We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“DID NOT MEET MY EXPECTATIONS”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Lake Okanagan Resort
Ranked #30 of 34 Hotels in Kelowna
Reviewed September 1, 2010

Where is the beach, you call that a beach?!! Clean No!! dirty dishes, rugs needed shampoo and the mouse trap. what was it for? Was my family the only guest there???? Then I went on a wine tour. It was great!!! Until I went to pay for it. I was told 80$/person... really they charged me 90$/person and suddenly there was a extra charge of $10.80/person. Goodbye not to return here!!!

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank paws2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (397)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

385 - 391 of 397 reviews

Reviewed August 24, 2010

I just came back from a Wedding that was at the Lake Okanagan Resort.
The resort itself is amazing but we have a very large family and decided to get the chalet that sleeps 20 people. And its not 20 teenagers its aunts uncles grandmas grandpas everyone under the sun!
When we arrived the deck was filthy and sticky from whatever drinks were spilt on it from an earlier group, the beer and pop bottles were all stacked in the corner from the previous group as well. The rug was not vacumed earlier and we found a used condom in the shower. When we called in to tell them that we needed it cleaned and about the condom they told us we were lying and that they would never do something like that.
So we carried on into the night and the next morning we all needed to shower and get ready for the wedding. As soon as more then 2 hair dryers were going at once all the breakers blew and they took forever to come to our place and turn them back on.
My Grandpa called down and asked if more towels could be sent up and there reply was " there is 20 people to the chalet and 20 towels you should be fine" my grandpa advised them that there were only 2 in his bathroom and 4 people where sleeping there...
they sent up only 2 more towels.
When we were finally allll ready we called to get shuttles to take us down to the beach since its a very long uphill/downhill walk. Its only a 5 min drive at the most
We got one and he said he would be back after he picked up the groom and his groomsmen. We then waited another 45 minutes for the shuttle and decided to call down to the front desk to ask for another shuttle they replied with " its all your fault you know that they were late picking up the groom" and hung up on my aunt.
The wedding was amazing and the staff that helped out were all great! Especially Kurtis and the 2 drivers who drove our huge family back and forth to the lake (they were taking orders from the front desk so thats why they were late)
Great location Beautiful wedding but the girls at the front desk need an additude check

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelbug1884
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2010

The resort is 24 km on the West side of Kelowna. The road to the resort from the outskirts of Kelowna is narrow and windy with no guard rails. No room for error. Being the passenger of the vehicle was very upsetting because you could see there was nothing beside you but a drop off to your death. We arrived at the resort and parked in the area where we were told to by the office and woke to sap dripping off the vehicle. Made a quick trip to Kelowna to a car wash and thankfully it came off. We were put in the older white building which was heartbreaking because you trade your weeks with your timeshare and expect the same standard of which you have and it is not even comparable. The pool and hot tub are at the same place of the restaurant so if you like to relax in the hot tub while everyone watches you, go ahead. The staff was pleasant and were always willing and offering to help which was nice. I spent time at the day spa which was very nice. We thought the new buildings overlooking the lake would be nice. I would not stay again because I would like to be closer to downtown area. You definitely have to drive to get anywhere at this resort.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ikarat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2010

Have been going to Lake Oakangan for 15 years and have seen it slowly going down. This stay was by far the most disappointing. Around the hot tub and the pool, where children are swimming, there was lots of smoking as people sat with their feet in the pools and lite up. Not used to this in BC, what has happened. Saw guests with their own glass bottles filling their cups right around the pools. Sign says "no glass or alcohol unless purchased from the resort". New owners once again and what gives. Talking to staff and it seems no set boundaries for smoking around children's areas. What gives? Grounds are in dire need of tender care. In the morning there was at least 20 cigarette stubs on the concrete around the hot tub area. The patio restaurant has very little selection now and not that great. On a positive note it is an awesome area and the views are spectacular. Yes there are a lot of stairs but they do offer a shuttle service for the faint of heart. Don't stay in a room on the outside where the stairwell is. The pictures in the bedroom almost jump off the wall when people go up and down the stairs.They say this is a Gold Crown Resort but it does not compare with any we have stayed at. We still will go back with the hope that the new owners will step it up a few notches.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank harshar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2010

What a delightful experience!! The staff, the food, the beach, the pool! We came home sunkissed and smiling!

It feels so good to stay at a place that is an all round good experience.. sometimes we felt like we were in a movie! Was everything brand spanking new.. no, and it looks like they are going through some changes and upgrades, but just the same it was the type of stay that we will talk about for a long time, and yes we will be back.. hopefully for generations to come.

Thank you!!

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelsuzy10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2010

We stayed at the point villas - they are new condos...they were amazing! Brand new, nice furnishings, nice views, comfy bed, a pullout couch (that we didn't actually use), air conditioner (that we always used), fans, heaters, jetted tub (used lots), a fully equipped kitchen (many appliances including toaster, microwave, dishwasher, washer, etc, tons of cutlery, dishes etc), dish soap, laundry soap, dishwasher soap. A small but decent beach with great water trampolines; A par 3 golf course - definitely not a professional one. If you are used to golfing, you may not like this golf course but it was excellent for people who just want to have fun or if you are golfing with a child, like we were; Good shuttle service for around the resort (golf carts or vans - free); pool, hot tub; bbqs, free internet, etc. The restaurant was OK...not the best ever...not a huge selection of food but really good desserts, however super slow service; A little store where we rented movies, bought food etc. however it is a bit more so I recommend buying groceries in town, cheaper; It is not right in Kelowna, which we loved; The road is windy but not bad...didn't take a super long time; It's nice being out of the way a bit; The lake wasn't crowded with boats like it is closer to Kelowna; Anyway I definitely recommend the new point villas; However, we did look at the older units as well in the other buildings, and they looked clean, decent enough, just not fancy like the point villas. I would definitely recommend this resort for people with or without kids;

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank canEHdiancouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2010

our family just got back from an excellent stay at lor.staff was great,kids camp was great,everything was just perfect. i can not believe my eyes when i see some people complaining about the 18 km ride on westside rd... also about the resort being so secluded and far from kelowna..not knocking kelowna but i chose a resort for relaxing and not the BUSY hub of city life like kelowna is...trust me lor is a place you go with the family and enjoy a true family vacation. we did get to stay in the new condos and they were grat, we did get to see the older ones and let me tell you the only way i would have been a little dissapointed in the units is if we were confined to stay in the unit all day because of cold and lousy weather..but w eknow that okanagan is blessed with lots of warm sunshine..so in closing go and have a most wonderful family vacation you will not regret.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank knoockonwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kelowna hotels
Central City
The Royal Private Residence Club
Central City
Ramada Kelowna Hotel & Conference Centre
Central City
Best Western Plus Kelowna Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Pandosy - K.L.O.
The Charles M Suites
The Charles M Suites
#22 of 34 in Kelowna
2 reviews
Central City
Prestige Beach House
Prestige Beach House
#16 of 34 in Kelowna
334 reviews
Central City
Coast Capri Hotel Kelowna
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lake Okanagan Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake Okanagan Resort

Address: 2751 Westside Rd N, Kelowna, British Columbia V1Z 3T1, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Okanagan Valley > Kelowna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Kelowna
Price Range: $111 - $295 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Lake Okanagan Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lake Okanagan Resort is located on 300 acres of mountainside parkland on the West Shore of beautiful Okanagan Lake, just 20 minutes from downtown Kelowna.Lake Okanagan Resort is the Kelowna's "true destination Resort. The resort has its own 9 hole executive par 3 golf course, lit tennis courts, hot tubs, resort store, renovated meeting space, restaurants, lounge, seasonal pools, spa, upgraded suites (all with kitchen facilities) and premier villas, beach and brand new marina.The resort welcomes families, couples, groups, conferences, retreats and is perfect for beach weddings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Lake Okanagan Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lake Okanagan Hotel Kelowna
Lake Okanagan Kelowna
Lake Okanagan Resort Kelowna, Okanagan Valley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing