We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a View!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Lake Okanagan Resort
Ranked #31 of 34 Hotels in Kelowna
Kelowna, Canada
1 review
“What a View!”
Reviewed June 17, 2011

Absolutely beautiful location on Okanagan Lake. We had a lovely time at this resort that has numerous things to do, 2 pools, golf course, spa, hiking trails, marina. The food in the restaurant was delicious as in previous visits. The staff were very nice, friendly and helpful. This resort is a bit older but seems to be in the process of being updated.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rae083
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

389 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    91
    75
    91
    95
See reviews for
169
133
4
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (143)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
westbank
1 review
Reviewed June 13, 2011

This is the second year in a row that my daughter and myselfe have visited the Okanagan Resort and have many nice things to say about it. Our accommodations were quite adequate and clean. The resort restaurant serves wonderful food and good service. Enjoy our time around the pool and the cabana serves great pizzas.

Joan and Kelly

Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank joannerwestbank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Airdrie, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
133 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2011

The good:
View, size of the resort and access to amenities like free par 3 golf, pools, restaurant, basketball, sandy beach, bird watching, close to hiking, stables, lake access, etc. Lots to do! Larger rooms have nice size kitchens and lots of space for families. Quiet location, 20 mins from Kelowna. Restaurant staff were really friendly to us on a few occasions. There're rooms for group entertaining, and group gathering locations outside with nice BBQs and tables. New buildings down at the north end waterfront are beautiful inside but pricy compared to comparable accomodations in the region.

The Bad:
Generally the rooms are outdated in design and lack finish (like spay insulation showing in bathrooms), there are mousetraps, stained flooring, and rooms are definitely aging. The mattress on the pull-out-sofa looked and felt like the quality of a prison bed. Pools need replacing as they are all chipped, and a lot of the amenities aren't fully operational yet in Spring. Parking near your room is limited, and based on the incline of the resort, walking is a good workout!

The ugly:
The boat launch and exit driveway almost cost us our boat! Seriously horrendous. This launch is incredibly steep and the exit has several hairpin turns up a steep drive that simply can not be accomplished with a boat of significant size unless the resort is empty and there are no parked cars in the lots on the way up. We launched "OK" (despite dragging the frame of the boat trailer down the drive way through the pot holes) but upon exit from the lake, we chipped the prop through the rocks in the shallow water in the marina, then once hitched and towing - we breached the capacity of our winch straps and broke them completely due to the incline of the ramp! This would have caused the boat to slide back off the trailer had it not been for our momentum. Then we were stuck at the bottom of a long, skinny, winding, steep drive with nothing but a frayed double knot holding our boat to the trailer! The drive up the hill was scary. Later we had to drive to Kelowna, buy tools and replacement parts for the boat and thanked our lucky stars we didn't crash a very expensive wakeboarding boat into bits and pieces at the launch deck. I spoke the front desk staff and suggested they encourage guests with boats to inspect the launch before driving down, and got the solid impression that they didn't seem to think it was necessary. Perhaps they trust that the little waiver sign "use at your own risk" will protect them in court when someone sues them for the loss of a boat and the cost of barge cranes to come recover the remains. The launch is likely fine for a Sea-doo, or smaller raisable outboard motor boat, but definitely not for a V drive. Do not risk it if you have one.
We did however locate an excellent launch in Kelowna with ample parking and used that for the remainder of the trip.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in one of the new condo units
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ErinLG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Efay28, General Manager at Lake Okanagan Resort, responded to this review, June 8, 2011
Dear Guest

Thank you very much for your honest feedback of our property - As we are the new owners of Lake Okanagan Resort we are trying our best to upgrade the property as fast as we can - These upgrades will include the rooms and amenities on the property and of course the beach and boat launch area. We are relacing the old marina this year with a 158 slip three million dollar upgrade and the first phase will be complete by the end of June. We are in the process of getting approval to do remediation work to the boat launch and a re grading of the area in question. As well as the marina we also have more than 750,000.00 in further upgrades planned for the resort this year alone. As the new owners we are always striving to make the guest experince the best it can be. Thank you again for your feedback and hope to see you again.

Edan Fay
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lloydminster, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 2, 2011

We enjoyed our stay but felt the property was a bit dated. Very good food and service in dining room. Good value during our off season stay. Grandchildren loved the stay.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank llangier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elgin, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2011

Give yourself plenty of time and arrive before dark, the road from the highway to the resort about 10 miles is stunning but rather twisty and windy with very little in the way of safety barriers go slow. The reception staff couldnt have been more helpful. The room was really roomy and very clean. There was an elephant made from a towel on the bed when we arrived and my daughter thought this was the ultimate. We were greeted by deer right outside the room well within six feet. There is a sauna and indoor hot tub, and an outdoor hot tub and swimming pool. The views from the resort are stunning and looking out over the lake from the hot tub is a great way to end and start the day. The restaurant is reasonably priced and serves really good food with the exception of the sweet menu which is almost non existant and again the views are breathe taking. We were sorry that we couldnt stay for longer but will return again for a longer stay.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jockboyo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver Island, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2011

My partner and I stayed at the hotel on the Valentine's Day package, it was a horrible experience we wish to never repeat. The road to the hotel was awful and treacherous, uopn arrival at the front desk, the male on duty was rather crass and rude making tasteless jokes. The room we were given down by the lake was musty smelling with worn carpets and leaking shower. We didnt unpack our case as we were trying to decide whether or not to stay..the thought of driving that road back into town in the dark was the deciding factor so we decided to brave a night in this dump.

The dining room had a nice view and the staff were quite friendly and nice. There was a male that seemed to be the supervisor or manager that was quite rude and unfriendly. The food was nothing special and not as good as it sounded. Desert was dried out and after attempting to face this disaster, we decided to retire to our room. Needless to say there was nothing romantic about our night out. I had read some reviews about this place prior to staying here and I can concur with them that this place is a disaster and I wouldnt send my enemy here.

I was told that some renovoations were done on the rooms but I have yet to see anything that remotely resembles presentable or inhabitable in our room. WE FELT LIKE WE WERE BEING PUNISHED STAYING IN THAT NASTY MUSTY UNCLEAN PLACE...STAY AWAY FROM HERE.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank msoptimist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Efay28, General Manager at Lake Okanagan Resort, responded to this review, March 24, 2011
Dear Guest,
Please accept our sincerest apologies for the issues that you had during your stay. I understand that you were looking forward to a romantic stay and we were unable to deliver.
I have shared your comments with our team and we are focused on making sure that this does not happen again.
If you would be so kind as to give me a call at your earliest convenience, I would like to discuss this matter further with you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed January 18, 2011

We had stayed at Lake Okanagan Resort several times before our big day, and loved the secluded location in the heart of the BC wilderness. The road to the resort can be a little treacherous, be sure to give yourself plenty of time and it's best to arrive in day light and enjoy the windy mountain road. (Also be sure to stop off at a grocery store and/or liquor store before you embark on your journey).

I would recommend a one bedroom suite or if you've a few dollars to spare a villa (the villas are brand new and BEAUTIFUL).

Nothing beats having a full kitchen (with dishwasher) and a lovely balcony overlooking the lake to sit and enjoy a cup of coffee or a glass of wine.

The beds are not the most comfortable, however, having a one bedroom means if one of you sleeps in the other can get up and enjoy the room without disturbing your partner.

The restaurant serves amazing gourmet food with local ingredients (not to mention a few comfort items). While in the lounge be sure to have a glass of Tree Brewing Co. Raspberry porter.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TravelMynx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kelowna hotels
Central City
Best Western Plus Kelowna Hotel & Suites
Central City
Holiday Inn Express Kelowna
Central City
Coast Capri Hotel Kelowna
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Comfort Suites Kelowna
#5 of 34 in Kelowna
670 reviews
Central City
Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Kelowna
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lake Okanagan Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake Okanagan Resort

Property: Lake Okanagan Resort
Address: 2751 Westside Rd N, Kelowna, British Columbia V1Z 3T1, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Okanagan Valley > Kelowna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Kelowna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Lake Okanagan Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lake Okanagan Resort is located on 300 acres of mountainside parkland on the West Shore of beautiful Okanagan Lake, just 20 minutes from downtown Kelowna.Lake Okanagan Resort is the Kelowna's "true destination Resort. The resort has its own 9 hole executive par 3 golf course, lit tennis courts, hot tubs, resort store, renovated meeting space, restaurants, lounge, seasonal pools, spa, upgraded suites (all with kitchen facilities) and premier villas, beach and brand new marina.The resort welcomes families, couples, groups, conferences, retreats and is perfect for beach weddings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone and HotelQuickly so you can book your Lake Okanagan Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lake Okanagan Hotel Kelowna
Lake Okanagan Kelowna
Lake Okanagan Resort Kelowna, Okanagan Valley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing