We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Educational and intriguing!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Okanagan Heritage Museum

Okanagan Heritage Museum
Ranked #49 of 123 things to do in Kelowna
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: As part of the Kelowna Museums Society, the Okanagan Heritage Museum holds a large collection of First Nation artefacts and the Ethnography Gallery offers visitors a chance to explore collections from Central and South America, Asia, Oceania, and Africa. Go back in time and visit a pioneer Chinese grocery store or step inside John McDougal’s trading post built in the 1860s.The Okanagan Heritage Museum is home to two important facilities: the Kelowna Public Archives which serves as a public research facility, and the Ursula Surtees Regional Conservation Laboratory which services the Kelowna Museums Society’s collections and artefacts as well as other collections across the Okanagan.
New York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Educational and intriguing!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

So glad I visited, the Heritage Museum truly gave me insight into local history and that of the Pacific North, a region that is dear to me! Small in scale but full of information and displays! Very helpful staff as well!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank halfbaked11366
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    9
    7
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
68 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Small Museum with "Big" Exhibits”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

Although this museum looks small from the outside, the exhibits and contents are very impressive. The history of the Okanagan area was well done especially with the history of some of the families. There are two floors of displays. We took tons of photos. The facility has well designed washrooms, wheelchair access and much more. There is no entrance fee but the opportunity to donate if you wish. We would recommend to take the hour or more to visit this museum in downtown Kelowna.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Ka--Alberta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Everett, Washington
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“the symbolism statues are wonderful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

the view you could hardlly drive and see all of the sites,, too bad this was a business trip We will go back on a personal holiday

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Esther G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelowna, Canada
Level Contributor
48 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Vist the Museum”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

Took visitors there, and they really enjoyed it. Was there also for a seminar, interesting place to hold a meeting.

Helpful?
1 Thank Joanne G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelowna, Canada
Level Contributor
33 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

For a small museum it is very good and well organized,we were quite surprised at how good it was..to me honest we were expecting much less and it was free

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Blackpoolguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Okanagan Heritage Museum also viewed

Kelowna, Okanagan Valley
Lake Country, Okanagan Valley
 
Kelowna, Okanagan Valley
 

Been to Okanagan Heritage Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing