We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old and Dirty - it also has time shares and I would never buy”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Lake Okanagan Resort
Ranked #30 of 33 Hotels in Kelowna
Reviewed September 25, 2010

OK, the best part was the wine tour we took though the Rec office. The guide was young, vibrate, knowledgeable and professional.
We stayed in one of the two Jacuzzi rooms for a 2 day honeymoon. We had to walk up 3 flights of stairs to get there, the room was average with very old kitchen set up.
We used the Jacuzzi tub ONCE because it blew in cold air through the jets - not happy. There is no room service and it's a hike and a half down and back up to the pools, and the restaurant.
The stables would not take larger riders, so that was out and the spa was very expensive.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SRC0911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (396)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

381 - 387 of 396 reviews

Reviewed September 25, 2010

The only thing I can say is that you really need to stay in the newly renovated area of the resort to enjoy. We were able to stay at the newly renovated area and our stay was great. We felt like we were at home. We were able to cook comfortably in the kitchen; we were able to sleep comfortably in central-air-conditioned suite. The only thing we didn't like is that we had to go through a windy road just to get to and from the city of Kelowna. So be sure you have all that you need so you don't have to make too many trips through the very windy road.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mrsbueno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2010

One of the filthiest places I have ever stayed in. The bedding and living room furniture STUNK!!!! Fridge was filthy. Carpets Foul. The furniture could not be sat upon.
Requesting a change of suite did not work, The staff were all new and had no idea how to help. Told by on of the senior staff who was back at the resort after the long weekend that changes or refund would/could not be offered,
Despite my 2-3 requests for changes/help per day little help was forthcoming. The new staff members were unable to offer help..
AVOID AVOID
The view was excellent.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Coll46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2010

Where is the beach, you call that a beach?!! Clean No!! dirty dishes, rugs needed shampoo and the mouse trap. what was it for? Was my family the only guest there???? Then I went on a wine tour. It was great!!! Until I went to pay for it. I was told 80$/person... really they charged me 90$/person and suddenly there was a extra charge of $10.80/person. Goodbye not to return here!!!

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank paws2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2010

I just came back from a Wedding that was at the Lake Okanagan Resort.
The resort itself is amazing but we have a very large family and decided to get the chalet that sleeps 20 people. And its not 20 teenagers its aunts uncles grandmas grandpas everyone under the sun!
When we arrived the deck was filthy and sticky from whatever drinks were spilt on it from an earlier group, the beer and pop bottles were all stacked in the corner from the previous group as well. The rug was not vacumed earlier and we found a used condom in the shower. When we called in to tell them that we needed it cleaned and about the condom they told us we were lying and that they would never do something like that.
So we carried on into the night and the next morning we all needed to shower and get ready for the wedding. As soon as more then 2 hair dryers were going at once all the breakers blew and they took forever to come to our place and turn them back on.
My Grandpa called down and asked if more towels could be sent up and there reply was " there is 20 people to the chalet and 20 towels you should be fine" my grandpa advised them that there were only 2 in his bathroom and 4 people where sleeping there...
they sent up only 2 more towels.
When we were finally allll ready we called to get shuttles to take us down to the beach since its a very long uphill/downhill walk. Its only a 5 min drive at the most
We got one and he said he would be back after he picked up the groom and his groomsmen. We then waited another 45 minutes for the shuttle and decided to call down to the front desk to ask for another shuttle they replied with " its all your fault you know that they were late picking up the groom" and hung up on my aunt.
The wedding was amazing and the staff that helped out were all great! Especially Kurtis and the 2 drivers who drove our huge family back and forth to the lake (they were taking orders from the front desk so thats why they were late)
Great location Beautiful wedding but the girls at the front desk need an additude check

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelbug1884
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2010

The resort is 24 km on the West side of Kelowna. The road to the resort from the outskirts of Kelowna is narrow and windy with no guard rails. No room for error. Being the passenger of the vehicle was very upsetting because you could see there was nothing beside you but a drop off to your death. We arrived at the resort and parked in the area where we were told to by the office and woke to sap dripping off the vehicle. Made a quick trip to Kelowna to a car wash and thankfully it came off. We were put in the older white building which was heartbreaking because you trade your weeks with your timeshare and expect the same standard of which you have and it is not even comparable. The pool and hot tub are at the same place of the restaurant so if you like to relax in the hot tub while everyone watches you, go ahead. The staff was pleasant and were always willing and offering to help which was nice. I spent time at the day spa which was very nice. We thought the new buildings overlooking the lake would be nice. I would not stay again because I would like to be closer to downtown area. You definitely have to drive to get anywhere at this resort.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ikarat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2010

Have been going to Lake Oakangan for 15 years and have seen it slowly going down. This stay was by far the most disappointing. Around the hot tub and the pool, where children are swimming, there was lots of smoking as people sat with their feet in the pools and lite up. Not used to this in BC, what has happened. Saw guests with their own glass bottles filling their cups right around the pools. Sign says "no glass or alcohol unless purchased from the resort". New owners once again and what gives. Talking to staff and it seems no set boundaries for smoking around children's areas. What gives? Grounds are in dire need of tender care. In the morning there was at least 20 cigarette stubs on the concrete around the hot tub area. The patio restaurant has very little selection now and not that great. On a positive note it is an awesome area and the views are spectacular. Yes there are a lot of stairs but they do offer a shuttle service for the faint of heart. Don't stay in a room on the outside where the stairwell is. The pictures in the bedroom almost jump off the wall when people go up and down the stairs.They say this is a Gold Crown Resort but it does not compare with any we have stayed at. We still will go back with the hope that the new owners will step it up a few notches.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank harshar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kelowna
Central City
Best Western Plus Kelowna Hotel & Suites
Central City
The Royal Private Residence Club
Central City
Ramada Kelowna Hotel & Conference Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Cove Lakeside Resort
#1 of 5 in West Kelowna
1,197 reviews
Central City
Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Kelowna
Central City
Holiday Inn Express Kelowna
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lake Okanagan Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake Okanagan Resort

Address: 2751 Westside Rd N, Kelowna, British Columbia V1Z 3T1, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Okanagan Valley > Kelowna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Kelowna
Price Range: $154 - $269 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Lake Okanagan Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lake Okanagan Resort is located on 300 acres of mountainside parkland on the West Shore of beautiful Okanagan Lake, just 20 minutes from downtown Kelowna.Lake Okanagan Resort is the Kelowna's "true destination Resort. The resort has its own 9 hole executive par 3 golf course, lit tennis courts, hot tubs, resort store, renovated meeting space, restaurants, lounge, seasonal pools, spa, upgraded suites (all with kitchen facilities) and premier villas, beach and brand new marina.The resort welcomes families, couples, groups, conferences, retreats and is perfect for beach weddings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, HotelsforEveryone, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Lake Okanagan Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lake Okanagan Hotel Kelowna
Lake Okanagan Kelowna
Lake Okanagan Resort Kelowna, Okanagan Valley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing