We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Aged resort but good value.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Lake Okanagan Resort
Ranked #30 of 34 Hotels in Kelowna
swan lake mb canada
Level Contributor
190 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“Aged resort but good value.”
Reviewed November 3, 2012

As per some of the earlier reviews, the resort is older and somewhat isolated, but all in all we had no complaints. We had a 3BR condo which was clean, kitchen had everything, and though not lakefront had a beautiful view out front. There is a bit of a mess/construction leftovers to the North side of the new villas, but is out of view from the condos. Restaurant was closed Sun and Mon at low season...we went once for starters and a drink and were the only customers. Standard fare..no real concern there, service was good. They also have a trail (Ogopogo) on the resort which goes about 1.5km north of the resort along the lake...quite strenuous but very pretty. We saw a couple of bald eagles on our trek.

If you are looking for peace and quiet this is great. We did the road from Westbank in the dark the one night, did not particularly enjoy it, but during the day was fine. If you are looking fro action do not come here in the off-season( I am sure it is totally different in the Summer).

Did not expect much after looking at some reviews, but really enjoyed our week.

Room Tip: 1BR units are waterfront. 3BR units are back behind the golf course.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gdesmond61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DOS001, Director of Sales at Lake Okanagan Resort, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
Hi there! Thank you so much for staying with us at Lake Okanagan Resort and for your kind review. While we are a very busy spot in the summer, the shoulder season is perfect for guests looking for a relaxing weekend of peace and quiet away from the city. We’re so glad that you were able to take advantage of the restaurant and the Ogopogo hiking trail, and that you were lucky enough to catch a glimpse of some of the incredible local wildlife as well! Again, thank you for staying with us and we hope to see you back very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

378 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    89
    75
    86
    91
See reviews for
161
132
4
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (139)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Chilliwack,B.C.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2012

Our daughter and her three children ages 4 to 11 stayed with my wife and I at this resort in August of 2012. The beach area is very good and equipped with water trampolines.Very new Marina with water sport rentals next to beach, Our grandchildren enjoyed the tubing activity.
Our timeshare unit was on the 2nd floor was well laid out and clean and overlooked the lake.
Very beautiful views of the lake and low mountains across the lake. Although resort is located on hillside down to the beach area you can call the front desk and get a ride up and down or you can drive your car. Staff was always courteous and helpful. Lots of activities for Children of all ages.(eg; Water volleyball at the swimming pool). All in all it is a great resort for families that like the outdoors.

Room Tip: Ask for newly renovated units or book long enough ahead to rent in the new building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ronjet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DOS001, Director of Sales at Lake Okanagan Resort, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to comment on your experience. It's great that you were able to take advantage of the many amenities and activities we run for families in the summer time. We’re so glad that you and your grandchildren enjoyed your time here and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
canada
Level Contributor
68 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2012

My family and I stayed here over the thanksgiving long weekend. We were in condo #3 -- a 3bed/3bath unit with a galley kitchen and a small living room with access to a patio that overlooks the 7th green. This unit was set up well ,and although it was quite dated, we found everything we needed. We thought that the beds were quite comfortable, and 2 of the 3 bathrooms spacious. The patio has a bbq but not a lot of privacy. Can't comment of the value for the money as we didn't pay for the rental - - my sister got it through RCI as an exchange for a cancelled Vegas trip.

We only had lunch one day at the restaurant. The surroundings are outdated and only had one server on duty, but the resort was obviously at low capacity for this time of year.
Prices were a bit high at the restaurant but lunch was good and served quickly.

This resort is built almost entirely around a par 3 -- nine hole golf course, the cost of which is included in the price of the condo rental, although club rentals and pull carts were extra. For avid golf enthusiasts this is a very challenging par 3 and is extremely well kept for the number of guests who have clearly never golfed before and seem to tear up the course. I did 36 holes over the weekend and mostly enjoyed it but would never actually pay to play this course. There are some drainage issues that need to be dealt with and the greens, although well kept, are horribly sloped.

All in all, a great holiday weekend. Probably would not return if I was a paying guest due to the age of the facilities and the greens on the course. Resort is in a fantastic location - - roughly 15 km from Kelowna and the scenery is beautiful.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Allan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penticton, Canada
Level Contributor
38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2012

I recently booked (through RCI) my 86 year old father and his girlfriend into Lake Okanagan resort for a getaway from city life. Normally resorts will identify on their description with RCI if the resort could present physical challenges for people i.e. staircases etc.

The resort is built on a steep mountainside. The roads within the resort are narrow, steep and not well maintained making driving a challenge and walking terrifying. Although there are staircases throughout the resort to access beaches, pools, fitness facility, office etc, they are steep and not suitable for those who are not fit.

The room itself was, as other reviews have mentioned, old. The curtains were wearing thin, the couch was so dirty my father felt the need to cover it with a blanket. The dishwasher leaked (a problem the staff was aware of because as soon as he mentioned this to housekeeping, they asked him if they had loaded big dishes at the front-why not put a little sign on the dishwasher to prevent this from happening).

The wooden walkways are not well maintained-the wood is starting to rot-and do not provide secure footing for those who may not be steady on their feet.

On the positive side, the setting is gorgeous, they had a huge shared deck off their unit and the bed was apparently very comfortable.

I would not however recommend this resort for any one who does not like mountainside rustic accomodations.

Room Tip: If you are not afraid of hills or heights, book into the new villas, not the old part of the resort.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank fotograferswife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White Rock, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2012

Don't waste your time on this place... We went for a wedding. Booked our room 3 months in advance, and yet they put us in the oldest building which is a 10 minute hike from the wedding reception. Meanwhile, most other guests were located in the closer buildings (but they scattered the whole wedding party around the resort).

Our building had not been updated in over 20 years, and other buildings looked similar.
The main building where the restaurant was is also very old and unkempt (a 10 minute walk from our room, up steep hills). It was probably a nice place in 1988.
The pools and railings etc were falling apart and looked pretty dangerous for a kid. (i.e. Rails falling out, large drop-offs).

The beach area is very small - I have a hard time calling this place a "resort".
More like a series of old motels perched on a steep cliff over the lake. The layout of the motels around the golf course and the very tiny "beach" is not user-friendly at all. (unless you like climbing up and down 60 degree grades all day).

Room Tip: If you must stay here, make sure to ask for a room CLOSE TO THE RESTAURANT. Or you will be very tir...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jason B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DOS001, Director of Sales at Lake Okanagan Resort, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Hello and thank you for your comments. It is a shame to hear that you were not impressed during your stay with us; may I ask if you inquired with the Front Desk about changing rooms to bring you closer to the restaurants and other amenities?
When couples choose to book their wedding with us, we work together to put a block of rooms aside for them based on the needs of their guests. Certain room types, such as our more economical Studio Suites, are located at the north end of the property only and if you were looking for a suite with two queen size beds for example, this is the only building that is configured this way. There is a lovely pool and a barbeque area located at these suites for the convenience of guests staying in that building.
Lake Okanagan Resort is uniquely located on 300 acres of mountainside parkland along the shores of Okanagan Lake. It is the size, the setting, and the amenities offered that set the resort apart from the hotels you would find lining the highway and the downtown core. While we are a large property with some distance between our amenities, we do provide a shuttle service on-site for our guests so that they may choose this option if they prefer not to walk; we are sorry if you were not made aware of this service.
There are two beaches on over a mile of waterfront property at the resort. One is designated for private weddings & events (like the one you attended), and the other is quite large with a swim dock, water trampolines, and is set with many lounge chairs for our guests to enjoy- perhaps you only saw the one location?
Again, thank you for your comments and if there is anything you would like to discuss further, please don’t hesitate to contact us directly at (250) 769-3511
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mission, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2012

We just retuned, but you couldn't have paid me to stay another day!! The room had a funky smell to it when we arrived - I finally figured out it must have been bug spray - sprayed shortly before we entered the room to try to kill all the fruit flies and other pests. We had the joy of staying on one of the older rooms in the "Resort", the furniture was old dated and worn out, the carpeting was pretty black along all the walking paths. When you turned on the kitchen light - you would be drawn to the fact that not much light came from the fixture, upon looking up the bottom of the fixture was full of dead flies. We could get a different room for an upgrade fee!!!!! Do yourself a favour - this is not a resort - if you want to move around the resort and get to the amenities - and you are staying in the older section of the resort - then you need to walk up a lot of stairs - or walk up the roadways. Be aware the "Resort" is on a cliff face - when you look at the map they provide they do not tell you the elevations differences are staggering. The bathroom was not the cleanest - the kitchen needed work. Our oven didn't work - it would get hot and then turn off!! Didn't even bother trying the communal BBQ as it was too far away from our room and offered no place to eat down their. I could keep going but if you are looking for a relaxing enjoyable stay - this isn't it!!!

Room Tip: Choose a different hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Amanda P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
calgary
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2012

On our last visit there, we saw a woodpecker beside the lower pool, a family of grouse near the archery and heard about a large owl that others saw frequently.

Our family of teenagers enjoyed the nightly entertainment including a movie on an outdoor screen that they watched from the pool, games and a magician. Their favourite part of the kids program was the banana ride. (We rented a ski-doo while they were on the banana.)

Room Tip: Some of the rooms are close to the front entrance, some closer to the pool and some are closest to t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cthetravellady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DOS001, Director of Sales at Lake Okanagan Resort, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to review your stay at Lake Okanagan Resort. We are so lucky to be surrounded by such beautiful geography and we also love seeing the local wildlife that often comes by for a visit; just last Friday we snapped photos of a deer and two bald eagles on-site! Again, thank you and we look forward to welcoming you and your family back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kelowna hotels
Central City
Best Western Plus Kelowna Hotel & Suites
Comfort Suites Kelowna
#5 of 34 in Kelowna
641 reviews
Central City
Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Kelowna
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central City
Accent Inn Kelowna
Accent Inn Kelowna
#10 of 34 in Kelowna
358 reviews
Central City
Coast Capri Hotel Kelowna
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lake Okanagan Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake Okanagan Resort

Property: Lake Okanagan Resort
Address: 2751 Westside Rd N, Kelowna, British Columbia V1Z 3T1, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Okanagan Valley > Kelowna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Kelowna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Lake Okanagan Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lake Okanagan Resort is located on 300 acres of mountainside parkland on the West Shore of beautiful Okanagan Lake, just 20 minutes from downtown Kelowna.Lake Okanagan Resort is the Kelowna's "true destination Resort. The resort has its own 9 hole executive par 3 golf course, lit tennis courts, hot tubs, resort store, renovated meeting space, restaurants, lounge, seasonal pools, spa, upgraded suites (all with kitchen facilities) and premier villas, beach and brand new marina.The resort welcomes families, couples, groups, conferences, retreats and is perfect for beach weddings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Lake Okanagan Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lake Okanagan Hotel Kelowna
Lake Okanagan Kelowna
Lake Okanagan Resort Kelowna, Okanagan Valley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing