go next door to the city parking lot, what they don't tell you is that half of that parking lot is reserved for trucks and trailers of boaters because the boat launch is right there. And guess where the guests of the boaters park? They also don't tell you that the half of the lot that is parking spots is shared amongst all the hotels and restaurants in that area who are also lacking in parking (who also do weddings, conferences, etc). There is also a public beach two blocks away. Guess where they park??
And if you think you can park up the street, off the main strip (Lakeshore), NO GO! The street parking is reserved for residents only!! Many attendees of the wedding showed up crazy late because, after driving around for, I am sure, seemed like hours, they went back to where they lived or stayed and caught a cab!!! HUGE inconvenience!!!

Liquor: During the wedding, I sat with 7 other guests, 2 of which were light drinkers. We drank before the ceremony, during the ceremony, during the lull time before the reception and during the reception. With very little food to hold us over for the day and the hot beating sun, we all should have been inebriated - especially the lady who sat with us who just had a baby and had not had a drink in a year! Nothing!! One of the guys brought this up at our table at the beginning of the evening. We dismissed him immediately and laughed about such an accusation. Mid-evening, we all began to wonder. Still no buzz! That same gentleman decided to approach the bartender and ask. Five minutes later, the Banquet Manager showed up with a rather guilty look on his face,brought a fresh bottle of booze from the back, and began pouring. Needless to say, we all left with a bit of a buzz by the end of the night. Now I cannot say that I can prove this for a fact but, I am saying that, if it looks like a duck and quacks like a duck,......you get my point.

To be fair,..I will give this property some merit. The location is lovely. There is a view of the lake and a lovely boardwalk. The food was also good and the service was good. I have always said in the past that good service will surpass any other fault that a location may have. This might be my one exception.
I would definitely NOT recommend this as a location for a large event but I would if you were from out of town and looking for a lovely place to stay, with great food and a good location.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank missday76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManteoResort, Director of Sales at Manteo Resort - Waterfront Hotel & Villas, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review.

You are correct in that parking in the Mission area of Kelowna is a bit of a challenge; however, I can assure you that we do have parking spaces available for all guestrooms. Parking is complimentary for all guests; therefore, we do use the service of a company to monitor our parking. Signs are posted that permits are required and parking is reserved for hotel guests. When we do have larger events, we do have overflow parking options available and as you have noted, we make sure that the Bride & Groom do have reserved spots available to them.

We have a high level of service that we provide in the hotel, including our food & beverage. Please feel free to send me a direct email in regards to your specific concern with your experience during the wedding and I would be happy to discuss with you further. My email address is dana@manteo.com.

We hope that we will see you at the hotel again at a future date - we have some exciting new changes in the New Year and expect that the hotel & restaurant will continue to be a popular location for locals & out of town guests.

Kind Regards,

Dana Crichton, Director of Sales

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,420)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,227 - 1,233 of 1,420 reviews

Reviewed October 21, 2012

Attended business conference and would recommend this resort for business or pleasure. Enjoyed all aspects of my visit. Understand goal for resort is to exceed gold standard of service. I asked many questions, made a few odd requests too; found every one was answered more than satisfactorily. Bed very comfortable, colleagues agreed; food for me was excellent, colleagues very good to excellent. Very friendly respectful staff!!

Give Manteo a visit...I know I'm going back for pleasure asap.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jetcare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManteoResort, Director of Sales at Manteo Resort - Waterfront Hotel & Villas, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2012

Dear Guest,

I love to read reviews that talks about our amazing staff - we pride ourselves in this level of service and are happy to see that we did not disappoint. Manteo Resort does strive to be a gold level service and we work hard to ensure that these levels are met for every single guest in the hotel. Thank you for taking the time to pass this along to future guests looking to stay with us!

We hope to see you back at the hotel again soon!

Kind Regards,

Dana Crichton, Director of Sales

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2012

We only stayed one night but room was spacious, clean and quiet. Enjoyed a very tasty lunch at WildApple Restaurant on site. All staff were gracious and helpful. Enjoyed a long morning walk on the Mission Trail before checking out.

Room Tip: We had a room on top floor (4th). Lower floors may have some noise from parking lot. Lake view roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ontheroadagain447
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManteoResort, Director of Sales at Manteo Resort - Waterfront Hotel & Villas, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent review of your stay at the hotel and the Wild Apple Restaurant & Lounge. By the sounds of it, you had a bit of time to see some of the scenery around the Resort, including beautiful Okanagan Lake and the Mission Greenway. We hope that you have an opportunity to return again soon!

Kind Regards,
Dana Crichton, Director of Sales

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2012

We had a lovely stay at the Manteo this past weekend. Even though the weather was not fully cooperative, the warm staff, the incredible room and delectable food made for a wonderful experience! The view of the lake from our one-bedroom suite was amazing. Room service was fast and reliable. Our room seemed to be cleaned in a little bit of a rush and noise from adjacent rooms was quite audible. However, our weekend as a whole surpassed our expectations and we were sad to leave. We'll be back especially for the food at the Wild Apple! Kudos to the chef and kitchen staff on making every meal a gastronomic delight!

Alanna & Alain

Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank Alanna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManteoResort, Director of Sales at Manteo Resort - Waterfront Hotel & Villas, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2012

Dear Alanna & Alain,

Thank you for your review. I will be sure to pass along your comments to Chef Bernard & his culinary team about the gastronomic delight that you experienced in the Wild Apple Restaurant & Lounge! We have some exciting changes taking place within our restaurant in the New Year - we are sure that you will be delighted with the future changes... watch our website for information.

We hope that we see you back at the hotel again soon!

Kind Regards,
Dana Crichton, Director of Sales

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2012

Check-in staff gave us all including the kids, which got a gift-pack, a warm welcome.
Rooms are good sized, modern and comfortable – standard double queen room.
Dinner at the Wild Apple was a gastronomical treat and reasonably priced.
The location on the board-walk and adjacent beach on the lake was awesome.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AgentTraveling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManteoResort, Director of Sales at Manteo Resort - Waterfront Hotel & Villas, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review about your summertime stay with us. We are happy to see that you & your family were able to enjoy many of the wonderful amenities that we have to offer at the Resort. We hope to see you again soon!

Kind Regards,
Dana Crichton, Director of Sales

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2012

What a great spot to visit and stay for a few days. The restaurant, the food, the view simply amazing. The weather just happened to be perfect so that was a bonus as well. The location is easy to find and easy to get around from there. Attended a family wedding there and the food and service was outstanding, couldn't have asked for a better time. The hotel staff was really accommodating and friendly. Good luck to all visitors you will not be disappointed.

Room Tip: Waterfront View
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GRITCHEN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManteoResort, Director of Sales at Manteo Resort - Waterfront Hotel & Villas, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for the review of your recent stay with us. We had amazing weather this year, including the weekend of the wedding that you attended in October. The Mission area of Kelowna is located not too far from the main city centre and as you noted, is not too hard to find and is surrounded by wonderful shopping, restaurants & attractions. We hope that you have an opportunity to stay with us again soon!

Kind Regards,
Dana Crichton, Director of Sales

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2012

We are a week back from our long awaited holiday in Canada which was really was everything we had hoped it would be. My wife and I stayed at a few different hotels on our trip, but the one that stood out the most was our stay at the Manteo Hotel. It was our first time in Kelowna and it was beautiful weather and upon arrival at this hotel we knew right at the front desk that it was going to be everything we hoped it would be based on what we were looking for in this lovely city. At the front desk we were warmly greeted as soon as we walked through the front door by two lovely young ladies. One lady by the name of Samantha really stood out for us and really Is the reason behind this review because of her outstanding customer service, her kindness to go over and above for us more than any front desk agent ever has in our travel experiences. Samantha recommended dinner reservations at the Wild Apple restaurant which was phenomenal and took care of the details for us right at check in and then answered our questions about a wine tour for the following day And proceeded to call different tour companies to find us a tour that would include everything we wanted even though it was after 8 pm she managed to book it for us for the next morning. It was a fantastic tour and Samantha was there when we got back from our tour and even though she probably sees so many guests during a day, she greeted us upon returning from our wine tour just as she did the night before and asked us all about our day and that meant alot to us. This gal gave us a movie list which the hotel provides complementary movie rentals and even had a dvd player delivered promptly to our room and really went out of her way to make sure we had everything we needed. Because of employees like this lady, we will definitely return to the Manteo again next time with our families and look forward to the same service Samantha and all the staff we had contacted with extended to us. This hotel was run very well, congratulations to this hotel for recognizing good employees. We enjoyed our stay in Kelowna very much.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the beautiful lake are the ones to get.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Henry H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManteoResort, Director of Sales at Manteo Resort - Waterfront Hotel & Villas, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review of your recent stay to Manteo Resort & Canada. I am so glad to read that your stay with us was all that you had hoped your trip to be.

I will be sure to pass along your comments to Samantha, one of our Front Desk Agents - happy to read that she was so helpful and ensured that you had everything that you needed to make your stay in Kelowna memorable.

We look forward to seeing you again during your next trip to the hotel & Canada!

Kind Regards,
Dana Crichton, Director of Sales

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kelowna hotels
Hotel Eldorado
#2 of 33 in Kelowna
540 reviews
Central City
Best Western Plus Kelowna Hotel & Suites
Comfort Suites Kelowna
#5 of 33 in Kelowna
726 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central City
Coast Capri Hotel Kelowna
Central City
Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Kelowna
Central City
The Royal Private Residence Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Manteo Resort - Waterfront Hotel & Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manteo Resort - Waterfront Hotel & Villas

Address: 3762 Lakeshore Rd, Kelowna, British Columbia V1W 3L4, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Okanagan Valley > Kelowna > South Pandosy - K.L.O.
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Kelowna
#6 Business Hotel in Kelowna
Price Range: $125 - $201 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Manteo Resort - Waterfront Hotel & Villas 3.5*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kelowna’s Manteo Resort is beautifully located on the shores of Okanagan Lake, only minutes from downtown, championship golf courses, estate wineries, and ski hills. At Manteo, amenities are plentiful with indoor/outdoor pools and hot tubs, kids water park, saunas, movie theatre, fitness center, tennis court, 9-hole putting green, playground, private beach and boat moorage. Accommodations are superb and provide the highest standards of comfort in spacious Deluxe Guestrooms, Premium One Bedroom Suites and in private Two & Three Bedroom Villas, located only steps from the lake.Our 102 unit full service resort features waterfront meeting & conference facilities, ideal for groups up to 200. Meeting & event facilities are perfect for meetings, retreats and banquets. The Waterfront Ballroom will accommodate up to 200 people and is divisible into three separate rooms to accommodate smaller meetings and breakout sessions. All facilities have a lakeview, with floor to ceiling windows in each room, which offers an elegant, yet comfortable setting to relax and enjoy.Manteo’s Clubhouse is located only a short walk from the main hotel. From casual to elegant, our Library and Upper Lounge are ideal for private receptions, meetings and events for up to 100 guests. The facilities include a pool table, big screen television, bar service area and a large outdoor patio with breathtaking views of Okanagan Lake. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Manteo Resort - Waterfront Hotel & Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Manteo Resort - Waterfront Hotel And Villas
Manteo Hotel Waterfront
Manteo Resort - Waterfront Hotel & Villas Kelowna, Okanagan Valley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing