We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean hotel, friendly staff” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Prestige Beach House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Prestige Beach House
Ranked #18 of 34 Hotels in Kelowna
Vancouver
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Clean hotel, friendly staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2011

Recently stayed for one night in the hotel for a conference nearby. The hotel was central for us, near the water and walking distance to our conference. The area isn't the best, but there area plenty of bars and restaurants in the area. Staff was friendly and had no problems with the room. Free parking and wi-fi was included, but no breakfast.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ttkorea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PrestigeHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Prestige Beach House, responded to this review, October 4, 2011
I am so happy to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. It is very gratifying to hear that our guests appreciate our location that offers such close proximity to Kelowna’s downtown highlights including the lake and conference locations. Our staff is always working hard to welcome our guests and I am glad to know you were able to take advantage of our limited free parking offer for your special event. Thank you for giving us your feedback. We look forward to welcoming you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

249 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    68
    69
    37
    28
See reviews for
46
88
20
46
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2011

I don't really know what more to say about the Prestige, I stayed here for two nights in September 2011 when I was here visiting family. I felt a little put out by the price, feeling that I was not getting value for money. I would really impress upon the owners and management to think about a deep clean. It may have just been the colour of the carpet, but it looked off kilter to me. The bar downstairs appealed to a young local crowd and that's fine. The swimming pool wasn't inviting at all with and the gym is pretty spartan. The bed was comfortable and the TV was big!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank R N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PrestigeHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Prestige Beach House, responded to this review, September 29, 2011
Thank you for your review. We truly appreciate our guests’ comments. We are always striving to meet and exceed our guests’ expectations. The management and staff at the Prestige Inn Kelowna are currently addressing your areas of concern. I know they are paying special attention to address these items. We hope to welcome you back for a future stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
liverpool ns canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2011

had a king bed room for 2 nights which was quite spacious and clean. Comfortable bed and nice linens. The room is decorated in soft neutral colors. The place definitely needs some "deep cleaning" -the tile grout is dirty and the carpet tired looking. Found staff friendly and helpful when I had to call for help for things. There was no one to help with luggage and we were upset when we finally got to the third floor with the baggage trolley only to find a small set of steps that we had to go down to get to our room. Had to make two trips to carry all the luggage. I hate the bathroom style so many places have now with the sink and counter outside of the bathroom. Very small vanity; shower only, no tub. No dresser in room, only one phone on the desk. If you are a smoker, be prepared for the homeless to bum a smoke from you outside early in the morning. The hotel is across the street from a beautiful park with playgrounds and even a beach for swimming. Lots of places to eat within walking distance. All in all, it was an ok place for a couple of nights. I didn't use the pool area but it looked to be a good size.

Room Tip: if you have kids, ask if there are tubs in any rooms. People with wheelchairs will need to be sure...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank teacherpat56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PrestigeHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Prestige Beach House, responded to this review, September 19, 2011
It is very important to us to receive your feedback on our property. We are always striving to meet our guests’ expectations and your comments are very welcome. Reviews such as yours remind us of the areas where we need to take a closer look. We are working diligently to correct these problems and maintain our Prestige standards.

I am thankful that you appreciated our location. We love being close to City Park and all the wonderful downtown amenities. I feel it offers so many options for our guests to fully enjoy Kelowna and the Okanagan.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2011

This place is a dive! Do not even consider for an instant risking your health or safety by booking a room here. You'd be better off sleeping on a bit of cardboard under an overpass!

Let's start with the staff. Rude and belligerent would far too gentle a term. Their attitude seems to be "Yes, we lied about the quality of our facility, but you're stuck here now, so too bad for you" "If you don't like it, just bugger off - but we'll still charge for the room for the night!"
Now for basic cleanliness. Root crops could, and perhaps have been grown in the carpets. Mould is a predominant decorating theme. Wallpaper is peeling. I recommend you sleep fully clothed - perhaps wearing a hazmat suit. Deeply suspect that bedding is laundered every second month or so. Wondering if much of the bedding and drapery fabric has actually been woven from the countless spider webs that seem to be everywhere. A few dust bunnies might be quaint, but the layered grime here may very well be spawning new life forms.

Safety? The balcony of the room I had booked overlooked a homeless shelter. The balcony was surrounded by a few layers of chicken wire, but they had been peeled back by what I assume were frequent intruders - an easy job due to the broken balcony door lock. An argument with the staff that the room was unsafe for a single female resulted in a snippy reply. Finally got moved to another slightly safer looking room, but it took two hours of pleading and arguing.

Was originally booked here for 4 nights to attend a conference in town, stayed only one night and was out on the street by 7AM looking for a new spot.

Shocked that this dump is able to stay in business.

Room Tip: There are no good rooms, stay away!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RedboatLake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PrestigeHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Prestige Beach House, responded to this review, September 16, 2011
I apologize that your stay with us did not meet your expectations. Feedback from our guests is so valuable to us. We are addressing your concerns about our staff service, cleanliness, and guest safety with due diligence. The management and staff at the Prestige Inn Kelowna are getting additional guidance and assistance to ensure the standards we set at Prestige Hotels & Resorts are met and exceeded by all our properties.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Kelowna hotels

Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
55 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2011

this hotel is dirty, junkies around the hotel, nobody at the reception counter in the morning..poor selection for breakfast

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wonderbb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PrestigeHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Prestige Beach House, responded to this review, September 16, 2011
Thank you for your feedback. We apologize that your stay with us was not up to our usual standards. We would sincerely appreciate more details of your experience so we can fully address the issues you have brought to our attention. I will send you a personal message and look forward to learning more about your experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
383 reviews
128 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1,025 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2011

When we just checked in, we're shocked, thinking that's gonna be a cheapo inn. And we're scared when our guide told us they have a homeless shelter around here and the homeless like to hang around, tho they don't rob you, they can asked for money.

No bell boy, only one girl who's in charge of everything. the room was huge, tho, the wallpaper was peeling. The bed, the tv, the bathroom are all newly renovated which for me, it was great! The breakfast was great. Overall my stay was great. And yeah, I don't know why the review was so bad here, or may be not every of the room are newly renovated? No idea.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PapayaMelon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PrestigeHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Prestige Beach House, responded to this review, September 16, 2011
We are so pleased that you enjoyed our new renovations. We are always working to improve our facility and service levels and appreciate you bringing a few items to my attention. Our maintenance staff is working on the wallpaper problem. Thank you for your comments. We look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ainsworth Hot Springs, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2011

Prestige, What has happened to You? We've stayed in Prestige Inn's in Cranbrook, Nelson, Rossland, Radium & Vernon and all were absolutely wonderful! The Kelowna Prestige...we're pretty sure there was a Bait & Switch. Where or where do I start...

We booked the Prestige for 3 nights at a reasonable rate (beware) because it was across from the lake and park and we thought we'd treat our 3 grandkids to a few days of fun in the sun. Because we had booked it through Book.com we were unable to cancel.

Room: I have included pictures as the telling would be unbelievable! Stains greeted us on the carpet throughout (huge stains). The mirrored closet doors I would hazard a guess, have never seen a windex spray. The smears and prints on these mirrors were so bad you couldn't see through. No dresser to put your clothes. We ended up putting them in the nightstand drawers and top of the closet (had to wipe the dust off first). The shower stall (ewwww). We weren't sure if it was just worn or worn and very dirty. Decided it was both. Desk provided but chipped and dusty. Coffee (you get a choice of 1 or 1). No decaf and I wouldn't drink out of the cups or the glasses provided. Complimentary shampoo, conditioner etc., lovely but we weren't eligible for a refill the 2nd night I guess despite having used the entire tube the 1st day (3 of us in the room). We had to ask twice for extra towels (enough provided for 2 people). And that takes me to the balcony...again glass smeared with not sure what....2 double sliders out to the deck and then you're greeted with walled in glass (dirty dirty, dirty).....I wouldn't send my worst enemy out there....spider webs, dust balls, stained carpets, chipped paint...I could go on....it was miserable.

Pool: Lock has been punched out of the door (pictures) leaving a gaping hole whereby any child could easily get in without any trouble. Pool area was so hot and humid we could only stand a few minutes at a time before having to go out to the hall to get a breath. Again, could not vouch for cleanliness and we had the kids come out after only 10 minutes.

Vending machine...my husband headed out to find water on our floor as per our guest services booklet. Nope, no vending machine on our floor. He proceeded to head down another level and found the machine. Put in his Twoonie and NOTHING...hit the change button and received his money back (well $1.75) in NICKLES!!! He headed down to the front desk. They exchanged the nickles for a twoonie and told him to go to the restaurant to purchase the water. The wait staff in the restaurant apparently thought this was a big deal by showing some attitude but did unlock several areas to bring him a water. They charged him $2.50 for a bottle of Costco (Kirkland) water! We priced a case the next day at .2 cents per...talk about markup.

Restaurant: Breakfast only and it was okay...

Bar: Glad we requested a room away from the bar area. Very loud.

We experienced our very own power outage in the room (only our room affected)...we were running the hair blower and the air conditioner only...guess that was a little too much. Husband went down to the front desk and they told him "oh this happens from time to time, we just call and get the breaker reset". Really?????

Never ever again will we stay there or any Prestige simply because of the chain allowing this one to deteriorate so badly. On driving away, we noticed even the weeds in their front flower beds (and there were no flowers) have given up!

Room Tip: Not sure there is a best room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Panda3474
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PrestigeHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Prestige Beach House, responded to this review, September 16, 2011
Thank you for your review. We take our guests’ comments very seriously and appreciate you communicating with us directly about your stay. We are working very hard with the staff at the Prestige Inn Kelowna to rectify areas of cleanliness, facility maintenance, and guest amenities that fall below the Prestige standard. It is our hope to welcome you back to our properties in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kelowna hotels
Central City
The Royal Anne Hotel
The Royal Anne Hotel
#8 of 34 in Kelowna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 415 reviews
Central City
Best Western Plus Kelowna Hotel & Suites
Central City
Accent Inn Kelowna
Accent Inn Kelowna
#9 of 34 in Kelowna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Eldorado
#1 of 34 in Kelowna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 476 reviews
Central City
Coast Capri Hotel Kelowna
Central City
Kelowna Inn & Suites
Kelowna Inn & Suites
#17 of 34 in Kelowna
3.5 of 5 bubbles 285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Prestige Beach House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Prestige Beach House

Property: Prestige Beach House
Address: 1675 Abbott St, Kelowna, British Columbia V1Y 8S3, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Okanagan Valley > Kelowna > Central City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 34 Hotels in Kelowna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Prestige Beach House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated directly across from Kelowna's famous Hot Sands Beach, Prestige Beach House is conveniently located close to tourist attractions, business, shopping and recreational areas. A short walk along the waterfront is Prospera Place, Lake City Casino, Kelowna's cultural district and many other attractions and shopping boutiques. World-class golf and ski resorts are located nearby. Enjoy activities such as boating, hiking, swimming and winery tours. You'll discover that every member of our staff possesses a refreshing combination of friendliness and professionalism. Features and Amenities: Deluxe rooms, luxurious designer suites, specialty & executive style suites, indoor pool, hot tub, fitness centre, complimentary WiFi, meeting & banquet facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia and Priceline so you can book your Prestige Beach House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Prestige Inn Kelowna Hotel Kelowna
Prestige Hotel Kelowna
Kelowna Prestige Hotel
Prestige Beach House Kelowna, Okanagan Valley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing