We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“A fun and informative way to learn history” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Father Pandosy Mission

Father Pandosy Mission
Ranked #27 of 123 things to do in Kelowna
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The first non-native settlement in the Okanagan Valley was a mission established on this site in 1859 by Father Pandosy. Take a self-guided tour of the replicated mission buildings and a collection of horse-drawn carriages.
Canada
Level Contributor
227 reviews
54 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“A fun and informative way to learn history”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

I visited Father Pandosy's Mission for the first time a couple of days ago. I'm a big fan of history, so I loved it. I knew my niece and nephew(9 & 6) would love it too, so I brought them here. They totally loved checking out absolutely everything, and were full of questions about how/why things were like that 150 years ago. I was amazing at the level of interest that they took ...it made me appreciate this heritage site even more. There's even a few picnic tables there if you want to bring a lunch. There is a donation box with a suggested fee of $2, or you can arrange to have birthday parties, weddings etc there for a very reasonable fee. It's well worth making a short stop here and enjoying a bit of Okanagan history!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Dave B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    25
    6
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Turlock, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Memory Lane”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

I used to live in Kelowna and never visited. It was nice to finally get to see it and explore the old cabins. It is worth a visit.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mikey04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
197 reviews
98 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Great place for kids to learn history”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

This is a great place for the kids to learn the recent history in Kelowna. It is also said to be haunted so it is fun to go to at night, especially on halloween!

Helpful?
2 Thank jbarbs8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelowna, Canada
Level Contributor
31 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A Neat place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

This is part of Okanagan history and should be on the list of places to see.There are so many old buildings and artifacts

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Bruce V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
56 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Great history spot”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

Wonderful spot, we just happened on. The okangan could use more of these attractions
Learned a lot of the area and hardship of pioneer life

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank humbug31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Father Pandosy Mission also viewed

 
Kelowna, Okanagan Valley
Kelowna, Okanagan Valley
 

Been to Father Pandosy Mission? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing